Team Folding Fury (No members needed) - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Team Folding Fury (No members needed)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Hiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 742
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Thanks man!

Welcome to Cwell!

Dr. Hiba, B.S., M.S., Ph.D, CSCS, ACSM---If you have a question, PM me and I will get to it as soon as I can!
And to answer the question I hear most...My avatar pics are of my wife.
Picking the Right Training Program: https://www.overclock.net/off-topic/1...-each-you.html
New thread about structural balance
Fat loss help: https://www.overclock.net/off-topic/1...ml#post1786403
Postural Help:https://www.overclock.net/off-topic/1...ure-tight.html
Hiba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 02:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
Thanks! Up and Folding as we speak! Let's go team!

CWell1337 is offline  
post #23 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ropey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,752
Rep: 577 (Unique: 296)
I've got a 3700+ sitting in a box and an ASUS A8N-E. This processor makes ~3GHz so I'm going to use it for folding too since I can have three processors. I'll have it up and running tomorrow.

Am I allowed to run two instances on a single processor?
Ropey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 02:57 PM
Retired Staff
 
bigvaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 13,103
Rep: 898 (Unique: 371)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ropey View Post
I've got a 3700+ sitting in a box and an ASUS A8N-E. This processor makes ~3GHz so I'm going to use it for folding too since I can have three processors. I'll have it up and running tomorrow.

Am I allowed to run two instances on a single processor?
If you use 3 then the other team members will have to sit a core.

It's better for you to run 2 cores on your C2D along with Hiba and paul.

FOLD FOR OCN - TEAM 37726
OC Settings: 4800mhz 100x48, 1.4500 vcore, 1600mhz Mem 9-9-9-24, 1200/1600 GPU @ 1.26v.
bigvaL is offline  
post #25 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 03:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
I PM'd Taeric to ask pretty much the same question Ropey an hour ago lol. Basically you can only fold under the name you are using for this team on 2 cores, since we each have 2 cores (that makes a total of 8 cores which is the limit per team). Any other additional cores you want to fold on need a different username configured to them in the [email protected] client.

For example, I used "CWell1337" for both cores on my X2 which I am contributing to the team on. On my Sempron 3400+ and my moms XP2200+ I am running the client under the name "CWell1337_2".

AS far as running two instances of the program on a single core machine, would there really be that much of a benefit to it? Instead of working faster on 1 WU, you are working much slower on 2 WUs. Not sure I see the point in it either.

CWell1337 is offline  
post #26 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 03:15 PM
Retired Staff
 
Taeric's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 9,823
Rep: 531 (Unique: 316)
Some of the true die hards run multiple instances per core. The only advantage to that is that it helps to even out the "bumps" caused by WU assignments of various production rates. This method is not a good idea for the team competition as each instance that submits WUs counts against the team total.

Help us help you! Read and understand the Terms of Service, the For Sale / Wanted Section Rules, the Online Deals Guidelines, and the Appraisal Forum Rules. Also, list your system specs in your User CP.
If you PM me - Please use a descriptive subject and be patient. I get A LOT of PMs, and there's only so much time in the day to reply to them all.
Helpful tips - Be sure to visit the Site News forum frequently and read announcements and stickies. If you don't keep up with these, you WILL miss out on important info.
Useful links - Overclock.net Professionalism Initiative, Folding FAQ, and Downloads...


Taeric is offline  
post #27 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 07:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ropey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,752
Rep: 577 (Unique: 296)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taeric View Post
Some of the true die hards run multiple instances per core. The only advantage to that is that it helps to even out the "bumps" caused by WU assignments of various production rates. This method is not a good idea for the team competition as each instance that submits WUs counts against the team total.
Very informative. The team structure is based on total work units and not points then? Or an amalgamation of the two? I have seen that more points ~10% are produced on a 3GHz A64 when using dual instances. I did not take into account the possibility of (team <--> work units) the total work units though. Thank you. I will not run the 3700+ then. Time to dismantle it I guess.
Ropey is offline  
post #28 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 09:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
How long before we get our team name in our postbits?

CWell1337 is offline  
post #29 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-12-2007, 09:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
pauldovi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 13,422
Rep: 923 (Unique: 529)
The postbit function is currently down because of forum upgrades.

pauldovi is offline  
post #30 of 555 (permalink) Old 01-13-2007, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Hiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 742
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
woot woot...big points today!

Dr. Hiba, B.S., M.S., Ph.D, CSCS, ACSM---If you have a question, PM me and I will get to it as soon as I can!
And to answer the question I hear most...My avatar pics are of my wife.
Picking the Right Training Program: https://www.overclock.net/off-topic/1...-each-you.html
New thread about structural balance
Fat loss help: https://www.overclock.net/off-topic/1...ml#post1786403
Postural Help:https://www.overclock.net/off-topic/1...ure-tight.html
Hiba is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off