Team folding competition - how to count cores and use quad cores and GPUs - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Team folding competition - how to count cores and use quad cores and GPUs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-29-2009, 02:09 PM
Retired Staff
 
wierdo124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 11,328
Rep: 442 (Unique: 323)
I can't see why not.

Take me down to the paradise city where the grass is green and the girls are pretty.

Quote:Originally Posted by BFRD in suggestions forum 
*poof*
Bravo One
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
GPU
EVGA GTX1070 SC ACX3.0
RAM
16GB EVGA DDR4-2400mhz (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 120GB
Hard Drive
WD 1TB
Hard Drive
WD 500GB
Hard Drive
WD 250GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX520
Cooling
Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
24" Asus
Monitor
24" Samsung
Keyboard
OCN/Ducky Mechanical
▲ hide details ▲


wierdo124 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-29-2009, 02:52 PM
Nobody
 
rx7racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WV
Posts: 6,457
Rep: 390 (Unique: 325)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wierdo124 View Post
I can't see why not.


So you're saying run in both comps and count full points for GPU comp and then run with cap in Original comp using the same exact donor name and with the same exact gpu?

How can you see that as being ok?

D
(12 items)
D v2
(7 items)
The Sheep Skinner
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700
Motherboard
X470-I
GPU
Sapphire Radeon R9 Fury Tri-X 3840
RAM
Patriot RGB
Hard Drive
960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA 750W
Cooling
EKFC-Fury X WB
Case
Evolv ITX
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer XG270HU
Mouse
Naos7000
Mouse
Corsair MM600
CPU
Ryzen 2600
Motherboard
MSI B450 ITX
GPU
Gigabyte RX 580
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Power Supply
EVGA GQ
Case
Cooler Master Q300P
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
CPU
A8-7600
Motherboard
MSI X88I
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz
Hard Drive
500GB
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Case
Phanteks Enthoo ITX
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


rx7racer is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-29-2009, 08:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sdla4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 5,772
Rep: 264 (Unique: 221)
iv wondered the same, i dont see where the problem would occur, if lemans knows that you are on a GPU then you only get your 2750... and then in the GPU comp it doesnt affect us over here.

Id do this since everyone cant afford multiple folding at a high rate..

Early 2012 Upgrade- 6 Cores/6 TB/16 GB/3xIPS/Corsair Case
Working 2 Jobs Till Then FTW


sdla4ever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-29-2009, 09:20 PM
Nobody
 
rx7racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WV
Posts: 6,457
Rep: 390 (Unique: 325)
To a degree I can roll with it, but it's kinda pointless. The whole reason gpu comp got started was because everyone complained about a cap and wanted full out points. So why stay in Original Comp.. and still be capped.

I just don't get it.

I mean I get what you're saying I just don't get why.

Honestly I think we should have GPU Comp. and then CPU Comp. and keep it separated. But that's just me.

D
(12 items)
D v2
(7 items)
The Sheep Skinner
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700
Motherboard
X470-I
GPU
Sapphire Radeon R9 Fury Tri-X 3840
RAM
Patriot RGB
Hard Drive
960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA 750W
Cooling
EKFC-Fury X WB
Case
Evolv ITX
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer XG270HU
Mouse
Naos7000
Mouse
Corsair MM600
CPU
Ryzen 2600
Motherboard
MSI B450 ITX
GPU
Gigabyte RX 580
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Power Supply
EVGA GQ
Case
Cooler Master Q300P
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
CPU
A8-7600
Motherboard
MSI X88I
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz
Hard Drive
500GB
Power Supply
EVGA G2
Case
Phanteks Enthoo ITX
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


rx7racer is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 06-29-2009, 09:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sdla4ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 5,772
Rep: 264 (Unique: 221)
that could work but people enjoy being in multiple competitions nothing better than team play

Early 2012 Upgrade- 6 Cores/6 TB/16 GB/3xIPS/Corsair Case
Working 2 Jobs Till Then FTW


sdla4ever is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 08-15-2009, 07:59 PM
Retired Staff
 
wierdo124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 11,328
Rep: 442 (Unique: 323)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemans81 View Post
Currently that is not allowed.
Has it been considered yet?

Take me down to the paradise city where the grass is green and the girls are pretty.

Quote:Originally Posted by BFRD in suggestions forum 
*poof*
Bravo One
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD3
GPU
EVGA GTX1070 SC ACX3.0
RAM
16GB EVGA DDR4-2400mhz (2x8GB)
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 120GB
Hard Drive
WD 1TB
Hard Drive
WD 500GB
Hard Drive
WD 250GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX520
Cooling
Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
24" Asus
Monitor
24" Samsung
Keyboard
OCN/Ducky Mechanical
▲ hide details ▲


wierdo124 is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 08-15-2009, 10:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lemans81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Independence, Mo
Posts: 17,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by wierdo124 View Post
Has it been considered yet?
It actually came back up recently and its still a no. Partially because in the future there may be prizes available, and that wouldn't be fair for you to be eligible for both comps.

If you can judge a wise man
By the color of his skin
Then mister you're a better man than I
-Aerosmith Livin' on the Edge


lemans81 is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 09:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
goodolsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 687
Rep: 48 (Unique: 37)
I just joined an Original team, and was wondering if it is absolutely necessary for me to change the username on the card I'm using for the team (since I fold on 2 cards)? Can't I just leave my username the same and have the cap taken from my daily point totals?
goodolsen is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 09:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lemans81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Independence, Mo
Posts: 17,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodolsen View Post
I just joined an Original team, and was wondering if it is absolutely necessary for me to change the username on the card I'm using for the team (since I fold on 2 cards)? Can't I just leave my username the same and have the cap taken from my daily point totals?
Unfortunately no, part of the team comp is to use one card/cpu. It would be impossible to track how many cores people were running. We could then have people hitting the cap at 3am. Also the team comp is aimed at the little guy, not a farm. What many people do is either aim their spare cores at a team name(ours for instance is Team_The_Replacements) or they run in the gpu comp and the original comp.

If you can judge a wise man
By the color of his skin
Then mister you're a better man than I
-Aerosmith Livin' on the Edge


lemans81 is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 10:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
goodolsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 687
Rep: 48 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemans81 View Post
Unfortunately no, part of the team comp is to use one card/cpu. It would be impossible to track how many cores people were running. We could then have people hitting the cap at 3am. Also the team comp is aimed at the little guy, not a farm. What many people do is either aim their spare cores at a team name(ours for instance is Team_The_Replacements) or they run in the gpu comp and the original comp.
And what would be wrong with hitting the cap at 3am? I by no means have a farm (2 9600GSO's), but I don't like the idea of half my daily production now going to a separate username just for team folding. Maybe I should rethink my decision to join a team and keep folding as an individual.
goodolsen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off