-=Opteron=--=Prime=- vs -=MegaMod=--=Xeon=- - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

-=Opteron=--=Prime=- vs -=MegaMod=--=Xeon=-

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
*Update* Opteron among all AMD chips not including Ryzen show huge improvements across the board when using higher than default Hypertransport : Northbridge Link rates.

From 2104Mhz HT-NB to 2367-something or other is like another 2GB/s across the memory bandwidth. From 15GB/s to over 17GB/s. I also compared Loose to Timing Timings... As seen in above scores of over 17GB/s... These are comparing Loose vs Tight timings.
Loose

Tight

Loose

Loose

Tight

Tight

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tnlgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 598
Rep: 23 (Unique: 20)
So at what clocks & what benchmarks should we do first?

CryMods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Originally Posted by Dopamin3
Software overclocking is for women. Go into the bios like a man.


post-flame-small.gifI have a 771 CPU in my 775 Motherboard! post-flame-small.gif
Tnlgg is offline  
post #13 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 08:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Piskeante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 223
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Cinebench r15, superpi, geekbench 4, cpuz benchmark and passmark are a good way to begin. The only thing is that opteron cannot do well in any test against xeon so maybe there is no point on doing that. 3d mark cpu score can be nice aswell. The big benefit of opteron is ddr3 ram , and even there i can almost get the same result as a newer platform like am3.

I'll post my best results on those mentioned tests.
Piskeante is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 08:53 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,499
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris89 View Post

*Update* Opteron among all AMD chips not including Ryzen show huge improvements across the board when using higher than default Hypertransport : Northbridge Link rates.

From 2104Mhz HT-NB to 2367-something or other is like another 2GB/s across the memory bandwidth. From 15GB/s to over 17GB/s. I also compared Loose to Timing Timings... As seen in above scores of over 17GB/s... These are comparing Loose vs Tight timings.
Loose

Tight

Loose

Loose

Tight

Tight
purchasing aida64 isn't gonna happen(i'm CHEAP) But, here's some comparisons for ya. Note that the 3 4c/4t cpu's listed are all my e5450's scores.

cpu screenshot was after the save,so it overwrote the 3rd lower result(was like 412)
schuck6566 is offline  
post #15 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:02 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,499
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
note the difference between the i73770 with the gt620 and my e5450 with the mediocre 5770 with a slight OC. kinda makes the point that unless the game is newer and able to take advantage of hyperthreading/more then 4 cores, our xeons are just as good as long as they have the GRAPHICS card to support the game.
morethen double the FPS with half the threads/same amount of cores. biggrin.gif
schuck6566 is offline  
post #16 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:06 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,499
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)






Quote:
Originally Posted by Piskeante View Post

Cinebench r15, superpi, geekbench 4, cpuz benchmark and passmark are a good way to begin. The only thing is that opteron cannot do well in any test against xeon so maybe there is no point on doing that. 3d mark cpu score can be nice aswell. The big benefit of opteron is ddr3 ram , and even there i can almost get the same result as a newer platform like am3.

I'll post my best results on those mentioned tests.
Only real problem with Passmark,is it also uses the hdd test as part of the score.THAT's what usually tanks my scores. rolleyes.gif I use old spinning disk drives. wink.gif my scores there are barely in the bottom 1/3 if I'm lucky. Will run again and post whole results for ya's.
schuck6566 is offline  
post #17 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:53 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,499
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
And 3dmark results for firestrike and API test. (API ought to be added,shows amount of draw calls cpu can handle before dropping below 30FPS)


schuck6566 is offline  
post #18 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 11:06 AM
Mad Man with a box
 
agentx007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 428
Rep: 22 (Unique: 17)
Someone better create a table for scores (and links to posts with them), or you guys will drown in results without knowing what's the fastest.
agentx007 is offline  
post #19 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 11:26 AM
771on775 user,Complainer
 
schuck6566's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,499
Rep: 91 (Unique: 60)
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentx007 View Post

Someone better create a table for scores (and links to posts with them), or you guys will drown in results without knowing what's the fastest.
LOL, that's the thread creators job. biggrin.gif
schuck6566 is offline  
post #20 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
HAHAHA XML? That's a lot of time but yes I hear ya haha... If we were to create a table specifically on one application among many different systems could work?

Check out HD 5800 series on Opteron 1389 3.8Ghz on 2104Mhz HT-NB link... 73.55fps OpenGL Cinebench R15... idk if it's good or horrible





Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off