-=Opteron=--=Prime=- vs -=MegaMod=--=Xeon=- - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

-=Opteron=--=Prime=- vs -=MegaMod=--=Xeon=-

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
** Related to Comparison LGA 771 Xeon vs Pretty Much The Only Opteron Competitor, the 1389 2.9Ghz Suzuka Quad Core...

If anyone has super cheap old tech AMD or Xeon please post results for comparison and build pics. thumb.gif

These are 32 bit environment live os so not in 64 bit environment... will update later



Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 10:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tnlgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 598
Rep: 23 (Unique: 20)
Post Cinebench R15 results.


My Xeon X5470


CryMods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Originally Posted by Dopamin3
Software overclocking is for women. Go into the bios like a man.


post-flame-small.gifI have a 771 CPU in my 775 Motherboard! post-flame-small.gif
Tnlgg is offline  
post #3 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 12:54 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
@Tnlgg 4.7Ghz Nice dude must be one heck of a motherboard... post pics if you would? Also CPU Cache Memory Benchmark as well thumb.gif

I'll try and line up an R15 run once I get VRM cooling and EPS 8-pin hooked up.

I'm on a stock cooler with an AVC 80mm "Delta Fan" is all nothing special at all... didn't touch any voltage except vcore when all the settings are dialed in just right...

This CPU is working fine at 3.5 to 3.7 to maybe 3.8Ghz on stock voltage... Even 4Ghz was only showing 42-45C Core load temps on a stock cooler. Pretty nice.

Plus I'll be on 32GB ram soon which is gonna be extra sweet all on a crazy low budget...

I just got the Opteron 1389 up to 4Ghz but no board VRM cooling, shuts down during heavy stressing... well "light" per say... AIDA CPU Cache Memory benchmark errors out a couple minutes in and system "Restarts" basically... If I had the EPS 8-pin power hooked up I'm sure it would be more stable... Only hooked up EPS 4-pin to the 8-pin connector... Need to do some PSU swapping. Not to mention thermal adhesive OTW for VRM heatsinks...

60 grams thermal conductive adhesive 1.5W/m K only like $4...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/361253756416?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Took 1.45v vcore alone to get into windows and anything higher isn't helping much...



Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 02:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Piskeante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 223
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
this are my numbers.


Daily use, not Overclocked profile. Just stable settings (linx stable).

This battle is gonna be epic, xDD. Unfortunately my X5460 will not do as good as Tnlgg's X5470, but it's almost equal in Cinebench R15 at 4,5ghz. .The other day i managed to get it pass 4,6ghz at 1,4650v , so with a bit of tweking, and with a little help of DDR3 , i can win that battle, xDD.

should we try Cinebench R15, SuperPi, Geekbench 4 for synthetic results? that would give us a good idea of the performance.
Piskeante is offline  
post #5 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 04:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tnlgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 598
Rep: 23 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piskeante View Post

this are my numbers.


Daily use, not Overclocked profile. Just stable settings (linx stable).

This battle is gonna be epic, xDD. Unfortunately my X5460 will not do as good as Tnlgg's X5470, but it's almost equal in Cinebench R15 at 4,5ghz. .The other day i managed to get it pass 4,6ghz at 1,4650v , so with a bit of tweking, and with a little help of DDR3 , i can win that battle, xDD.

should we try Cinebench R15, SuperPi, Geekbench 4 for synthetic results? that would give us a good idea of the performance.

Please add better quality pics,cant see anything.

My "Daily" use is 4GHz,gaming at 4.6GHz.

I use DDR2 & you DDR3,so even if you tweak it you wont win since i can get my X5470 up to 4.8GHz+. thumb.gif

Would love to see some game benchmarks with Opteron vs Xeon,test a few games at max settings.

CryMods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Originally Posted by Dopamin3
Software overclocking is for women. Go into the bios like a man.


post-flame-small.gifI have a 771 CPU in my 775 Motherboard! post-flame-small.gif
Tnlgg is offline  
post #6 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 04:22 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
Oh yeah to view "Large Image" .... Right Click Open Image In New Tab... thumb.gif

Can we compare the same Ghz? To see if the opteron is doing okay like in comparison to xeon? like 3.7-3.8-3.9 comparison?

Lets compare 3dmark03, 06, vantage? default

I might add it's really interesting I noticed the Opteron or maybe AMD chips score as high as they are clocked... 321 points for 3.21ghz... now 3.72ghz for 372 points... strange.. means 500 points need 5ghz... kinda a coincidence

Yeah my cpu here hit higher temperature than I ever saw and vrm reported 67C which is too hot on these... it's hotter than 67C most probably... I just went from default 1.325v to way too much over-zealous 1.45v just to run it the first time.. Hilarious 3.7Ghz crashed at first and some how not only corrupted the Cinebench unzipped folder but also the fresh downloaded .zip Cinebench r15 archive.. re downloaded and made two archive copies this time haha....

This is just a 1st time run through.. I need to add VRM cooling and water cool the Opteron hahaha .. I have a 120mm radiator just need to get some 91-99% isopropyl alcohol to mix (I do this on my car radiator keeps the block insides like crystal clean and the water pump not to mention higher bowling point by like 100F maybe) like 1/90 or 10/90 with 90% distilled to keep the AIO loop crystal clear continuous maintenance free... Also need to figure out most proper way to fill... without a bleeder screw? Anyone advice AIO filling and if some air exists is it okay? I also sorta kind wanna drill and tap a threaded hole (but if I don't have to that's much preferred) in the top of the radiator to add a bleeder nipple to belch it after sealing haha... That AIR!! haha arghhh .. LMK?

372 Cinebench Weak Cheese Opteron.. It games like a Champ though and I only tend to like 4-5k with it... I can deal 30fps no biggie at 5k so beautiful rx 480 8gb.

I feel like I'm dealing with the same issues Ryzen is it's like the cpu fan ramps up VRM is hot CPU is Hot it's like not what I'm used to .. ultra silent Dual X5650 24 threads of silence power .. haha which scores 1332 Cinebench r15 last I checked.


Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
post #7 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
So I've done more testing the Opteron 1389 doesn't like anything more than DDR3-1432mhz, not voltage or timings would fix this. I tried DDR3-1439mhz no go. DDR3-1432mhz no problem.

I also found out that Cinebench R15 scores revolve around not only the clock but the perfect marriage between the clock and memory timings, not the speed of the ram but the timings in accordance to core clock.

By running too loose timings for the core clock/ memory clock yields less... Tighter timings to memory/ core clock yields higher scores... even the tighter you go the higher the score... Which is like a tight window of instability of what Cinebench R15 really likes haha

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
post #8 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 05:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Piskeante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 223
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
is the GA MA770t UD3P better or worst than yours?? It can be bought for about 40$. seems worst than yours

Considering an X5460 can be bought for about 17$ and the cheapest 1389 opteron i've seen was almos 40$, opteron seems not cheaper. Maybe you show us where you buy them cheap.

as ddr3, that mem for xeon is not expensive. You can buy my exact same kit, KHX1600c9d3b1k2/8gx second hand for about 40€ and you´ll get a nice performance. in fact, you can buy a 4gb 1333mhz stick in a spanish retailer for less than 22€.

for what i've seen now, and according to numbers, it's to be seen that opteron is a cheaper rig than the xeon counterpart. it's possible that a xeon rig costs a bit more, but almost neglectible amount of difference.
We have to see if opteron can perform better in synthetic than the xeon, which, in numbers, it is outperformed by the xeon. And going for games, we would have to have all three (or more mates), the same graphic card, which is a bit difficult.

The only way of possible comparaison is in synthetic, where it seems opteron does not do well.
Piskeante is offline  
post #9 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 05:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Piskeante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 223
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris89 View Post

So I've done more testing the Opteron 1389 doesn't like anything more than DDR3-1432mhz, not voltage or timings would fix this. I tried DDR3-1439mhz no go. DDR3-1432mhz no problem.

I also found out that Cinebench R15 scores revolve around not only the clock but the perfect marriage between the clock and memory timings, not the speed of the ram but the timings in accordance to core clock.

By running too loose timings for the core clock/ memory clock yields less... Tighter timings to memory/ core clock yields higher scores... even the tighter you go the higher the score... Which is like a tight window of instability of what Cinebench R15 really likes haha

if that was true, (i don't really know), that means that that DDR2 of Tnlgg clocked at less timings should do better at Cinebench R15 than my ddr3 since i have looser timings with a bit of more speed.

and that, seems not the rule with Xeons. Maybe with opterons.
Piskeante is offline  
post #10 of 281 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,520
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
Yeah... ebay usa .. 16GB kit DDR2-800 ... $25 USD... 32GB of DDR3-1600 for AMD only $95 USD ... that's a deal... long wait though it's not us only it's coming from over seas way cheaper.

Now what's real real cool about Opteron that I'm sure there will be or should be a huge massive thread on later is the epic G34 Socket Opteron's ... were talking 16-core's bros on one cpu... They are dirt cheap like 8-12-16 threads from like $5 to $29 ... 16 threads $29 G34... It's the boards that are a pain... Only dual socket massive things... maybe some single socket boards will pop up and we'll all be using cheap G34 16-core Opteron's ... can't beat the value.

ebay cpu opteron 1389 is $28... sometimes $25 ... It's the ram which makes it good, that such cheap and highly effective ram that has awesome bandwidth... In a Scenario where memory bandwidth would come to shine is Fallout 4... It loves memory bandwidth and a whole whole bunch of ram... 16 to 32GB ideal... The Xeon's don't do well on Fallout 4 not enough bandwidth and not enough ram... Can't run 32GB on Xeon... Only Dual Xeon at DDR2-667 like 6.5GB/s.. 48GB capacity...

For games that hog down on a whole whole bunch of ram, the Opteron has awesome memory bandwidth and high capacity at a value... Is really what matter most... The Xeon has 550GB/s L1 rate though only 10GB/s on it's big end of memory bandwidth. Opteron call it 3.7Ghz is still like 465GB/s compared to 4Ghz 475GB/s L1... Though 17GB/s memory bandwidth.. between 17-9.5-14GB/s across the ram... Depending on how it's clocked and timed.

If there was a Fallout 4 benchmark that would be a great way to test... Maybe let's resort to AIDA GPGPU test CPU only... I'll test my HD 5850 I have in now.. I modded it up.. Desoldered the DVI and modded the blower which cooled it down a lot... from inaudible fan at 85C to inaudible fan to having a hard time reaching 69C after a long time... Also I clocked it to the max 844Mhz core and 1172Mhz memory stock voltage.. just for fun it was on the shelf and modded it'll be worth using cooler running and more usable for sure.

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off