New build, hard freeze after left idle - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

New build, hard freeze after left idle

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 06:13 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pochi_D View Post
Thermaltake TOUGHPOWER GRAND RGB -850W -NON DPS- 80+GOLD
I went with this one solely from the amount of positive reviews for it.
Unless its broken thats not the problem then as its actually not a bad model

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 01:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 285
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Can you disable c state c6 in your bios? If you want to make sure its not idle power savings, disable all of the c states and manually set your vcore to prevent it from idling down. You can just do this as a test.

Does any of this apply to your system? I'm not familiar with threadripper.
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts....freezing-issue

"None of the above made any difference. So, in conclusion, the only thing that helped was to set the "Power Supply Idle Control" to "Typical Current Idle". Haven't had a single freeze since then.
The only drawback is that the VCore doesn't drop to 0.4 volts anymore, but stays at 0.8 minimum. I can live with that - haven't seen the temps raise at all.

I'm still very much confused about the purpose of that option. Modern power supply units should all be perfectly capable of handling low currents, or at least since "Haswell" came out - there were some notable problems with its C6/C7 states.

If you're having similar freezes at idle, check if your BIOS has this option and try to set it. It might help you.

PS: None of this applies if you have overclocked your system or disabled Cool'n'Quiet. At that point it's pretty much granted that you have set your VCore manually."

CPU
Core I9-9900k @ 5.0
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Gene
GPU
EVGA 2080TI XC Black Edition
RAM
CMK16GX4M2K4700C19
Hard Drive
Intel 905p 960GB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB m.2
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1KW
Cooling
280mm Slim + 360MM Thick
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 64bit
Monitor
HP Omen x27 240hz
Audio
Sennheiser HD 800s + Questyle CMA600i
▲ hide details ▲
xSneak is offline  
post #23 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 05:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pochi_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 303
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
Tried newest OS, no dice.

Quote: Originally Posted by xSneak View Post
Can you disable c state c6 in your bios? If you want to make sure its not idle power savings, disable all of the c states and manually set your vcore to prevent it from idling down. You can just do this as a test.

Does any of this apply to your system? I'm not familiar with threadripper.
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts....freezing-issue

"None of the above made any difference. So, in conclusion, the only thing that helped was to set the "Power Supply Idle Control" to "Typical Current Idle". Haven't had a single freeze since then.
The only drawback is that the VCore doesn't drop to 0.4 volts anymore, but stays at 0.8 minimum. I can live with that - haven't seen the temps raise at all.

I'm still very much confused about the purpose of that option. Modern power supply units should all be perfectly capable of handling low currents, or at least since "Haswell" came out - there were some notable problems with its C6/C7 states.

If you're having similar freezes at idle, check if your BIOS has this option and try to set it. It might help you.

PS: None of this applies if you have overclocked your system or disabled Cool'n'Quiet. At that point it's pretty much granted that you have set your VCore manually."
Yep, this looks like the exact same problem.
This has got to be it. I will give some of these settings a go.
Thanks a heap.
Pochi_D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pochi_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 303
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
This might be the first time the PC hasn't frozen overnight.
I switched the "Power Supply Idle Control" to "Typical Current Idle".

Will give an update after a day or two.

I appreciate all the help.

Last edited by Pochi_D; 04-14-2019 at 06:54 PM.
Pochi_D is offline  
post #25 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 01:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pochi_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 303
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
PC froze again last night.
I will now try disabling CStates. I don't think is a specific option for C6 but there is one for Cstates in general.
Pochi_D is offline  
post #26 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 01:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,968
Rep: 892 (Unique: 643)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pochi_D View Post
PC froze again last night.
I will now try disabling CStates. I don't think is a specific option for C6 but there is one for Cstates in general.
The screen went black again? It could be that other peripherals are working except the monitor. Have you tried a different monitor? Even a tv will work.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #27 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 02:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pochi_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 303
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
The screen went black again? It could be that other peripherals are working except the monitor. Have you tried a different monitor? Even a tv will work.
I initially had the monitor go to sleep after a while which mean't it froze on the black screen, but now without sleep on it locks on the last thing that was displayed.
The PC is most definitely frozen in this state without any response to input.
Pochi_D is offline  
post #28 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 02:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pochi_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 303
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
No freezes since disabling cstates.
It could be because I'm leaving Remote Desktop or some applications on to keep the CPU from idling, but I'll test without when I can.
Pochi_D is offline  
post #29 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pochi_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 303
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
No freezes still. So it seems that disabling Cstates has done the trick.
The PC still has trouble during restarts, but it isn't anything critical (I hope).

Thanks for everyones suggestions.
Pochi_D is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off