My Core i9 9900k Faulty? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My Core i9 9900k Faulty?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 06:03 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,719
Rep: 1095 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Show me a post where a new PSU fixed the crashing or BSOD? then I can see what I'm missing.

surely you're trolling?

https://www.google.com/search?client...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 06:12 PM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,517
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Show me a post where a new PSU fixed the crashing or BSOD? then I can see what I'm missing.
Happened to me, replaced silverstone 1200W (10 years old with questionable 5v and 3.3v rail voltages) with evga 1300 g2. My Q9550 that refused to be 100% stable at 4 ghz OC for years, all of the sudden was perfectly stable

Sucks cause I paid $330 for that silverstone in 2008 lol

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
Z390 Station
(11 items)
White Voodoo
(14 items)
CPU
9900K @ 5.4 1.50v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/8500
RAM
Trident Z 3200c14 @ 4133c16 1.5v
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb
Power Supply
ancient silverstone 1200
Cooling
HWLabs GTX 360 Rad (in RED)
Cooling
3x EK Vardar 120mm 2200rpm Fans
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Intel Core i9-7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti SLI 2037/6318 1.09V
RAM
Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3800C16 1.50V
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs Nemesis GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
(7) Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM Fans
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7 280/420
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSB
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
NEC PA271W 2560x1440
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 06:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,336
Rep: 60 (Unique: 45)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
No I'm not trolling. The link you gave me only shows People asking if a PSU can causes BSOD or crashing and other people like me said it usually does not. PSU failure folks usually have shutdown.
In 22 years I always post in threads like this one to see if the replacement PSU fixes the crashing or BSOD and I'm still waiting to see one fix the problem.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel Gsync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 06:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,336
Rep: 60 (Unique: 45)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hydroplane View Post
Happened to me, replaced silverstone 1200W (10 years old with questionable 5v and 3.3v rail voltages) with evga 1300 g2. My Q9550 that refused to be 100% stable at 4 ghz OC for years, all of the sudden was perfectly stable

Sucks cause I paid $330 for that silverstone in 2008 lol
That is questionable could of been a degradation to the processor and only needed voltage increase.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel Gsync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 07:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,054
Rep: 385 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
That is questionable could of been a degradation to the processor and only needed voltage increase.
He didn't increase the voltage though.
I've seen this myself.
A PCIE cable *degraded* on my 1000W (original) Platinum Seasonic. It was causing my 290x to black screen at *IDLE* or when the card was in UVD clocks (2D, basically).
The 12v was reporting as low as 11.25v (!) (PCIE 12v; the CPU 12v was rock solid).
I replaced it with another spare PCIE cable and everything was rock stable.
12v reported 11.75v solid.

So yes, replacing PSU or PSU cables can fix crashes.
If his +5v or 3.3v was sagging, then his 12v was probably iffy also. Fixing voltage regulation can make a CPU more stable.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 10:51 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,813
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
He didn't increase the voltage though.
I've seen this myself.
A PCIE cable *degraded* on my 1000W (original) Platinum Seasonic. It was causing my 290x to black screen at *IDLE* or when the card was in UVD clocks (2D, basically).
The 12v was reporting as low as 11.25v (!) (PCIE 12v; the CPU 12v was rock solid).
I replaced it with another spare PCIE cable and everything was rock stable.
12v reported 11.75v solid.

So yes, replacing PSU or PSU cables can fix crashes.
If his +5v or 3.3v was sagging, then his 12v was probably iffy also. Fixing voltage regulation can make a CPU more stable.
I'm actually having this same problem with my 2600k and PC P&C Silencer MKIII 950w that I bought used in 2009 from an OCN member. I know I need a new PSU, and that's causing most of my instability and why I can't even run 4GHz at 1.35v anymore stable. My GPU's aren't stable either, tried my 750Ti, RX550, and RX580. All 3 GPU's have the same just random out of nowhere BSOD during gameplay. I doubt I've killed my CPU, its lived its life with me at 1.35v or less believe it or not this time! And I doubt 3 different GPU's are dead, when the 750Ti works in my retro rig.

Get a new PSU and see what happens. Even a good quality 550w would be sufficient enough for your rig with any good strong single GPU.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 12:23 AM
RIP OCN
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 599
Rep: 25 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
No I'm not trolling. The link you gave me only shows People asking if a PSU can causes BSOD or crashing and other people like me said it usually does not. PSU failure folks usually have shutdown.
In 22 years I always post in threads like this one to see if the replacement PSU fixes the crashing or BSOD and I'm still waiting to see one fix the problem.
I've had a faulty supply of power cause my system to crash (black screen with repetitive audio glitch) or just shutdown abruptly. From memory I was getting over 13.5V on 12V rail, over 6.something V on 5V rail and also 3.3V rail was off, caused all sorts of weirdness.
anti-clockwize is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 12:41 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,142
Rep: 2747 (Unique: 1629)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
No I'm not trolling. The link you gave me only shows People asking if a PSU can causes BSOD or crashing and other people like me said it usually does not. PSU failure folks usually have shutdown.
In 22 years I always post in threads like this one to see if the replacement PSU fixes the crashing or BSOD and I'm still waiting to see one fix the problem.
If you where active in the PSU section you can see problems like that almost daily so no its not uncommon for an old or crappy PSU to casue all manner of problems and havoc
The old Corsair HX1000 / HX1050 / old AX1200 especially have a long history of causing strange problems such as instability freezing BSOD and other crashes when they get old enough

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 04-16-2019 at 12:49 AM.
shilka is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 03:56 AM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,517
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
That is questionable could of been a degradation to the processor and only needed voltage increase.
No, increasing CPU voltage actually reduced stability on the old PSU. Replacing the PSU fixed the issue.

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
Z390 Station
(11 items)
White Voodoo
(14 items)
CPU
9900K @ 5.4 1.50v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/8500
RAM
Trident Z 3200c14 @ 4133c16 1.5v
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb
Power Supply
ancient silverstone 1200
Cooling
HWLabs GTX 360 Rad (in RED)
Cooling
3x EK Vardar 120mm 2200rpm Fans
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Intel Core i9-7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti SLI 2037/6318 1.09V
RAM
Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3800C16 1.50V
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs Nemesis GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
(7) Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM Fans
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7 280/420
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSB
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
NEC PA271W 2560x1440
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 04:45 AM
Madonion.com
 
Damage Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 85
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Show me a post where a new PSU fixed the crashing or BSOD? then I can see what I'm missing.
Yeah, some people are convinced that their new PSU fixed their stability problems, but in reality it could have been cables, or most likely loose/worn down contacts, maybe overheating due to dying fan. Gotta say, I've never seen a PSU causing bluescreens either.

I'm pretty sure it's ram related and/or too much pressure on the CPU socket.
Damage Inc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off