CPU Blown? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

CPU Blown?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
herkalurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,039
Rep: 69 (Unique: 58)
CPU Blown?

I have an AMD APU in my HTPC. We were using it the other day and it just died. Flash on the tv and now it won't do anything. I've eliminated any cable issue by re seating each cable (power cables all over and sata to SSD). I've re seated the ram. I removed the hard drive and verified it's working correctly, did chkdsk on another windows PC. Nothing. Every time I press the start button the fans for the PSU and CPU run, but I can't even get to post. I hook up a usb keyboard and press delete and F9 which in the past would put me in bios, but I can't even get that far. I thought about re seating the CPU, but I don't have any paste and am trying not to buy a whole tube when you need barely 1/8th a tube for a single CPU. My next thought is to try each ram stick individually just to verify.

Does anyone have any better ideas?



herkalurk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
herkalurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,039
Rep: 69 (Unique: 58)
So apparently my ram was just being a problem.

I took each stick and moved it to first slot and it booted each time, so I put both back into their respective slots according to the manual and it still worked. Why it just stopped working midway through a tv show 2 nights ago is kinda weird though....



herkalurk is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 03:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: C:\Countries\EU\Denmark
Posts: 1,249
Rep: 56 (Unique: 55)
Quote: Originally Posted by herkalurk View Post
So apparently my ram was just being a problem.

I took each stick and moved it to first slot and it booted each time, so I put both back into their respective slots according to the manual and it still worked. Why it just stopped working midway through a tv show 2 nights ago is kinda weird though....
Yea sounds kinda weird. Have you checked for newer bios or tested the RAM?

R6 - Ryzen
(10 items)
CPU
[email protected] (p-states on)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080ti - Rajintek Morpheus II
RAM
Trident Z RGB's 2x8gb - [email protected], 1.35v
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 960 - 500gb
Power Supply
750 G2
Cooling
NH-D15
Case
Fractal Design R6 TG
Monitor
Samsung C27HG70
Audio
990's 250 ohm - Fiio E9
▲ hide details ▲
DoctorNick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 05:42 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,418
Rep: 268 (Unique: 215)
Could be a power issue? What's the PSU?

In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(11 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Galax HOF
Hard Drive
850 pro
Hard Drive
960 Pro
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲
ozlay is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
herkalurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,039
Rep: 69 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by DoctorNick View Post
Yea sounds kinda weird. Have you checked for newer bios or tested the RAM?
Haven't done either. I'll take a gander.

Quote: Originally Posted by ozlay View Post
Could be a power issue? What's the PSU?
Doubt it. I have Corsair CX430m powering the APU, board, cpu fan, and a single ssd. It's a very low power use system.



herkalurk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off