HELP Motherboard does not recognize CPU - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HELP Motherboard does not recognize CPU

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
HELP Motherboard does not recognize CPU

Goodnight! With all the experience I have in the Hardware, something like this had never happened to me, it drives me crazy. I explain the problem:
I have an ASUS B75M-PLUS board (I make it clear that the BIOS is already updated to the latest version, the 1001), and I had an i3-2120 mounted on it, but it fell short and I changed it to an i5-3570s Now, if I mount the i5 the board does not give video and also the speaker don´t play the POST sound, even if you remove all RAM modules. Now comes the madness, if I return the i3 everything goes perfect, I can even play Fortnite. I have tried the i5 on another board (ASUS P8H61-PLUS) and it recognizes it perfectly, so both the i3 and the i5 work, in addition, the 2 boards also work. I'm going crazy with the board that does not catch the i5, does not support 4 core CPUs or what? I have already disconnected everything (HDD, USB, Audio, Ethernet, GPU, SATA cables) and still nothing. I have the MB outside the tower on top of some books and below an antistatic bag.
I also mentioned that I had asked for an i5-3470 and with that at least the board was turned on but it took forever to pass the POST, and when starting W10 a blue screen came out (DRIVER IRQL NOT LESS OR IQUAL) and after 4 or 5 screenshots the OS was corrupted and had to be formatted. The funny thing is that testing that i5-3470 on P8H61, it was going perfectly. Anyway, I returned it and I caught the 3570S in case it was a CPU failure, but now I don't know what to do, I have no ideas. I do not have money at the moment to change the board, although I am 100% sure it works well, I even had a slight OC with the i3. Sorry for the long post and many thanks to any blessed person who responds and contributes with whatever. A greeting!
Eliasichi25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 03:32 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,910
Rep: 1113 (Unique: 644)
If the CPU works in another motherboard then the CPU isn't faulty.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63 Wireless 60% (RK Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nomad692000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern WV
Posts: 424
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Have you tried clearing the CMOS?

“There is no hunting like the hunting of man, and those who have hunted armed men long enough and liked it, never care for anything else thereafter.”
- Ernest Hemingway

"These things I do, that others may live"


R.I.P. Ian Murdock
Nomad692000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 09:11 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,052
Rep: 340 (Unique: 241)
Check the socket for potential damage. Maybe there is some unlucky pin that's needed for higher core count CPUs.

Try an older UEFI that still has support 0209+.

Otherwise pester ASUS on ASUS forum but they might not know anymore either or be willing to test and resolve such issue. They would rather have you buy a new mobo.
JackCY is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 09:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
F3ERS 2 ASH3S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,390
Rep: 132 (Unique: 89)
clear cmos... and make sure everything is set to default. that should help the post but the bsod if you had hybernation enabled try clearing the hybernation file with the i3 and better yet disable it. this should allow windows to not conflict with itself.

if that fails as suggested look for bad pins on the board

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Asus sabertooth rev 2.0 BIOS 1503
Coolermaster Haf Stacker
FX 8350 @5.1 @1.7v :O
XSPC Raystorm RS240 + Swiftec D5 pump and 360 Rad
2x AMD XFX 280x DD @ 1210/1700
Rosewill Capstone 750w PSU


post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
F3ERS 2 ASH3S is online now  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 09:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 174
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
To be honest, Sandy Bridge i3 to Ivy Bridge i5 is a pretty minimal upgrade, maybe 20 to 30% at best.

Regardless though it should work. Perhaps re-flash the BIOS in case or even revert to an older version.
clannagh is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Yes
Eliasichi25 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I checked it and there isn´t any damaged pin
Eliasichi25 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off