Idle Power Consumption: Think I made a mistake on CPU choice as home server... - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Idle Power Consumption: Think I made a mistake on CPU choice as home server...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 12:26 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,749
Rep: 1099 (Unique: 636)
stock 3770K with no dGPU and 1 drive will pull at least 40w from the wall.



18W outside of sleep/hibernate is not going to happen.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 01:15 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,111
Rep: 439 (Unique: 335)
Core temp, lol....pretty much all software isn't going to be accurate for power usage, get a kill-a-watt or similar if you PSU doesn't have it's own.

Edit:

Also, who cares about power consumption at 0% load... if your answer is, it spends most of it's time idle, then why would you want to upgrade your processor?! Upgrade the workflow

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigblueshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
You could if you haven't already disable two cores
Clocks are oddly the same on both chips.
Didn't even think of that, but then I'd be back at 4 cores where I was at with my original 3770k

Quote: Originally Posted by Master Chicken View Post
Holy cow that's a huge jump. Is it more the chipset than the CPU itself? I think I recall the 4xxx series being the first with FIVR on the CPU but my understanding was that it could lower overall power consumption.
Safe to say it is most likely the chipset. In AIDA (not sure how accurate it is) The 4930k CPU Package is 15.93W and CPU IA Cores are 6.94w. Idle voltage is .976 at around 1.2 Ghz

Quote: Originally Posted by BK-Morpheus View Post
My 3770k system was at 80W Idle and the 3700X system is at 68W Idle. So it's not like the 3770k will give <50W idle system consumption in general.
Most of the Idle consumption has to do with Mainboard, GPU and PSU.
That makes sense. I have a X79 Sabertooth. At this point I'm not going to go out and buy another motherboard. I have a very low powered AMD card in there, single slot. That doesn't use much.

Quote: Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
What are you doing on your server? a 3770k is a pretty beasty home server
Nothing crazy, the virtual machine does put it to the test though due to the VPN I have running on there. Some client devices I have do transcode with plex at 1080p, so It's nice to have a quick buffer with that.

Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
18W idle on 3770K whole system? I call royal nonsense. It's for sure about 80W or more.

My guess is you're looking at the unusable software power consumption monitoring and are not using a power wall meter, the same meter for both tested systems.
I was going based off my Cyberpower PFC 1500 battery backup with the Cyberpower PowerPanel. If that is the case, I should have used a wall meter instead. I still don't understand why the battery backup showing 80w Idle on the 4930k system and 20w idle with the 3770k
If this is truly the case (of inaccuracy with the battery backup software), than you're right. I looked up multiple Asrock Z77E-ITX Power Consumption articles just now, and none of them show under 60w idle. Then again, they may have video cards in the test benches. I was running with no GPU with that setup.

Last edited by bigblueshock; 09-18-2019 at 01:20 PM.
bigblueshock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigblueshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
stock 3770K with no dGPU and 1 drive will pull at least 40w from the wall.



18W outside of sleep/hibernate is not going to happen.
Yep, beginning to realize that. Wish I would have plugged in a stinking watt-meter instead of relying on my battery backup readings. I don't feel so bad now, maybe I'll just hold on to my 4930k system at this point for a while longer.
bigblueshock is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 01:27 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,111
Rep: 439 (Unique: 335)
If you're using openVPN then you're going to want a higher single core speed rather than more cores

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 04:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bigblueshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 46
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
If you're using openVPN then you're going to want a higher single core speed rather than more cores
Interesting. I use PIA. I wonder if the algorithms are similar. I know you can set up OpenVPN with PIA credentials, but I use the PIA application instead.

I designated 2 cores to my virtual machine and noticed they hover around 100% when I hit max network speeds. Maybe there's also a difference between multi-connection scenarios (such as torrent) vs single-connection scenario (such as a direct connection from outside of home, into my home).

More interesting, when I run a speedtest on my virtual machine with PIA on, I easily peg both cores at 100% (with 2 cores on the VM), probably a little over 100mbps. When I add a 3rd core to the virtual machine now (which I'm able to do easily now considering the 6-cores I have), I have a bit more head room on my CPU speed test and the numbers are a bit higher. Not that this is relevant, but the home connection is gig fiber.
bigblueshock is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 11:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Liranan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Soviet China... Oh wait..
Posts: 8,660
Rep: 610 (Unique: 295)
Quote: Originally Posted by bigblueshock View Post
Interesting. I use PIA. I wonder if the algorithms are similar. I know you can set up OpenVPN with PIA credentials, but I use the PIA application instead.

I designated 2 cores to my virtual machine and noticed they hover around 100% when I hit max network speeds. Maybe there's also a difference between multi-connection scenarios (such as torrent) vs single-connection scenario (such as a direct connection from outside of home, into my home).

More interesting, when I run a speedtest on my virtual machine with PIA on, I easily peg both cores at 100% (with 2 cores on the VM), probably a little over 100mbps. When I add a 3rd core to the virtual machine now (which I'm able to do easily now considering the 6-cores I have), I have a bit more head room on my CPU speed test and the numbers are a bit higher. Not that this is relevant, but the home connection is gig fiber.
I would assign another two threads to that VM if I were you, just to ensure stability. Those threads might not get used but it's always good to allow the VM access to more processing power just in case, and any unused are still available to the host system.

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by faraz1729 go_quote.gif
Haha, Liranan, you creep.

Tacitus - The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money. - Cree Indian Proverb
Liranan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off