Prime95: A Quick & Dirty Guide To The Custom Settings - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Prime95: A Quick & Dirty Guide To The Custom Settings

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: lol @ this thread
Posts: 899
Rep: 78 (Unique: 73)

Have you ever heard something like "The NB is stressed the most during 512K FFTs. This happens about 2-3 hours into Blend"? Or, have you ever had Prime95 consistently fail on the same FFT size? Well, that's when the custom test comes in handy.

Pre-set Modes
We all know about the three pre-set modes available for Prime95: Small FFTs, In-Place FFTs, and Blend. Small and In-Place modes test the FPU and caches. Blend mode tests everything, including RAM.

Custom Mode
By selecting Custom, you have total control over which FFT size/s are run. In general, the smaller FFTs stress the CPU, while the larger FFTs stress the memory and chipset - with one exception, the "in place" FFT.

What is an "in-place" FFT?
An "in place" FFT is simply an FFT that is calculated entirely inside its original sample memory. In other words, calculating an "in place" FFT does not require additional buffer memory. - Source(#2.3)

Ok, so between the definition above and the fact that Prime95 labels the "In-place large FFTs" test as max heat, power, and some RAM tested. We know that when the FFTs are "in place", the RAM and chipset aren't being tested all that hard, regardless of the FFT size.

Conclusion
Below are a few screen shots of different custom tests.

CPU Test


RAM & Chipset Test

Note: when not using the "in place" option, be careful not to set the "memory to use" too high. If it's set too high, the system will start to use the paging file which will not stress the RAM.

Oh noes...it's always failing at 512 FFT size and I don't want to wait two hours for blend to reach that test


or you could do something like this


Maybe this is common knowledge to most here? If not, this should give you a general idea of what to do.

tmunn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 11:37 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6215 (Unique: 3521)
Whoa, very nice. I like it so much that I reported this thread saying, "I feel that this needs to be stickied" in the report.

In other words, I didn't know this stuff, and now I'm extremely glad I do.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-19-2010, 04:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 369
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Should 3gb be entered in amount of memory to use for 4gb system? Or should i just copy and paste linx amount memory use during all test since it usually leaves like 400-500mb left and memory usage at like 90%.
ITaoI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-19-2010, 10:41 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6215 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITaoI View Post
Should 3gb be entered in amount of memory to use for 4gb system? Or should i just copy and paste linx amount memory use during all test since it usually leaves like 400-500mb left and memory usage at like 90%.
If you're careful enough, then you can probably get it to use 3300, or maybe even 3350. This would be roughly 95-96%.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #5 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-20-2010, 10:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,160
Rep: 221 (Unique: 143)
tmunn,very nice thread
radaja is offline  
post #6 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-20-2010, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: lol @ this thread
Posts: 899
Rep: 78 (Unique: 73)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITaoI View Post
Should 3gb be entered in amount of memory to use for 4gb system? Or should i just copy and paste linx amount memory use during all test since it usually leaves like 400-500mb left and memory usage at like 90%.
You could use linx or the performance tab in windows task manager to calculate how much memory to use. Whatever you do, be careful not to go over, or the test may be run in vain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by radaja View Post
tmunn,very nice thread
Thank you.
tmunn is offline  
post #7 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-20-2010, 12:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 424
Rep: 45 (Unique: 35)
Great info. I've always just used blend for chipset and memory and small ffts for cpu.
Going by what you've posted I was able to determine that my nb needed more voltage. In turn was able to lower vcore.
Forgot that I had started running my ddr2 800 at 1066.

onnetz is offline  
post #8 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-20-2010, 12:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shrimpykins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cloud Nine
Posts: 4,084
Rep: 296 (Unique: 231)
I am totally messing around with my overclock when I get home!

Great post! +rep!


Shrimpykins is offline  
post #9 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-20-2010, 12:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
saiyanzzrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Long Island/NYC
Posts: 2,322
Rep: 56 (Unique: 44)
wow, excellent, i always just hit blend and crossed my fingers..but now i can actually see what is not stable and single it out, like either ram/nb or cpu!

thanks so much!

4.1 - 4.2 here i come! (hopefully)


“I am what was, what is, what will be — the black angel, Chaos-Bringer! I AM POWER!” Dark Phoenix, Uncanny X-Men #136
saiyanzzrage is offline  
post #10 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-20-2010, 12:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
saiyanzzrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Long Island/NYC
Posts: 2,322
Rep: 56 (Unique: 44)
wait im confused...if nb is stressed the most at 512k FFT then why did you specify 2048 - 4096k fft to test ram/chipset?

if i want to test my nb stability, should i put 512k fft or the 2048 - 4096k??


“I am what was, what is, what will be — the black angel, Chaos-Bringer! I AM POWER!” Dark Phoenix, Uncanny X-Men #136
saiyanzzrage is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off