4-pin power supply on 8-pin motherboard? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

4-pin power supply on 8-pin motherboard?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
eltocliousus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 230
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
I'm recently upgrading my computer with new motherboard/cpu/ram but unfortunately I can not afford to upgrade my three year old eXtreme coolermaster 650w.
It doesn't seem to be losing it's touch though, does everything just fine and I'm only using a single 6870 so power shouldn't be much of an issue, my main problem is the power supply has only a 4-pin CPU connector and with all the motherboards I'm looking to get, they all need a 6-pin.

I can't afford a new power supply and it would be a shame to lower all my other components just to fit a cheap one in so I was hoping I could use some kind of 4-pin to 8-pin adapter, or a molex to 4-pin and use that in junction with my current 4-pin or other alternatives without spending more money.
Although I'm unsure if this will work properly or not.

All replies are appreciated, I could really use some help on this one, thankyou.

Headphone aficionado
eltocliousus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tacoma Wa USA
Posts: 171
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Knika is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DSP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 914
Rep: 90 (Unique: 88)
It would work properly the reason they do that is because the national electrical Association (i think that's what it is called) specifies that you need a particular gauge of wire to carry a given current and since they can't put really big gauge wires they instead use multiple wires. even though one of those wires could realistically carry the necessary current.
DSP1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
eltocliousus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 230
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Would this work just fine in conjunction with my current 4-pin CPU? As in, if I plugged my 4-pin into half the 8-pin then this into the other half, would they fit correctly?
Please excuse the dumb questions, and thankyou!

Headphone aficionado
eltocliousus is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vagrant Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 11,178
Rep: 415 (Unique: 371)
Yep, just plug in the pins you can...done it on countless mother boards without a problem

MINNESOTA OVERCLOCKERS | The Climate Phenomenon
If it ain't broke...MAKE IT GO FASTER!!!devil.gif
Vagrant Storm is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
blackbalt89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Milford, NJ
Posts: 6,171
Rep: 296 (Unique: 243)
You don't NEED to use all 8 pins for the EPS-12v. That's just in case you wan't to feed the CPU more power if it needs it.

If it has a 8-pin you can connect the 4 pins to one side of the connector, depending on where your motherboard manual says to.
blackbalt89 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
eltocliousus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 230
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
I'm going to be overclocking quite heavily (well, as heavy as I can on closed water cooling) so the 8-pin would give me piece of mind, I found this here, just wanted to confirm this particular cable would work, would it?
Thanks again, you guys give great peace of mind.

Headphone aficionado
eltocliousus is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
trueg50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vermont
Posts: 8,252
Rep: 676 (Unique: 522)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eltocliousus;15542938 
I'm going to be overclocking quite heavily (well, as heavy as I can on closed water cooling) so the 8-pin would give me piece of mind, I found this here, just wanted to confirm this particular cable would work, would it?
Thanks again, you guys give great peace of mind.

Yes if heavy overclocking then you might want to consider the 8 pin cable. Your E8200 won't be pushing super high powerdraw the way an I7 Nehalem would, but it still will be drawing a bit, and supplying it with good power is always nice.

Also, none of the posted cables are 8 pin, they are only 4 pin and you might run into compatibility and power draw issues. For a proper 8 pin you must use a 4 pin CPU power cable, plus 2x 4 pin molex cables.
trueg50 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
eltocliousus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 230
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
I may be asking a little much, but can you find me a 4-pin CPU to molex which will definitely work with my current 4-pin? On ebay.co.uk if possible (based in the UK) and obviously the cheaper the better, thanks again.
And I won't be using this with the E8200, ordered a high end AM3+ board and hopefully an 1100T if I can get one second hand for $160 which I think I can just about do.

Headphone aficionado
eltocliousus is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-02-2011, 07:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vagrant Storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 11,178
Rep: 415 (Unique: 371)
If you want a cable...you will need one like this I don't think that one you linked will plug in next to your existing 4pin, but is made to replace it or give a really old PSU a 4 pin that didn't have one.

Though it will be fine with out. I am running a Q6600 with a mild oc on a old 500w power supply and I only have the 4 pin going. Though I typically don't recomend skimping on the power supply...but it is running on a $30 motherboard in a system that I am not too concerned about. If it was my main rig I would probably want the adapter too.

MINNESOTA OVERCLOCKERS | The Climate Phenomenon
If it ain't broke...MAKE IT GO FASTER!!!devil.gif
Vagrant Storm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off