FAQ: Dual Power Supplies - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

FAQ: Dual Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 11:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmatt110 View Post

You only need to connect the green cable to any black one of the main 24 pin cable to start up the psu, I don't know why that adapter is using a molex connector to start it up.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk


 

That Molex is to power the relay coils which basically switch the PS_On (Green) and Black (Com) of the Slave PSU when the Master PSU is on. Something might go wrong with the relay and trip the PSU via the Molex.

 

dc-relay-work-800x800.jpgdc-relay-work-2.1-800x800.jpg

Ken1649 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 02:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sockpirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,946
Rep: 91 (Unique: 77)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaedrus2129 View Post

Antec HCP-1200, Corsair AX1200, Thermaltake Toughpower 1350M, Silverstone ST-1500, Enermax Platimax 1200W

Dang people are really confusing me as to what i need to do with my future Lightning Extremes in quad SLI. Some are saying 2x AX 1200, single AX 1200 or a Maxrevo1500...I will also have a 3960x OCed to 5.0ghz or higher, same with the cards somewhere at 950+ for gaming.

sockpirate is offline  
post #43 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 02:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)


Quote:
Originally Posted by sockpirate View Post


Dang people are really confusing me as to what i need to do with my future Lightning Extremes in quad SLI. Some are saying 2x AX 1200, single AX 1200 or a Maxrevo1500...I will also have a 3960x OCed to 5.0ghz or higher, same with the cards somewhere at 950+ for gaming.


LOL

 

Look at it this way, some people will link you of what they "read" and convince you what they believe from what they read.

 

I have seen they link a unit rated continuous 1,200w is capable of 1,700w in the review. But it's not scpecified the continuous draw of 1,700w lasted how long for the test period. So they are saying your Quad setup max power draw is 1,300w hence that unit is what you need.

 

Most monufactures state the MTBF is 100,000 hours = 11.41 years. Best manufactures warranty have seen so far is 7 years. Why?

 


 

 

 

Ken1649 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 02:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sockpirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,946
Rep: 91 (Unique: 77)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken1649 View Post



LOL

Look at it this way, some people will link you of what they "read" and convince you what they believe from what they read.

I have seen they link a unit rated continuous 1,200w is capable of 1,700w in the review. But it's not scpecified the continuous draw of 1,700w lasted how long for the test period. So they are saying your Quad setup max power draw is 1,300w hence that unit is what you need.

Most monufactures state the MTBF is 100,000 hours = 11.41 years. Best manufactures warranty have seen so far is 7 years. Why?



 


So help me out here? My single AX 1200 is enough then is what you are saying ? Sorry i am a bit dense, and it is also 330AM frown.gif

sockpirate is offline  
post #45 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 02:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)


Quote:
Originally Posted by sockpirate View Post

Quote:
 

So help me out here? My single AX 1200 is enough then is what you are saying ? Sorry i am a bit dense, and it is also 330AM frown.gif


Get additional unit and run them in tandem for that setup. You will have a safe supply of power with what you might want to do with the whole system.

 

One unit doesn't have the enough PCIe 6+2-Pin for Quad setup but this is not the reason to go dual PSU.

 

Ken1649 is offline  
post #46 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 02:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nnimrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,636
Rep: 52 (Unique: 48)
Well yeah, for the normal guy. But for the quad SLI TX-10 builds... yes smile.gif two Platinum 1000W biggrin.gif

wheee.gif Kpop! Yay! wheee.gif
"Lock horns, I push, and I strive. Somehow I feel more alive"


Nnimrod is offline  
post #47 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 02:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jellis142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pendleton, OR
Posts: 6,338
Rep: 277 (Unique: 245)
Enermax RaxRevo 1350. You said you wanted 5.0Ghz+ and 950Mhz for gaming? I guarantee you won't be using 100% of each GTX 580 during gaming (Impossible due to scaling; not to mention most games won't even push the 4th GPU, as they don't support spanning across that many cards). Even if you decide to do extreme benchmarking, they won't last longer then a few minutes, and even then you probably won't be able to reach "Imma save your components by shutting down" stage.

Just my 2c. Don't get two in tandem unless you absolutely have to. In this case, you aren't at that point yet. It's not like your trying to run an SR-2... tongue.gif


jellis142 is offline  
post #48 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 05:13 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
OwnedINC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,299
Rep: 71 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levesque View Post

Sigh. I'm 41 years old, have 50 employes, own 2 pharmacy and a shopping mall. Sorry for not being "adult" enough for you. wink.gif
But it's ok, That's the beauty of the internet. Well respected businessman in real-life, won the ''business of the year'' award in my town for the last 2 years, and ''not adult enough" on the internet. biggrin.gif The beauty of the beast they say. biggrin.gif

None of that has to do with acting like an adult, achievements =/= being an adult.

And yes, you ARE acting like a child.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BallaTheFeared go_quote.gif

There are none, there isn't a single game where cpu speed matters.
OwnedINC is offline  
post #49 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 07:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Levesque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,176
Rep: 125 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwnedINC View Post

None of that has to do with acting like an adult, achievements =/= being an adult.
And yes, you ARE acting like a child.

Like I care what you think... smile.gif

A little come back to me dual-PSU adventure.

Everything is now working fine with my Antec HCP-1200 powering 4X 6970 Lightning + 3930k + Rampage IV + all HDDs and SSDs, and my AX850 is powering all the fans and watercooling pumps 4X MCP655. Dual-PSUs working perfectly nowwith the Lian-LI dual-PSU adaptor. So I really think it was the Add2PSU adapter the culprit..

The HCP-1200 is noisy, but it's rock-stable with 4X 6970 at 1050/1475 1.3v. smile.gif

On the internet, for 10 REALLY VOCAL whiners, you have 1000 satisifed customers that don't post.



Mountain Mods build and my Home Theater link: https://www.overclock.net/t/1232605/2-mountain-mods-build-home-theater-gaming-room#post_16777582

gunner2.gifAsus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79 Owners Clubgunner.gif
Levesque is offline  
post #50 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2011, 07:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Levesque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,176
Rep: 125 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OwnedINC View Post

None of that has to do with acting like an adult, achievements =/= being an adult.
And yes, you ARE acting like a child.

Like I care what you think... And 2 weeks later, you had to put your little grain of salt with a comment about me, adding nothing to the discussion about dual-PSU... Wow. It was so worth it. I'm happy you took the time to wrote that. rolleyes.gif

A little come back to me dual-PSU adventure.

Everything is now working fine with my Antec HCP-1200 powering 4X 6970 Lightning + 3930k + Rampage IV + all HDDs and SSDs, and my AX850 is powering all the fans and watercooling pumps 4X MCP655. Dual-PSUs working perfectly nowwith the Lian-LI dual-PSU adaptor. So I really think it was the Add2PSU adapter the culprit..

The HCP-1200 is noisy, but it's rock-stable with 4X 6970 at 1050/1475 1.3v. smile.gif

On the internet, for 10 REALLY VOCAL whiners, you have 1000 satisifed customers that don't post.



Mountain Mods build and my Home Theater link: https://www.overclock.net/t/1232605/2-mountain-mods-build-home-theater-gaming-room#post_16777582

gunner2.gifAsus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79 Owners Clubgunner.gif
Levesque is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off