[MT] Corsair Silently Launches individually sleeved cables - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[MT] Corsair Silently Launches individually sleeved cables

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
HexATL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 495
Rep: 19 (Unique: 19)
Save me some trouble, I'm already considering buying.

HexATL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,832
Rep: 104 (Unique: 92)
Now we just need Seasonic to do the same.

Tippy is offline  
post #33 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vowels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 797
Rep: 31 (Unique: 30)
Not trying to steal Corsair's thunder or anything but Bitfenix has had individually sleeved cables for awhile now.

http://www.bitfenix.com/global/en/products/premium-modding/alchemy-cables

Upgrade kit only really limits the market that Corsair can reach thinking.gif

EDIT: Oh wait, Bitfenix's cables are extensions mostly. Not the same as Corsairs, my bad redface.gif

Vowels is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:34 AM
Case ***der
 
lowfat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 5,034
Rep: 452 (Unique: 305)
They should have went w/ high quality sleeving. It looks cheap. Not something I'd expect from Corsair.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XNine View Post

I don't agree. Sleeving is not that difficult. You can have an entire PSU's worth of sleeving shipped from MDPCX for 50 bucks and sleeve an entire PSU within hours. Making your own cables isn't that hard either.
$50? Not likely. And it definitely takes more than a few hours. I'd say closer to 12+ to do an entire PSU.
lowfat is offline  
post #35 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
WhitePrQjser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,015
Rep: 52 (Unique: 50)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post

They should have went w/ high quality sleeving. It looks cheap. Not something I'd expect from Corsair.

What you see is probably not the final product smile.gif

E8500 OC 4,20 Ghz. biggrin.gif i5-2500k OC 4.390 Ghz. biggrin.gif

I live in Denmark: 1. Hardware is more expensive. 2. Can't buy outside Europe due to toll fee. 3. Can't use links to Newegg or that kind. 4. US pricings are NOT the same as DK pricings.

R.I.P. Peter Steele. Type O Negative lives on in our hearts.

Metal, baby. Metal. band.gif
WhitePrQjser is offline  
post #36 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:37 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Goin back to Cali
Posts: 21,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majin SSJ Eric View Post

Is there any company on earth that pays more attention to its enthusiast customers and what they want better than Corsair? Its like Corsair George sits here on OCN and tells the upper management exactly what we are saying we want and then they build it!

So true. I love their support as well.


tsm106 is offline  
post #37 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:46 AM
Retired Staff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Rep: 1730 (Unique: 1138)
I saw this at CES but forgot to write about it. Dammit.

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
post #38 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:53 AM
It's still almost enough.
 
Chunky_Chimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lounging again
Posts: 19,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tippy View Post

Now we just need Seasonic to do the same.

Actually, looking closely at the modular interface, Corsair isn't using a different modular interface compared to the X-650/X-760/X-850 for the AX650/AX750/AX850. Theoretically you could use these cables with the X series, but since Corsair's 1000w and above units aren't Seasonic-based, you probably can't use the HX1050's cables with the Seasonic Platinum X-1000; even if you could use the AX850's cables with them (which is likely), you won't be given enough cables to use all the connectors.


Combined air and water cooling tips: Fan database | My San Ace 9G1212H1011 review | Don't mix metals or use premixes / dyes | Distilled vs. tap water | Good radiator brands | Water (almost) can't flow too fast | Which PT Nuke to use | Regarding thermal paste spreading
Deep Blood
(15 items)
Soft Sentinel
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 920 D0 (Batch # 3901A240)
Motherboard
Foxconn X58 Blood Rage (non-GTI)
GPU
Sapphire Vega 64 8GB
RAM
6GB Corsair Dominator 1.6GHz TR3X6G1600C8D Rev 3.2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD830 128GB / Seagate 640GB+2TB+2x4TB
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S223Q 22X
Power Supply
Antec HCPP-850
Cooling
XTTH | OCZ Freeze | 9G1212H1011
Case
CaseLabs SM8
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Monitor
Dell U2410f (rev. A02)
Keyboard
Code 104 w/O-rings + Vortex PBT/POM doubleshot keycaps
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP w/Dechanic Mini pad
Audio
Asus Xonar DX / Klipsch RM-14s + Dayton DTA-120 / MXL Tempo
Other
Microsoft Lifecam Cinema
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6320
Motherboard
Intel DP35DP
GPU
XFX GeForce 7600GT
RAM
2GB Mushkin DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
Optical Drive
Asus 18x multi-burner
Power Supply
Enermax Liberty 400w modular
Case
Rosewill R5604-TBK
Operating System
Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit
Monitor
Samsung LN-S2351W
Keyboard
Ideazon MERC
Mouse
Logitech MX-518 (rev.2; 1800 DPI [no Teflon feet])
Mouse
Xtrac Pads Ripper
▲ hide details ▲


Chunky_Chimp is offline  
post #39 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 12:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
importflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,647
Rep: 111 (Unique: 100)
That settles it. I'm buying an AX850.

steam: anonyflip
origin: importflip



importflip is offline  
post #40 of 249 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 12:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rognin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 52.197428,-76.07234
Posts: 3,018
Rep: 163 (Unique: 133)
Hrmm, paracord from FTWPC (when and if they come back) or 100$ hassle free wires?

I'm getting all black anyways... I'ma take the plunge I think.


Rognin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off