The "Uninterrupting" Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) Guide - Page 21 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The "Uninterrupting" Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) Guide

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #201 of 212 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 04:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
serralha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 133
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Hi guys.

So, i need to buy an UPS for my rig, as i spent good money on it and the electrical current on my home is not so great.

But i don´t really know which one to buy... And the offer around here is quite low too. Do you have any feedback about Eaton or Eurotech UPS´es?
serralha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #202 of 212 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 07:27 AM
Overclocked by Jesus
 
Wildcard36qs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,736
Rep: 213 (Unique: 193)
I know of Eaton, I have not heard of Eurotech. Eaton are pretty good here in the US and I know of people who argue them over APC for their server racks.

Rainbow Coffee
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB DDR4-3600
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 240
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW
Monitor
Dell U2718Q
Keyboard
Cooler Master Quick Fire TK
Mouse
Logitech M510 Wireless Laser
Audio
Sony MDR-X950BT
▲ hide details ▲


Wildcard36qs is offline  
post #203 of 212 (permalink) Old 04-18-2017, 09:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
serralha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 133
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildcard36qs View Post

I know of Eaton, I have not heard of Eurotech. Eaton are pretty good here in the US and I know of people who argue them over APC for their server racks.

Awesome, thank you. I´ll research some more about available models of Eaton around here.
serralha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #204 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-14-2017, 09:58 AM
Meow!
 
djriful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8,318
Rep: 243 (Unique: 204)

Just got this for $120 CAD (Amazon PRIME Sales!) https://www.cyberpowersystems.com/product/ups/cp1000pfclcd/

 

For my rig in my signature, mostly need it PLEX idle mode consume about 100-120watts. It was able to last 22min until power is back on and if it is not, it goes hibernate mode at 7% battery level (you need to plug the USB from the UPS to your desktop to adjust when on battery hibernate at 7%). 

 

When the main rig is hibernate it consumes about 30 watts including my router and modem. 

 

Till power if back on, I connect remotely command WOL on my computer and voila, PLEX is back online!

 

This is my old X79 rig overclocked and able to run low power and high power when application demands it! Very smart setup. c: secret sauce for a 6 cores system at 130w CPU.

 

Maybe in the future I will get the newest Intel would run even lower power.



~ Nothing to see here ~


djriful is offline  
post #205 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 12:58 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
iepure64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Ok... time has come to replace worn out UPS batteries.Wich wire, RED + or BLACK - should be connected as the last wire? After connecting the batteries in series (4 x 12v9Ah), two wires are left to connect, ones that feeds the UPS board RED + and BLACK -. I just connected the RED one as the last wire, and just fired me a considerably spark on the terminal.What is the correct procedure on this task ?

ONLiNE UPS 2KVA currently running @ 230Vac 50.0Hz Double Protected in series EMI\RFI outlets; phase oriented service PSU SPiRE Jewel Black 550watt Motherboard ASRock P5B-DE CPU Intel e6800 @ 3.33GHz RAM A-DATA Vitesta Extreme 800+ x4-2GB non-ECC 4-4-4-12-2T 1.9v-2.1v VGA ATi Radeon Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 1024MB GDDR5 128-bit PciExpress 3.0 x16 Display BENQ G950A 1366x768 native resolution HDD Toshiba 2TB Capacity; S-ATA II 64MB cache 1xPCI WiFi 2.4GHz TP-LINK Adapter b.g.n network 1xDVD-RW unit LG 1xExternal USB HDD rack; Seagate Barracuda 250GB standard PS\2 keyboard & optical mouse 1xGenius joystick 1xMicrosoft HD LifeCAM 1xGenius Headset Vibration Feature Operating System Windows Vista ULTIMATE SP2.0 64-bit; directX11 updated Home audio:Stereo Amplifier NAD 316bee; high quality stereo 24K gold plated audio jack\RCA cable 2xHeco Victa Prime 502 floor loudspeakers Bi-AMP; remote...
iepure64 is offline  
post #206 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 01:30 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
iepure64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Red face

Quote: Originally Posted by iepure64 View Post
Ok... time has come to replace worn out UPS batteries.Wich wire, RED + or BLACK - should be connected as the last wire? After connecting the batteries in series (4 x 12v9Ah), two wires are left to connect, ones that feeds the UPS board RED + and BLACK -. I just connected the RED one as the last wire, and just fired me a considerably spark on the terminal.What is the correct procedure on this task ?
Need answer, please!

ONLiNE UPS 2KVA currently running @ 230Vac 50.0Hz Double Protected in series EMI\RFI outlets; phase oriented service PSU SPiRE Jewel Black 550watt Motherboard ASRock P5B-DE CPU Intel e6800 @ 3.33GHz RAM A-DATA Vitesta Extreme 800+ x4-2GB non-ECC 4-4-4-12-2T 1.9v-2.1v VGA ATi Radeon Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 1024MB GDDR5 128-bit PciExpress 3.0 x16 Display BENQ G950A 1366x768 native resolution HDD Toshiba 2TB Capacity; S-ATA II 64MB cache 1xPCI WiFi 2.4GHz TP-LINK Adapter b.g.n network 1xDVD-RW unit LG 1xExternal USB HDD rack; Seagate Barracuda 250GB standard PS\2 keyboard & optical mouse 1xGenius joystick 1xMicrosoft HD LifeCAM 1xGenius Headset Vibration Feature Operating System Windows Vista ULTIMATE SP2.0 64-bit; directX11 updated Home audio:Stereo Amplifier NAD 316bee; high quality stereo 24K gold plated audio jack\RCA cable 2xHeco Victa Prime 502 floor loudspeakers Bi-AMP; remote...
iepure64 is offline  
post #207 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 01:38 AM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,152
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
Dont know if its the correct answer, Iv got 12X 12V9AH.

Just in the notes it had make sure all batterys are of the same ammount of charge to prevent a spark and obvously UPS turned off and unplugged from everything.
I connected black wire last since thats what we do with car batterys. Was a very small spark still when I connected the last wire.


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
post #208 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 01:48 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
iepure64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Ok. First, thank you for taking the time to reply me.The batteries are the same brand each other, but same voltage and ampere specification like the batteries that worn out.I just unboxed them this morning,so i think they are charged brand new batteries.So it left me to try out your variant, to connect BLACK - as the last wire, but i think i must do a fast and firm connection to prevent sparking again?

ONLiNE UPS 2KVA currently running @ 230Vac 50.0Hz Double Protected in series EMI\RFI outlets; phase oriented service PSU SPiRE Jewel Black 550watt Motherboard ASRock P5B-DE CPU Intel e6800 @ 3.33GHz RAM A-DATA Vitesta Extreme 800+ x4-2GB non-ECC 4-4-4-12-2T 1.9v-2.1v VGA ATi Radeon Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 1024MB GDDR5 128-bit PciExpress 3.0 x16 Display BENQ G950A 1366x768 native resolution HDD Toshiba 2TB Capacity; S-ATA II 64MB cache 1xPCI WiFi 2.4GHz TP-LINK Adapter b.g.n network 1xDVD-RW unit LG 1xExternal USB HDD rack; Seagate Barracuda 250GB standard PS\2 keyboard & optical mouse 1xGenius joystick 1xMicrosoft HD LifeCAM 1xGenius Headset Vibration Feature Operating System Windows Vista ULTIMATE SP2.0 64-bit; directX11 updated Home audio:Stereo Amplifier NAD 316bee; high quality stereo 24K gold plated audio jack\RCA cable 2xHeco Victa Prime 502 floor loudspeakers Bi-AMP; remote...
iepure64 is offline  
post #209 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 02:18 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
iepure64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
No... it fired a spark again this time doing with BLACK - as the last wire. How can i go right now... knowing that both wires drops sparking...?

ONLiNE UPS 2KVA currently running @ 230Vac 50.0Hz Double Protected in series EMI\RFI outlets; phase oriented service PSU SPiRE Jewel Black 550watt Motherboard ASRock P5B-DE CPU Intel e6800 @ 3.33GHz RAM A-DATA Vitesta Extreme 800+ x4-2GB non-ECC 4-4-4-12-2T 1.9v-2.1v VGA ATi Radeon Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 1024MB GDDR5 128-bit PciExpress 3.0 x16 Display BENQ G950A 1366x768 native resolution HDD Toshiba 2TB Capacity; S-ATA II 64MB cache 1xPCI WiFi 2.4GHz TP-LINK Adapter b.g.n network 1xDVD-RW unit LG 1xExternal USB HDD rack; Seagate Barracuda 250GB standard PS\2 keyboard & optical mouse 1xGenius joystick 1xMicrosoft HD LifeCAM 1xGenius Headset Vibration Feature Operating System Windows Vista ULTIMATE SP2.0 64-bit; directX11 updated Home audio:Stereo Amplifier NAD 316bee; high quality stereo 24K gold plated audio jack\RCA cable 2xHeco Victa Prime 502 floor loudspeakers Bi-AMP; remote...
iepure64 is offline  
post #210 of 212 (permalink) Old 07-17-2018, 02:55 AM
High Clocker
 
bmgjet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,152
Rep: 188 (Unique: 162)
If its sparking its because the current is flowing some where. I wouldnt trust brand new batterys to all be at the same charge. Your going to have some that sat longer then others so all the current is going to flow there and cause a spark.
Sparking is normal tho, You just want to minimise it as much as you can.


SLI Voodoo 2 - > GeForce4 MX 420 -> GF 6600GT -> GF 6800GT -> GF 8800Ultra -> AMD 4870 -> AMD 4890 -> CF AMD 5820 -> CF AMD 6850 -> CF AMD 7970 -> SLI GF 680 -> SLI GF 780 -> CF AMD 290X -> GF 980ti -> SLI GF 980ti -> GF 1080ti -> SLI GF 1080ti -> <- RTX 2080ti (DOA/Refunded)
CPU
AMD 8120
CPU
FX 8350
GPU
7970 CFX
GPU
680 SLI
▲ hide details ▲


bmgjet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off