Corsair deny all knowledge - AX1200i software broken (probably applies to AX860i and AX760i as well) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Corsair deny all knowledge - AX1200i software broken (probably applies to AX860i and AX760i as well)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BorisTheSpider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 597
Rep: 64 (Unique: 59)
Just a warning for others considering purchasing the AX1200i. This issue almost certainly applies to the AX860i and AX760i too since they use the same software (Corsair Link). The monitoring and control software is pretty much useless.

The PCIe rails get stuck, and give wildly ridiculous current indications that have no relationship to reality.

I RMA'd my first AX1200i because of it, here's the thread: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=111282

Then it seemed OK for a few days, until I noticed the replacement was doing it again: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?p=608540

Then I asked in http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?p=612174 if Corsair could reproduce the issue I was seeing.

A Corsair employee told me:
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY
We have not seen this issue in our testing so no we have not duplicated the issue. I am waiting for more feed back from Engineering at this point.
And so far you are the only user reporting this issue so beyond that I would suggest using a different PSU to test the system.

So they say they can't reproduce the issue and I am the only user reporting it, but I found this video (a Corsair promo with George Makris from Corsair demo'ing the AX1200i to a reviewer this June) where it's happening: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yv7oLWF4dZU&feature=player_embedded

Screenshot:



Note PCIe 1 is reading 56.1 Amps = 673 Watts, while the total system power consumption is reported at 152 Watts.

I then did some more digging and I found a second Corsair employee, PR director Rick Allen, pointing at the faulty power reading while describing how you can monitor the PCIe currents:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZD8u7-vMSzs#t=2m37s



In that same video, at At 2:28, it's doing it on PCIe1, PCIe2 and PCIe3 with 55.8 Amps reported on each (a total of over 2 kilowatts) while total power output reads 174 Watts.



So supposedly 2 different Corsair employees have demo'd this PSU while it was doing this, and neither of them noticed the software reporting that a single 8-pin connector is carrying over 50 Amps.

Supposedly their testing hasn't revealed this issue before they started selling these PSUs, even though the issue shows up on a system they are using to demo and market the product.

More here: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?p=612174&posted=1#post612174

BorisTheSpider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-07-2012, 06:42 PM
Pharmacology is FUN
 
Biorganic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Adrift in a SEE of change
Posts: 1,902
Rep: 68 (Unique: 54)
Send their rep a link to this thread and ask him what is going on. If that fails then ask for his superior etc. You may need to make a good bit of noise before anyone will do or say/admit to anything. Good Luck

Quote:
Originally Posted by PunkX 1 go_quote.gif

User - "I have (something that is not a 290x) and I play on a (monitor that is lower than 1440p). I get stutters, please help."

You - "You are a peasant with peasant hardware. Upgrade."


Biorganic is offline  
post #3 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-08-2012, 06:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
phileps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 378
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
i was really interested on getting a 860i but if the software is giving fake info there is no reason to buy a digital psu.... do you think they can correct that with driver updates?

phileps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-08-2012, 06:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4,256
Rep: 157 (Unique: 131)
wow. I like the depth of information you have given. I thought this would be the typical " X PRODUCT SO BAD Y COMPANY STEALS MY MONEY" thread, but good job.

thumb.gif

You can't preview an empty signature body.

[NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti Owner's Club]
Rickles is offline  
post #5 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-09-2012, 06:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Elohim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,208
Rep: 182 (Unique: 123)
intersting, please keep us updated.

Elohim is offline  
post #6 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-09-2012, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BorisTheSpider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 597
Rep: 64 (Unique: 59)
Quote:
Originally Posted by phileps View Post

i was really interested on getting a 860i but if the software is giving fake info there is no reason to buy a digital psu.... do you think they can correct that with driver updates?

Hi,

Yeah, it also makes the overcurrent protection (the selectable multi-rail mode) useless - if you can't set a trip-point because the values falsely report it being exceeded (and hence trip the OCP) then that feature becomes useless too.

Generally, the monitoring seems bad in other ways too - the PCIe current values jump around a lot instead of smoothly varying, the reported efficiency actually differs from what you'd calculate from the reported power-in and power-out values, often reading 100% and the PCIe rails often read zero at idle - that might be correct however, since I don't know if that's because GPUs actually draw nothing at idle (instead drawing from the 75 watt capacity of the PCIe slot itself), or whether it's another problem in the monitoring system.

I don't know whether it's fixable in software - at the moment, it's impossible to say whether the problem is originating in the PSU itself (in the DSP and monitoring hardware) or is being introduced in the link dongle, or PC.

I will update as more details emerge.

BorisTheSpider is offline  
post #7 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-09-2012, 03:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,104
Rep: 131 (Unique: 116)
Nice story, hopefully they will fix this, just sounds like bad software glitching, unless the voltage regulator is sending of the wrong information, then they would need to do a recall, lets see where this goes.

I like to have fun.
https://hwbot.org/user/sockskeepyouwarm/
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #8 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-09-2012, 06:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rjc34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 42
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Corsair denying all knowledge? Sounds like the same kind of reaction they had when people started complaining about the pump tick on some H80/H100s.

rjc34 is offline  
post #9 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-09-2012, 06:52 PM
Retired Staff
 
Murlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 17,088
Rep: 911 (Unique: 540)
OCN has it's own personal Corsair rep. PM him.



Murlocke is offline  
post #10 of 257 (permalink) Old 11-10-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BorisTheSpider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 597
Rep: 64 (Unique: 59)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murlocke View Post

OCN has it's own personal Corsair rep. PM him.

Thanks Murlocke, but I already PM'd Corsair George (if that's who you're referring to) over 3 weeks ago asking him if he could look into it. I didn't get a reply.

BorisTheSpider is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off