Possible fried motherboard, how to diagnose? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Possible fried motherboard, how to diagnose?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 04:31 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kakya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Rep: 0
My computer was working with the PSU, but the minute I plugged in the cable for the three chassis fans into the PSU everything stopped working and nothing would turn on. Did I fry my PSU or my mobo? What could have caused either?

System specs:
i5 3570k @ 3.4 ghz
GTX 670 @ 1,016 MHz
ASRock z77 pro4-m
Intel stock cooler
8 gb RAM
4 chassis fans (Corsair Carbide 500r)
PSU: Seasonic 620w 12v ATX 120-240v modular
Kakya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 06:43 AM
Ultimate Rig Winner
 
PedroC1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wales
Posts: 7,170
Rep: 315 (Unique: 220)
You should never plug a pc component into 'online' pc, this can have a potencialy disastrous effect and might have fried all of you computer

wubsmiley.gif OCN changed my life wubsmiley.gif


PedroC1999 is offline  
post #3 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 06:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EPiiKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,532
Rep: 41 (Unique: 33)
Can you get your hands on any other psu? Borrow from a friend or something and test it out. You might have fried something if your pc was running and you plugged fans in... Think before you do rolleyes.gif

EPiiKK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 06:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ThriftyPo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 255
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)

Seems like you fried your PSU. The issue here is that you plugged in 3 fans all at once into a PSU which may cause it to overload. Fans actually take quite a few watts to run. However looking at your specs they should be running fine though since 3570k and the 670 added up only take around 300-400w which is wayy less than the 650w your PSU supports, and not only that Seasonic is a pretty good brand. Have you tried restarting? If it doesn't boot up try having less components in the PSU and then power up again. IF it still doesnt work I recommend switching out the PSU. thats prolly the cause here.


computers, I like.
GPUS-> GT 220 -> msi twin frozr II 560 ti -> sapphire vapor x 7950 boost
Clubs 'n' stuff
ThriftyPo is offline  
post #5 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 06:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,872
Rep: 123 (Unique: 112)
Sounds like you plugged it in WHILE your computer was on. I don't even touch the inside unless the power cable is unplugged from the PSU and I've drained the remaining power by pushing the power button after unplugging the cable.

If you want to test, simple. Remove all the non essential parts. Start off with 1 stick of ram, no gpu. If nothing powers on, no motherboard light or anything then maybe it is the PSU. Does it smell funny(PSU)? Anything look burnt(around mobo, ram)? Only way to be sure is to put another PSU in there and test, and hope nothing else was fried.

Sylon is offline  
post #6 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 07:06 AM
Ultimate Rig Winner
 
PedroC1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wales
Posts: 7,170
Rep: 315 (Unique: 220)
Is the VRM area burned/smoking/smelly?

wubsmiley.gif OCN changed my life wubsmiley.gif


PedroC1999 is offline  
post #7 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kakya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Rep: 0
I will now remember not to touch a PSU that is connected. I did smell a faint burnt smell from the PSU initially. I've RMA'd the PSU and waiting for another one to ship, a Corsair TX750. What are the chances I may have fried the mobo as well?
Kakya is offline  
post #8 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kakya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Rep: 0
Also to add no area of the mobo produced a smell, if that info is at all relevant.
Kakya is offline  
post #9 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kakya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Rep: 0
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylon View Post

Anything look burnt(around mobo, ram)? Only way to be sure is to put another PSU in there and test, and hope nothing else was fried.

How would the mobo or ram look burnt?
Kakya is offline  
post #10 of 219 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 08:14 AM
Ultimate Rig Winner
 
PedroC1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Wales
Posts: 7,170
Rep: 315 (Unique: 220)
Dark aread around the micro porcessors and stuff, burned areas as in torched and weeker bits, has your moboi got one of those debug things?

wubsmiley.gif OCN changed my life wubsmiley.gif


PedroC1999 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off