What do YOU want to see in a power supply? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

What do YOU want to see in a power supply?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Razzle Dazzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: U.S.
Posts: 590
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
a way too see the wattage use through software smile.gif its a total guessing game for me when it comes to what pc wattage is necessary lol.



Boom shocka-locka! party.gif

"I don't like you. You are a post-ninja!" -CynicalUnicorn
Razzle Dazzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skyn3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germantown MD
Posts: 6,659
Rep: 591 (Unique: 374)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post

Silverstone has 450w in SFX but it is loud under full load. I'm guessing that 500w would be absolute max in a SFX. For an inaudible solution, I was hoping for like a 300w SFX unit.

right , I read some article about this psu about a year back or bit more and this is the reason why I had not got that one. In other words I just completely forgot about it.

but will be nice to have a fix upgrade or even better another maker with some innovations.

♦░▒▓█▓█ [Official] EVGA 780 Ti Classified k|ngp|n Owner's Club] █▓█▓▒░♦
♦░▒█▓▒░♦ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Ti Owner's Club] ♦░▒█▓▒░♦
-=]░▒▓███ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club ███▓▒░[=-
█▓▒█▓♦ [Official] NVIDIA GTX 980 Owner's Club ♦█▓▒█▓
skyn3t is offline  
post #23 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:22 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razzle Dazzle View Post

a way too see the wattage use through software smile.gif its a total guessing game for me when it comes to what pc wattage is necessary lol.

 

I recommend the use of a wall meter like the Kill A Watt and you plug  your PSU's power cable into it. Then multiply what you see on the meter by .9 for 90% efficiency to see what your computer is likely pulling from your PSU. This will be more accurate than software can be.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:26 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 65,142
Rep: 4426 (Unique: 2045)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post

I recommend the use of a wall meter like the Kill A Watt and you plug  your PSU's power cable into it. Then multiply what you see on the meter by .9 for 90% efficiency to see what your computer is likely pulling from your PSU. This will be more accurate than software can be.

Gigabyte had a line... Odin, I think?

They had integrated multimeter on their PSUs. That's the only way to get a proper voltages and wattage reads.

To answer most of your questions: (1) a fridge cannot cool a PC (2) 64-bit OS for over 3.4GB (3) If a PCIe card fits, it should work (4) Resolution, not screen size (5) Report, not respond to Spam (6) Single-Rail/Non-Modular PSUs are not always better than Multi-Rail/Modular (7) Sequential does not matter as much as random for OS drives (8) Requirements come before hardware for servers

DuckieHo is offline  
post #25 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:27 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post


Gigabyte had a line... Odin, I think?

They had integrated multimeter on their PSUs. That's the only way to get a proper voltages and wattage reads.

 

I know, but the Kill A Watt is usually about $20.



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #26 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
oipunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 160
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
To be full modular, good aesthetic (cable sleeving) and this may sound too fashionist but a power consumption reader could be great, some sort of display showing temps and power consumption. I would rather to have it on the actual unit instead of a software.

Edit: Now going crazy, if this could even have a socket to cord this reader to one bay.

♣[RL-Tech]Workshop
Your Game Our Job


[Less like a square - More like a circle]
oipunx is offline  
post #27 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA!
Posts: 353
-SILENT fan. I mean silent
-Hi-quality sleeving. Instead of forcing blokes like us into breaking our warranties, sleeve it for us! And give us options!
-white (There are some, not enough in my opinion)
-And most importantly, stop with all the stupid restrictions. Several modular PSUs have different cables, and thus this forces you to buy "X brand extensions" if that's what you own and you don't want to sleeve yourself. It'd be much more consumer friendly to keep it to a standard (IE the 24 pin is the 24 pin, etc.)
ilovepcgaming is offline  
post #28 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 06:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
aldfig0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 850
Rep: 69 (Unique: 66)
I would like to be able to purchase the PSU itself independently of the cables. So when you purchase the PSU, you can choose a variety of sleeving options, from no/crappy sleeving for budget minded people (or those without a case window) to fully sleeved cables (in a variety of color options; also, as little as possible heatshrink would be nice) for those that don't have time to do it themselves. Sorry if this is a little confusing. I mean offer something like a 750w PSU for sale without cables, as well as a variety of cable options to choose from.
aldfig0 is offline  
post #29 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 07:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,243
Rep: 577 (Unique: 411)
Three products really.

1. Competitor to Corsair CX430 on the low end of the price bracket.

2. Something a little quieter than Silent Pro M (without worse build quality and performance) at as low a price as that's possible these days with modern platforms. All the really quiet silent premium stuff is definitely more expensive than the usual mainstream enthusiast performance DC-DC 80 plus Bronze kind of unit, so something close to the premium products' level in noise at a lower price is a niche not often hit in NA and some other markets.

3. High-performance, high-quality, lower-wattage power supply (or more than one of them is fine). I mean, V Series doesn't go lower than 700W. Can we talk about the 300W-400W range? 500W if you really have to? Yeah, I know, these would never sell, right...?
mikeaj is offline  
post #30 of 228 (permalink) Old 07-16-2013, 07:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 302
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
I think it would be cool to put a PSU in a cast/extruded body so that the hole thing acts like a heat sink, kind of like a WD Raptor.

nukem is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off