Multiple Power supply Guide - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Multiple Power supply Guide

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 02:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwEaK_MoNkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 299
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
excellent thread mate helps heaps

reps on its way

ALL YOUR BASE ARE BELONG TO US
TwEaK_MoNkeY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SpookedJunglist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 8,743
Rep: 560 (Unique: 329)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tw33k2514
heres a good question does it work the same for 24 pin PSU's?
havent messed with the 24 pin PSU yet, so when i get one i guess i will have to figure that one out... but you may be able to find a diagram, and just find the power on and the ground, and the rest is the same..

Not positive but i think that the 24pin molex is identicle in molex shape it just has 4 more pins so if you follow the pin order you should be able to match them up..
20 pim molex has two different sockets in the actual connector, some are perfect squares and some are D shaped squares, that way you cant plug it in backwards...But im guessing not too many people have a 24pin PSU laying around
SpookedJunglist is offline  
post #13 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SpookedJunglist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 8,743
Rep: 560 (Unique: 329)
Updating with 24pin molex adapter after i make the diagram
SpookedJunglist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 02:12 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 3,984
Rep: 278 (Unique: 169)
Nice! In depth! Pics to boot!

Blah
DigitalPhreak is offline  
post #15 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SpookedJunglist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 8,743
Rep: 560 (Unique: 329)
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalphreak
Nice! In depth! Pics to boot!
Tanks you very much, any suggestions??
I am working on drawing up a 24pin BTX pinout diagram. but other than that did i miss anything?? SPeeling even
SpookedJunglist is offline  
post #16 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 02:21 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 3,984
Rep: 278 (Unique: 169)
Provide a few ideas on where or how to mount your second PSU. Other than that its very comprehensive. I might give it a try since I have an extra HDD and DVD-ROM Id like to run.

Blah
DigitalPhreak is offline  
post #17 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
SpookedJunglist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 8,743
Rep: 560 (Unique: 329)
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalphreak
Provide a few ideas on where or how to mount your second PSU. Other than that its very comprehensive. I might give it a try since I have an extra HDD and DVD-ROM Id like to run.
Let me know if you hit any hickups during your install..
I measured the PSU its almost exactly the size of two 5.25 drive bays, if you could let me know if it fits im at work right now, that would be awesome, but ventalation could be an issue. but i could prolly Draw up some mounting ideas, maybe even side exhuasting, but if you have a big case, then you could just place it on the bottome next to your RES and Pump..The drive bays sounds like an option. my new old case looks like i could fit 3 PSUs in just the space at the top of the case, along with BIX3 and a pump

But thats in the next guide...
SpookedJunglist is offline  
post #18 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 02:33 PM
Retired Staff
 
Evil XP2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,555
Rep: 475 (Unique: 269)
Nicely done spooked.




Evil XP2400 is offline  
post #19 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 04:04 PM
Retired Staff
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Rep: 356 (Unique: 194)
Just a question. I have a second PSU (no-name) with pretty good specs running my HDD, CD, Fans, and lights. Should I leave my HDD on there? or put it on the main one

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
post #20 of 185 (permalink) Old 02-25-2005, 04:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,730
Rep: 492 (Unique: 267)
Id put it on the main one

Face it - Rep and Post Count are overrated, quite close to useless thumb.gif
thenut is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off