Why you might not want to buy a Corsair RM PSU - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Why you might not want to buy a Corsair RM PSU

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 12:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,243
Rep: 577 (Unique: 411)
Let's set aside companies and which products are which and look the problems experienced. They're not all the same.


Problem 1: faulty fan control algorithm causes power supply to shut down by reaching OTP limit when operated constantly around 50% load (but not high enough for the fan to kick in) with high enough ambient intake temperatures and the right conditions. Doesn't seem to affect most users based on usage patterns and not seen by most reviewers even stress testing 40% load in hotbox.
Fallout: hardware revision so new units shipped have the problem fixed. Replacements for old users available and with free shipping.

Problem 2: not enough insulation on a thermal pad causes some samples to shut down or not be able to power on. Wasn't seen by reviewers.
Fallout: hardware revision so new units shipped have the problem fixed. Replacements for old users available and with free shipping.

Problem 3: missing wiring causes some +5V pins on ATX connector to be unused. This results in effectively less power being able to be supported for the motherboard on a +5V-based system. Doesn't affect people using systems newer than Pentium 3 or so.
Fallout: ?? I don't know if there's a hardware revision or not, but there's no recall I think.


I don't think problem 3 is worth the hassle of changing out for most users, since it's not an issue for almost everybody. Got that Pentium 3 overclocked? Problem 2 seems the most serious as that affects the operation of potentially every unit no matter how you use it, so it should get the most aggressive response. I'm not sure if the shipping details / RMA / returns process was a little different on 1 and 2.
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
1 was the old Corsair RM750/850 issue, and 3 was on the other RMs (maybe not 1000W? I'm not sure). 2 was EVGA 1000W/1300W Leadex-based power supplies.
mikeaj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 02:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 560
Rep: 24 (Unique: 21)
The problem with the missing +5v connectors is far more serious than the other 2 actually.

Not all motherboards are made the same way. A lot of components work using very low voltages, below 2 volts, with mosfets on the board doing the conversion by using the major lines. One manufacturer might be using the 12v line to provide low voltages, some other might be using the 5v line while some other the 3.3v line.

Now, the thing is. It's certain that some boards use the +5v line to feed some fets with power. When some of the 5v connections are missing then the board either shuts off, (that's bad) or overloads the other 5v connections (that's even worse, this means that your system will be set on fire).

The end result is some boards frying themselves, while most others are not. All because of the PSU being off-specs. But the end user will not know that the PSU is responsible (unless he knows that this specific PSU line has this specific issue) and will en up blaming the motherboard manufacturer.
The worst part is, that because of Corsair's reputation, it'll be impossible to convince the end user that the PSU is to blame.

Yeah, it's that bad. Way to go Corsair. thumb.gif
PsyM4n is offline  
post #23 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 02:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,243
Rep: 577 (Unique: 411)
Some FETs maybe but not CPU VRM FETs, unless you know of some examples? You shouldn't be getting enough draw to be a concern from the other components on the board outside of CPU power delivery.
mikeaj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 02:40 PM
r/madlads
 
DaveLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8,692
Rep: 273 (Unique: 219)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeaj View Post

Some FETs maybe but not CPU VRM FETs, unless you know of some examples? You shouldn't be getting enough draw to be a concern from the other components on the board outside of CPU power delivery.
Memory VRM and alot of 5V stuff on a mobo. If you're ignorant to that then I guess you read up
DaveLT is offline  
post #25 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 02:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 560
Rep: 24 (Unique: 21)
If the motherboard maker decided to use the 5v line to power the ram, pci-e, pch/southbridge and the rest "secondary" fets you're pretty much screwed actually.
PsyM4n is offline  
post #26 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 02:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,076
Rep: 2740 (Unique: 1626)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyM4n View Post

If the motherboard maker decided to use the 5v line to power the ram, pci-e, pch/southbridge and the rest "secondary" fets you're pretty much screwed actually.

Any boards out there right now that does?

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #27 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 03:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 560
Rep: 24 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilka View Post

Any boards out there right now that does?
Sure. It all depends on the fets used and the voltage decided by the maker. Good luck going through the specs of every fet out there and using your multimeter to measure the voltage going to each fet... for the few thousand boards that came out these last 5-10 years or so. All that to make sure that the psu won't fry your board.


A lot of boards do use only the 12v line (unless on standby where only the 5vsb line is used) but the idea to get rid of the additional lines hasn't taken off yet, so many still use the minor ones.

Now, if you want a specific answer, get some hundred boards and some multimeters so you can check yourself. Good luck going through all those boards. tongue.gif
PsyM4n is offline  
post #28 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 05:04 PM
r/madlads
 
DaveLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8,692
Rep: 273 (Unique: 219)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyM4n View Post

Sure. It all depends on the fets used and the voltage decided by the maker. Good luck going through the specs of every fet out there and using your multimeter to measure the voltage going to each fet... for the few thousand boards that came out these last 5-10 years or so. All that to make sure that the psu won't fry your board.


A lot of boards do use only the 12v line (unless on standby where only the 5vsb line is used) but the idea to get rid of the additional lines hasn't taken off yet, so many still use the minor ones.

Now, if you want a specific answer, get some hundred boards and some multimeters so you can check yourself. Good luck going through all those boards. tongue.gif
Don't forget USB, it's still going through the 5V line tongue.gif
Some people pull massive current through the USB (*cough* people like me)
DaveLT is offline  
post #29 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 05:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3,243
Rep: 577 (Unique: 411)
Yeah, sure, but are three +5V wires (and the grounds of course) not going to be able to handle those parts? Going from five wires to three isn't a problem unless you're actually drawing more power than that off those lines.

Okay, if the board only takes the 20-pin ATX, you're down to two from four.

I mean, it's definitely not a good look for CWT or Corsair, but is it seriously going to be problematic in more than a few incidents?
mikeaj is offline  
post #30 of 653 (permalink) Old 01-15-2014, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,076
Rep: 2740 (Unique: 1626)
*

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off