Issues installing new corsair rm650 PSU - click sound, no power - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Issues installing new corsair rm650 PSU - click sound, no power

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Glitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hello everyone. I am having some trouble with a brand new PSU. It is a corsair RM650. I've hooked everything up and double checked all of the connections several times ( it was surprisingly difficult to get some of the plugs to fully plug in ) and I am not sure what might be wrong. When I turn the PSU on and then attempt to boot up my PC, the PSU makes a click sound right after hitting the PC power button, but then nothing else happens. It's seems like there is no power reaching the motherboard. Any advice on how to trouble shoot this problem? Could the PSU or possibly the cord that came with it be faulty?
Glitter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 09:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TekWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 93 (Unique: 80)
Quick! Hide before shilka gets here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
Delete the system32 folder. Its holding you back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 go_quote.gif

My mother and I have expressed interest in buying out AMD.
TekWarfare is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 09:35 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitter View Post

Hello everyone. I am having some trouble with a brand new PSU. It is a corsair RM650. I've hooked everything up and double checked all of the connections several times ( it was surprisingly difficult to get some of the plugs to fully plug in ) and I am not sure what might be wrong. When I turn the PSU on and then attempt to boot up my PC, the PSU makes a click sound right after hitting the PC power button, but then nothing else happens. It's seems like there is no power reaching the motherboard. Any advice on how to trouble shoot this problem? Could the PSU or possibly the cord that came with it be faulty?

Try another PSU if your system works the RM is broken and you should return it.
The RM is not very good anyway so be happy its broken from the start.
https://www.overclock.net/t/1455892/why-you-might-not-want-to-buy-a-corsair-rm-psu
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekWarfare View Post

Quick! Hide before shilka gets here.

???

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 10:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TekWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 93 (Unique: 80)
I've seen you often post about how the RM series is bad, it was a joke. smile.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
Delete the system32 folder. Its holding you back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 go_quote.gif

My mother and I have expressed interest in buying out AMD.
TekWarfare is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 10:04 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TekWarfare View Post

I've seen you often post about how the RM series are bad, it was a joke. smile.gif

They are not that bad they are just not all that good either, and the price is a total ripoff.

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Glitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilka View Post

Try another PSU if your system works the RM is broken and you should return it.
The RM is not very good anyway so be happy its broken from the start.
https://www.overclock.net/t/1455892/why-you-might-not-want-to-buy-a-corsair-rm-psu
???

Well, I reinstalled the old PSU and everything powered up just fine. This one isn't quite dead yet, but the fan is going and it makes an annoying sound which is why I aimed to replace it. Guess it will have to hold out a few more days while I replace the replacement! Thanks for advice.
Glitter is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 10:50 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitter View Post

Well, I reinstalled the old PSU and everything powered up just fine. This one isn't quite dead yet, but the fan is going and it makes an annoying sound which is why I aimed to replace it. Guess it will have to hold out a few more days while I replace the replacement! Thanks for advice.

You should replace it with something better then an RM, there are many options that are better a few might even be cheaper.

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Glitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilka View Post

You should replace it with something better then an RM, there are many options that are better a few might even be cheaper.

Well, right now I am looking at a Cooler Master V650S, instead of the Corsair as a potential replacement. Would you say this would be a better choice? You seem like you know a lot more about this than I do. biggrin.gif
Glitter is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 11:28 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glitter View Post

Well, right now I am looking at a Cooler Master V650S, instead of the Corsair as a potential replacement. Would you say this would be a better choice? You seem like you know a lot more about this than I do. biggrin.gif

Yes its a much better PSU but it only has 2x PCI-E cables so if you want to have 2x video cards you would need to use molex to PCI-E adaptors to get power to the second video card.
If you are never going to have more then one video card you dont even need 650 watts 450 to 550 watts is more then enough.

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-15-2015, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Glitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by shilka View Post

Yes its a much better PSU but it only has 2x PCI-E cables so if you want to have 2x video cards you would need to use molex to PCI-E adaptors to get power to the second video card.
If you are never going to have more then one video card you dont even need 650 watts 450 to 550 watts is more then enough.

Sounds like this will work out fine for me, then. I have no intention of having 2x video cards any time soon, but the extra power is there if I wind up needing it at some point. Thanks a bunch for your assistance!
Glitter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off