Question about PSU Cable Swapping - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Question about PSU Cable Swapping

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HeavyUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 564
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Hey Guys,

I'm upgrading from an EVGA 850watt G2 to an EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS 80+ PLATINUM. I wanted to know if I could reuse the cables from the G2 with the SuperNova without running into any issues or is it better I just replace all the cables?
HeavyUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 06:49 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,182
Rep: 2748 (Unique: 1629)
No you cant reuse the cables as the G2 is Super Flower made and the PS is Seasonic made.

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-13-2015, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HeavyUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 564
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Crappola, thanks for the response.
HeavyUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 06:57 PM
Awaiting the REP Rebuild
 
gftgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 458
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyUser View Post

Hey Guys,

I'm upgrading from an EVGA 850watt G2 to an EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS 80+ PLATINUM. I wanted to know if I could reuse the cables from the G2 with the SuperNova without running into any issues or is it better I just replace all the cables?

Actually, I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to use the cables from the G2. After checking the PSUs, they both use the same motherboard connectors[SEE EDIT], 6+2-pin PCI connectors, and SATA connectors[SEE DOUBLE EDIT]. Considering they both operate on a single 12V rail, and that they will both be used in the same manner, the cables you already have installed should work just fine. PSU manufacturer has nothing to do with it.

If you don't mind doing me a favor, though. I would really appreciate it if you took a tape measure to the 1000 PS and gave me a physical measurement of its length. It would be a huge help.

EDIT:
Forget what I said. The motherboard pinout is almost certainly different, so you'll need to change those cables. The SATA connectors are the same, however, along with the PCIe connectors (although the labeling is different). For the PCIe labeling, CPU1 on the G2 is equivalent to VGA1 on the PS. VGA1 on the G2 is the equivalent to CPU2 on the PS. There is no G2 equivalent for CPU2 or VGA 6 on the PS, and there is one less SATA connector. Sorry for the mixup.

DOUBLE EDIT:
You're probably fine, but I could've been wrong about the PCIe and SATA cables. The 1000 PS uses the standard pinout for those, like most products, but it just came to my attention that apparently some products don't, and I couldn't confirm whether the 1000 G2 does or not, sorry. If you're feeling dangerous, go for it, but your safest bet is to go with shilka and replace them all.
gftgy is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HeavyUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 564
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Thanks for the info, I don't have a measuring tape....lol
HeavyUser is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2015, 09:11 PM
Awaiting the REP Rebuild
 
gftgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 458
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
So, I hope you haven't gone and started plugging things in in the last fifteen minutes. You're probably fine, but I could've been wrong about the PCIe and SATA cables. The 1000 PS uses the standard pinout for those, like most products, but it just came to my attention that apparently some products don't, and I couldn't confirm whether the 1000 G2 does or not, sorry. If you're feeling dangerous, go for it, but your safest bet is to go with shilka and replace them all.

Today I got to learn about pinouts!

Also, no tape measure? How about a ruler?
gftgy is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
HeavyUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 564
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
I haven't, I already removed everything and installed the new psu with new cables : ). I will search around for a ruler when I get home, I'll pm you later on.
HeavyUser is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 11:48 AM
Awaiting the REP Rebuild
 
gftgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 458
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
Whew. I saw you had still logged on after I updated that so I figured you were okay, but I was a little worried!

Thanks for that. It's a big help!
gftgy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off