Corsair SF600 fan replacement with 92MM Noctua - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Corsair SF600 fan replacement with 92MM Noctua

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Legonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 2,455
Rep: 250 (Unique: 235)
Hey guys, just finished this mod to lower the noise of my power supply. To be clear: the fan on the SF600 runs on a wattage-fan voltage curve, so decreasing temperature in the case does not help the fan speed. I believe that my lower-rpm noctua has enough airflow because my case has proper airflow and my ambient temp is usually low (external water cooling).

Here's the exact fan I used:
Noctua NF-A9x14

Pics:



Using the extension cable provided in the Noctua box and the wire from the old fan, I soldered this adapter that allowed me to simply plug in the new fan. After installation and tucking the cable away, the new fan works great. It starts with a higher wattage now, but overall the PSU is much quieter. A success!


Legonut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-19-2016, 06:53 PM
VSG
Call me VSG
 
VSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 12,840
Rep: 795 (Unique: 445)
The fan in the SF600 is most definitely dependent on PSU temperature, and in fact that is the only thing it depends on. There is a thermistor on the secondary heatsink that helps control the fan speed, and ambient temps as well as power draw (which in turn heats up the PSU) both affect it.

You should still be good though.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><b>Reviews</b><span>: </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1638379/ocn-labs-acer-xr382cqk-bmijqphuzx-38-freesync-monitor/0_50">Acer XR382CQK Monitor</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1632881/ocn-labs-netgear-nighthawk-s8000-gaming-streaming-switch/0_50">Neatgear Nighthawk S8000 Switch</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1509787/my-review-of-the-ek-supremacy-evo">EK Supremacy Evo</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1510189/my-review-of-the-corsair-graphite-380t/0_50">Corsair Graphite 380T</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1516369/my-review-of-the-swiftech-mcp50x-pump/0_50">Swiftech MCP50X</a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1520512/the-quad-rad-roundup/0_50">Quad Rad Roundup</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1526779/user-review-of-the-swiftech-h220-x/0_50">Swiftech H220-X</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1530984/user-review-of-the-phanteks-ph-tc14pe/0_50">Phanteks PH-TC14PE<br></a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1551158/sponsored-review-of-the-ek-fc-asus-x99-rve-monoblock/0_50">EK Asus x99 R5E Monoblock</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/tesoro-gram-spectrum/reviews/7424">Tesoro Gram Spectrum Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/cherry-mx-6-0-keyboard/reviews/7436">Cherry MX 6.0 Keyboard</a><span> |</span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1604461/user-review-of-the-gigabyte-x99-phoenix-sli-motherboard/0_50">Gigabyte x99-Phoenix SLI motherboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1613371/sponsored-corsair-k70-rgb-rapidfire-keyboard-review/0_50">Corsair K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1531984/user-review-of-the-hwlabs-black-ice-sr2/0_50">Black Ice SR2 360</a><br></div></div></div>
VSG is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 04:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Techbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 293
Rep: 17 (Unique: 10)
This post blows my mind. I have been debating between the SF450 and SF600. I wanted the SF600 for the extra power potential but I was leaning towards the SF450 because it is much quieter based on reviews. I then thought about swapping the fan. I knew it was of the slimmer type so being a Noctua fan boy I immediately looked to the NF-A9x14.

A couple Google searches later, here I am!

How has it been working out for you? I assume it is much quieter? Thanks!

Techbyte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 04:50 PM
VSG
Call me VSG
 
VSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 12,840
Rep: 795 (Unique: 445)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techbyte View Post

This post blows my mind. I have been debating between the SF450 and SF600. I wanted the SF600 for the extra power potential but I was leaning towards the SF450 because it is much quieter based on reviews. I then thought about swapping the fan. I knew it was of the slimmer type so being a Noctua fan boy I immediately looked to the NF-A9x14.

A couple Google searches later, here I am!

How has it been working out for you? I assume it is much quieter? Thanks!

SF600 is quieter at the same wattage drawn compared to the SF450.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><b>Reviews</b><span>: </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1638379/ocn-labs-acer-xr382cqk-bmijqphuzx-38-freesync-monitor/0_50">Acer XR382CQK Monitor</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1632881/ocn-labs-netgear-nighthawk-s8000-gaming-streaming-switch/0_50">Neatgear Nighthawk S8000 Switch</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1509787/my-review-of-the-ek-supremacy-evo">EK Supremacy Evo</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1510189/my-review-of-the-corsair-graphite-380t/0_50">Corsair Graphite 380T</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1516369/my-review-of-the-swiftech-mcp50x-pump/0_50">Swiftech MCP50X</a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1520512/the-quad-rad-roundup/0_50">Quad Rad Roundup</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1526779/user-review-of-the-swiftech-h220-x/0_50">Swiftech H220-X</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1530984/user-review-of-the-phanteks-ph-tc14pe/0_50">Phanteks PH-TC14PE<br></a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1551158/sponsored-review-of-the-ek-fc-asus-x99-rve-monoblock/0_50">EK Asus x99 R5E Monoblock</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/tesoro-gram-spectrum/reviews/7424">Tesoro Gram Spectrum Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/cherry-mx-6-0-keyboard/reviews/7436">Cherry MX 6.0 Keyboard</a><span> |</span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1604461/user-review-of-the-gigabyte-x99-phoenix-sli-motherboard/0_50">Gigabyte x99-Phoenix SLI motherboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1613371/sponsored-corsair-k70-rgb-rapidfire-keyboard-review/0_50">Corsair K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1531984/user-review-of-the-hwlabs-black-ice-sr2/0_50">Black Ice SR2 360</a><br></div></div></div>
VSG is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 06:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Techbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 293
Rep: 17 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geggeg View Post

SF600 is quieter at the same wattage drawn compared to the SF450.

Well, would you mind providing me a source for this?

SF450



SF600

Techbyte is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 08:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Techbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 293
Rep: 17 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geggeg View Post

SF600 is quieter at the same wattage drawn compared to the SF450.

Sorry, quoting you again.

I get why you said this now. Judging by Corsairs website, your statement is 100% true!

However, Iv'e read a few reviews and watched a couple YouTube videos where they specifically say that the SF450 is quieter than the SF600. Talks of the fan curve on the SF600 being too aggressive. I'm starting to wonder if maybe the fan profiles have been tweaked since the review / launch units.

My build is an iTX with a Skylake 65w CPU and a RX 480. Maximum power consumption at full load is under 300w. If the Corsair website is correct, the SF600 will only generate 15db with my system at full load and the SF450 will generate 20db.

I don't know what to think now. Reviewers are stating the opposite of what Corsair is saying.

EDIT: I know the SF450 is plenty for my build, however I don't want to feel restricted upgrading my CPU/GPU down the road.

Techbyte is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-24-2016, 08:34 PM
VSG
Call me VSG
 
VSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 12,840
Rep: 795 (Unique: 445)
Aris got a bad unit, I am guessing. Toms' sent it back to Corsair for checking last I heard and JonnyGuru mentioned that the Toms Hardware unit is not indicative of how it is.

These are my results, and they mostly match Corsair's graphs for the SF600:

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><b>Reviews</b><span>: </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1638379/ocn-labs-acer-xr382cqk-bmijqphuzx-38-freesync-monitor/0_50">Acer XR382CQK Monitor</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1632881/ocn-labs-netgear-nighthawk-s8000-gaming-streaming-switch/0_50">Neatgear Nighthawk S8000 Switch</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1509787/my-review-of-the-ek-supremacy-evo">EK Supremacy Evo</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1510189/my-review-of-the-corsair-graphite-380t/0_50">Corsair Graphite 380T</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1516369/my-review-of-the-swiftech-mcp50x-pump/0_50">Swiftech MCP50X</a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1520512/the-quad-rad-roundup/0_50">Quad Rad Roundup</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1526779/user-review-of-the-swiftech-h220-x/0_50">Swiftech H220-X</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1530984/user-review-of-the-phanteks-ph-tc14pe/0_50">Phanteks PH-TC14PE<br></a><span> </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1551158/sponsored-review-of-the-ek-fc-asus-x99-rve-monoblock/0_50">EK Asus x99 R5E Monoblock</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/tesoro-gram-spectrum/reviews/7424">Tesoro Gram Spectrum Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/products/cherry-mx-6-0-keyboard/reviews/7436">Cherry MX 6.0 Keyboard</a><span> |</span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1604461/user-review-of-the-gigabyte-x99-phoenix-sli-motherboard/0_50">Gigabyte x99-Phoenix SLI motherboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1613371/sponsored-corsair-k70-rgb-rapidfire-keyboard-review/0_50">Corsair K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE Keyboard</a><span> | </span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1531984/user-review-of-the-hwlabs-black-ice-sr2/0_50">Black Ice SR2 360</a><br></div></div></div>
VSG is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-25-2016, 07:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Techbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 293
Rep: 17 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legonut View Post

It starts with a higher wattage now

What do you mean by this?

Techbyte is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-25-2016, 10:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Techbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 293
Rep: 17 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geggeg View Post

Aris got a bad unit, I am guessing. Toms' sent it back to Corsair for checking last I heard and JonnyGuru mentioned that the Toms Hardware unit is not indicative of how it is.

PM'd you

Techbyte is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-26-2016, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Legonut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 2,455
Rep: 250 (Unique: 235)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Techbyte View Post

What do you mean by this?
I believe that my noctua fan has a higher starting voltage, and the fan doesn't spin at medium loads like the original did.


Legonut is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off