EVGA 650 P2 - Hard shutdown at load, pretty sure it's the PSU - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

EVGA 650 P2 - Hard shutdown at load, pretty sure it's the PSU

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,153
Rep: 112 (Unique: 98)
This is a build from June.

i7-6700K
Gigabyte G1 GTX 1080
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 Motherboard
EVGA Supernova 650W P2 PSU (80+ Platinum)

The build was rock solid, and I've had many extended gaming sessions on it. Probably just in the last week, I started getting hard shutdowns. I've been playing Titanfall 2 lately, and I'll go a few games before it shuts completely down, waits a few seconds, then restarts by itself. First thing I did was replace the power strip, though I didn't think that was a problem since the monitors and speakers do not shut off, and it made no difference. Then I went through and reseated all the atx cables (which I also was not hopeful of since I'd expect it to consistently die), no dice.

Tonight I did a few runs of Prime 95 + Furmark to draw lots of power and I've consistently been able to reproduce the shutdowns. The last one was at about 8 minutes of running after the reboot.

Normally I run in the "Eco" mode so the fan doesn't come on most of the time. For the sake of testing I tried turning it off so it always has the fan running; in the one test I did, it hit about 25 minutes of running successfully, before I switched it back off and let it go for a bit until it exhibited the shutdown. I'm about to do another run with the fan running and let it sit much longer, but I wanted to drop this in here first.

Might I be missing something? Is there anything else I can try before calling it the PSU? Otherwise I'll be submitting an RMA frown.gif

EDIT: After the first reply I realized I left out two important bits of information: CPU and GPU temps. GPU holds fine at around 65C and the CPU maxes out at 80C. This is with aggressive fan profiles so the CPU is sitting at 100% fan speed and it's seemingly stable. I could probably leave Prime95 out since the CPU load ingame is relatively light, i.e. I may try reproducing with just furmark.

EDIT2: Last update in post #14. Turns out it was the PSU.



EfemaN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 07:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Iwamotto Tetsuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,838
Rep: 76 (Unique: 52)
Check your temperatures, for cpu and gpu and motherboard

Overcloking is about the passion, not about how much you clock
Overclocking is not about the pefromance gains, it is about the passion
Overclocking is about the Fun, Enjoyment and Passion

Pushing Voltages And Lower Tempertures Makes You The Overclocking Champion
Iwamotto Tetsuz is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,153
Rep: 112 (Unique: 98)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwamotto Tetsuz View Post

Check your temperatures, for cpu and gpu and motherboard

Right, forgot to post that. Updated.

I haven't paid attention to motherboard temps. I'm looking at HWMonitor; there are five entries under the motherboard section: TZ00, TZ01, TMPIN0, TMPIN1, TMPIN2. I don't know which identifies what, but I'll take a look in my next run.



EfemaN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 07:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,000
Rep: 255 (Unique: 203)
Have you done a BIOS update recently, or reset your CMOS?

I had random shutdowns at load on a Gigabyte board a while ago; it was the CPU overcurrent protection on the board being a little too overzealous (this was on an overclocking motherboard - Z97X-OC Force) and when I turned that up a bit, all my 'hard shutdowns at load' went away. It was so good at doing it, linux didn't even have time to log an issue.


Paradigm Shifter is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,153
Rep: 112 (Unique: 98)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradigm Shifter View Post

Have you done a BIOS update recently, or reset your CMOS?

I had random shutdowns at load on a Gigabyte board a while ago; it was the CPU overcurrent protection on the board being a little too overzealous (this was on an overclocking motherboard - Z97X-OC Force) and when I turned that up a bit, all my 'hard shutdowns at load' went away. It was so good at doing it, linux didn't even have time to log an issue.

I haven't touched anything in BIOS for months. I suppose that's possible though; maybe if I can reproduce it without Prime95, it'll rule that out. It would be nice if there was some logs I could look at that would tell me if the motherboard took any action.



EfemaN is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 07:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,000
Rep: 255 (Unique: 203)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EfemaN View Post

I haven't touched anything in BIOS for months. I suppose that's possible though; maybe if I can reproduce it without Prime95, it'll rule that out. It would be nice if there was some logs I could look at that would tell me if the motherboard took any action.
Yes, the hard shutdown was a headscratcher for me for some time, precisely because it didn't always do it. Full load with mprime (Prime95 for Linux) and it was OK. Run regression tests on a QM/MM program? Boom, instant hard shutdown. Was very frustrating, as at first I thought, "PSU"... replaced it, still did it. But a dying PSU results in all sorts of weird behaviour sometimes.


Paradigm Shifter is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,153
Rep: 112 (Unique: 98)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EfemaN View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwamotto Tetsuz View Post

Check your temperatures, for cpu and gpu and motherboard

Right, forgot to post that. Updated.

I haven't paid attention to motherboard temps. I'm looking at HWMonitor; there are five entries under the motherboard section: TZ00, TZ01, TMPIN0, TMPIN1, TMPIN2. I don't know which identifies what, but I'll take a look in my next run.

According to Gigabyte's EasyTune, System is at 36C and PCH at 44C at full stress. This seems to coincide with TMPIN0 and TMPIN1 respectively. TMPIN2 stays close to the core temps so I imagine that's a reading close to the package. The first two are probably ambient sensors? I wish EasyTune listed all the diodes, seems silly.

Regardless I don't think it's a system temperature issue here.

Right now I'm doing a full stress with the PSU off eco mode, about 20 minutes in. This is suggesting an instability in the PSU when it's hot but not hot enough to trigger the fan start. Will keep resting.

Please do send suggestions my way.

EDIT: Better. PSU sensor would be wonderful. Maybe I should have gotten a Corsair Link-compatible tongue.gif



EfemaN is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,153
Rep: 112 (Unique: 98)
Latest runs:

- PSU Eco mode on. Prime95 + Furmark. ~40 minutes with no problems. I stopped this run.
- PSU Eco mode off. Prime95 + Furmark. Hard reboot at ~10 minutes.
- PSU Eco mode off. Furmark only. Hard reboot at ~16 minutes.

Furmark still does run a bit through the CPU, but I'm leaning towards an unstable PSU.

Thoughts?



EfemaN is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Eh, Wha?
 
Zero4549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,917
Rep: 724 (Unique: 534)
That looks real toasty. If accurate, that is almost certainly the issue. It is however possible that those temps are all wrong. I had an AMD biostar board that would report all temps like 30 degrees off from what they actually were. totally useless.

Can you verify those temps with an IR thermometer or something? Or maybe just put a box fan in the open side of your case and see if it fixes the problem?

If NOT thermal shutdown, check the PSU with a multimeter. If you don't have one, they are inexpensive and very useful (for a lot more than just computers even) devices so it is worth grabbing one. It won't test EVERYTHING about your PSU, but it will give you a general idea if it is in good health or not.

Systems: Fukurou | Prodigy | Tempest | ArcaneServers: Minecraft SMP | Logs: Build Log - Arcane | Video Logs: Project Arcane
Quote:Originally Posted by Zen00 https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gifZero, you are a master story teller, I am sleep now. http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
Stygian
(14 items)
Arcane
(33 items)
Sanctum
(9 items)
CPU
6700
RAM
Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p
Hard Drive
WD Gold
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold
Case
NZXT H440 Razer Edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Nixeus NX-EDG27v2
Monitor
Dell S2316H
Keyboard
X-Armor U9BL
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mousepad
Cougar Control
Audio
Creative X7 LE
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-A900X
CPU
Core i7 980x
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080TI DUKE
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning
RAM
Kingston HyperX T1
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black FASS
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Hard Drive
WD FALS
Optical Drive
Sony DVD Burner w/ Lightscribe
Optical Drive
LG Bluray + HDDVD
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 P2
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 360
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 240
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (64)
Monitor
X-Star DP2710
Monitor
ASUS VK266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Keyboard
X-Armor U9BL (Mech)
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Cougar Control
Audio
ATH-A900X
Audio
Maudio AV-40
Audio
Polk PSW-10
Audio
Zalman Mic-1 (Clip-on Mic)
Audio
Sound Blaster X7 LE
Other
Logitech G13
Other
Wacom Intuos 3
Other
Modded PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, and Logitech PC Controllers
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
Other
Rocketfish 720p Webcam
Other
Scythe "3-Foot Switch"
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
GPU
RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Consatellation
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1050
Case
Raijintek Aeneas White Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Zero4549 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-06-2016, 09:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Iwamotto Tetsuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,838
Rep: 76 (Unique: 52)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EfemaN View Post

According to Gigabyte's EasyTune, System is at 36C and PCH at 44C at full stress. This seems to coincide with TMPIN0 and TMPIN1 respectively. TMPIN2 stays close to the core temps so I imagine that's a reading close to the package. The first two are probably ambient sensors? I wish EasyTune listed all the diodes, seems silly.

Regardless I don't think it's a system temperature issue here.

Right now I'm doing a full stress with the PSU off eco mode, about 20 minutes in. This is suggesting an instability in the PSU when it's hot but not hot enough to trigger the fan start. Will keep resting.

Please do send suggestions my way.

EDIT: Better. PSU sensor would be wonderful. Maybe I should have gotten a Corsair Link-compatible tongue.gif

If these temps are at idle, then something is wrong. Its overheating. If thats the case, you can try replacing heat sink paste on your cpu which may help.

Maybe you should try reseting your bios, when your in bios click on the defualt settings button.

Overcloking is about the passion, not about how much you clock
Overclocking is not about the pefromance gains, it is about the passion
Overclocking is about the Fun, Enjoyment and Passion

Pushing Voltages And Lower Tempertures Makes You The Overclocking Champion
Iwamotto Tetsuz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off