Wet SATA power cables - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Wet SATA power cables

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
486DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: South-West England
Posts: 75
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Wet SATA power cables

So, I dug out my Corsair modular PSU a few days ago - it's been sitting in my spare room for a few months and I needed a good PSU for a build I'm working on.

I couldn't find the SATA power connectors anywhere. Then I remembered I'd put a load of old PC stuff in the shed a while back, most of it is going to be recycled but those cables had no business being out there so I went to retrieve them.

Then I remembered the crappy, cheap pre-fab shed had leaked a while back and the floor had severely flooded during a recent storm we've had here.

Then I found the SATA connectors, literally sitting in a puddle. They've probably been submerged for several weeks.

The PSU itself is unaffected and has been in the house the whole time.

What do you guys think? Corrosion?

Dangerous to use? Not dangerous if dried out for a few days?

I'd buy some new ones, but they're type-3 and not that easy to come by in my country without some expense.

Thanks.

486DX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-10-2018, 05:51 PM
Computers <3
 
Rakanoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 134
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Let's wait for people who have better knowledge but I'd definitely avoid putting it into my system.

Rakanoth is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 12:16 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,130
If they have been submerged in water i would not use them
CableMod also sells type 3 cables and those might or might not be cheaper than the Corsair ones

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2018, 04:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
larymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,087
Rep: 102 (Unique: 84)
I'd wash them off with alcohol (squirt into the connectors) and let them dry for a few hours in a warm area. The connectors themselves won't corrode, but there may be corrosion where the wires were crimped to them, but it's possible the outside shells of the connectors sealed out the water, especially if the shells were soft vinyl instead of hard plastic.
larymoencurly is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2018, 05:48 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 403
Yeah...I had waterd that Apevia about the whole thing...dumped the Rez everywhere and no lid on it. It's Probably alright. just clean it let it dry. Just blows got two or 3 units...closer to old atx minimums. The Corsair was freezing on the 7700k/evga. I don't know haven't tried again..guess it don't bother Ryzen as much. That Coolermaster is of much better quality though and it doesn't bog much. It all might run awhile longer...older units, it's how it goes.
Jspinks020 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2018, 06:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TriWheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 397
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jspinks020 View Post
Yeah...I had waterd that Apevia about the whole thing...dumped the Rez everywhere and no lid on it. It's Probably alright. just clean it let it dry. Just blows got two or 3 units...closer to old atx minimums. The Corsair was freezing on the 7700k/evga. I don't know haven't tried again..guess it don't bother Ryzen as much. That Coolermaster is of much better quality though and it doesn't bog much. It all might run awhile longer...older units, it's how it goes.
This is going to confuse people for decades.

Be honest, behind the facade of those things, the real priority is just screwing everyone over in the name of obscene profit & delaying any kind of backlash as long as possible. That's the real world.
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T
Motherboard
Gigabyte MA790FXT-UD5P
GPU
XFX R9 290+AC Kryographics+Aktiv XCS
RAM
G.Skill Flare 16000 7-9-7
Hard Drive
Gifted Samsung 850 Evo
Optical Drive
Pioneer 18X DVD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic S12+ 850W
Case
Lian Li A77B
Operating System
Server 2012 R2
Monitor
Yamakasi Catleap 2B
Mouse
Razer Lachesis
Audio
Auzen Prelude
▲ hide details ▲
TriWheel is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-16-2018, 06:15 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 403
Quote: Originally Posted by TriWheel View Post
This is going to confuse people for decades.
Well I was moving it around and didn't have the Lid on it and fiiling it...and Dumped it like everywhere. And same had a Block Crack and again the whole Loop Proceeds to dump out on the Board on the PSU and Floor etc lol. But yeah Most of everything is alright a board didn't survive from it though, it won't post now or nothing lol.
Jspinks020 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off