power supply tester (FCPU brand) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

power supply tester (FCPU brand)

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DaaQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Central Kentucky
Posts: 1,077
Rep: 125 (Unique: 92)
power supply tester (FCPU brand)

Hi all, I have the frozen cpu ps tester.

I have custom sleeved my cables, my 24 pin cable I have all lights green EXCEPT the -5v led.
This is a Seasonic 1k Platinum psu.

Also does the 24 pin need to be plugged into the psu (10+18) for the EPS 8 pin to read?

In a hotel for work reasons right now and hoping to get some of my wiring done in the process.

TIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsumi go_quote.gif

You're just nitpicking words now. I was talking about in terms of performance, those are the only measurements that matter. Not IPC or clock speed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsumi go_quote.gif

If Bulldozer came out of the box at 5 ghz and overclocked to 6 ghz on air, no one would have said it was a failure.
DaaQ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 12-16-2018, 04:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
larymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,087
Rep: 102 (Unique: 84)
Is there a white wire on pin 20 of the 24-pin ATX connector, near the locking tab and next to a red +5V wire on one side and maybe 3 black ground wires on the other side? That would the -5V rail, but with most modern power supplies that space may be empty because nothing needs -5V from the power supply any more. I think the last time anything needed -5V or -12V was over 20 years ago, maybe a sound card.

Quote: Originally Posted by DaaQ View Post
Also does the 24 pin need to be plugged into the psu (10+18) for the EPS 8 pin to read? TIA
The 8-pin connector doesn't read anything because it's just a source of +12V power for the CPU because the ATX connector specification is inadequate.

Why did you buy a power supply tester instead of a multimeter (Harbor Freight free w/coupon & any purchase), a paperclip, and maybe some 10 watt load resistors? They're cheaper and more versatile.

Last edited by larymoencurly; 12-16-2018 at 04:17 AM.
larymoencurly is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off