Converting a PSU to a testbench - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Converting a PSU to a testbench

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-07-2019, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
PC Enthusiast
 
Norlig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West coast of Norway
Posts: 3,489
Rep: 118 (Unique: 108)
Converting a PSU to a testbench

Hi,

I recently got a "broken" PSU out of an HP computer, from work.
The fan had stopped working, I will just replace the fan.

I tested the PSU and it does output the proper voltages.

However, I am wondering about one thing:
The PSU has 2x 12V 16A rails, which together can output a maximum of 240w.

Can I splice these 2 rails into one on the output side, or is that a bad idea?

Thanks

Main Rig: Asus Strix X299-A , Intel Core i7-7800x @ 4.8Ghz, 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3200Mhz CL16 , Asus Geforce GTX 1080ti FE, Corsair RM850i, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB, 3x Samsung 850 Evo 250GB in Raid0, Custom Watercooling.
HTPC: Intel 3770k @4.2Ghz, 16GB ram, GTX 2070 (cpu bottlenecked )
Norlig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 12:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,267
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
If it really has 2 independent 12V rails, then no it's not a good idea because current would still flow between them any time they're not exactly matching each others voltage.

I have broken PSUs and spare controller chips. I'd like to see how much you can setup up the controller chip to output different voltages. But most of the output caps would need changing as they are only 10 and 16V rated. The output controller and all the feedback circuitry and over/under voltage and current protections, would have to be disabled or really really modified.

I don't really know how flexible the flyback transformers are in there operating frequency.

But since I have both types of controller chips I should strip down 1 PSU to the basics and use my own chips and controller/feedback circuits and see if these can run as a variable bench SPMS

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off