Dear Seasonic, about your inline capacitors... - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Dear Seasonic, about your inline capacitors...

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jonny27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 96
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Dear Seasonic, about your inline capacitors...

They are great! How did you know I love the feeling of pulling my teeth bare?

So long story short: my M12II Evo 620 developed an odd issue: would shut down my pc on very specific loads (possibly load peaks, because sustained Furmark + Prime95 had it chug along fine) and after confirming the culprit with a spare XFX I had laying around, eh might as well move from Bronze to Gold.
The choice fell down to a Focus+ 750W (originally intended for a 650, but for only 9€ more, why not?), and while I did read complaints about the inline cable capacitors and how much of a pain they are for cable management, I thought little of it. "They're just exaggerating, it's Seasonic, they thought of it of course, they know what they're doing" .

I was wrong. I was oh so wrong.

I simply could not bend the cables to fit neatly through the case grommets, those capacitors would always get in the way. I could only either leave dangerously phallic shapes of cable inside the case, or on the other side of it not have nowhere near enough clearance to close the side panel.

Had a stroke of luck in the end though. When I stopped pulling my hair out for a bit I noticed the M12's cables do fit the Focus. Well without capacitors installation was a breeze, and so far seems to be working well (but I'll keep monitoring for a while, just in case).

So yeah, Seasonic if you're reading this, this was not the brightest idea you guys ever had.

(btw, while swapping power supplies I discovered my newfound hate for non-removable psu shrouds, but that's a story for another time really. Thanks Fractal )
jonny27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 02:36 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,182
Rep: 2748 (Unique: 1629)
The Prime Ultra has no caps on the cables so can you return the Focus and get a Prime Ultra?

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 02:42 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,177
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
just get Cablemod cables?


https://cablemod.com/products/?filter_series=se-series


If it's just the ATX cable you can get an extender off Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/CableMod-ModF...dp/B0784J5QDY/

https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters...dp/B01DV1Z66C/

https://www.amazon.com/Phanteks-Exte.../dp/B01G7VOYYS

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 01-30-2019 at 02:49 PM.
AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-30-2019, 04:45 PM
Hardware Rep
 
Sea Sonic Rep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 298
Rep: 51 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by jonny27 View Post

So yeah, Seasonic if you're reading this, this was not the brightest idea you guys ever had.
Hi Jonny27,

Sorry to read your issue and no worry, they won't stay long these horrible inline you hate so much but at time of release, they were needed.

Best Regards,
Sea Sonic Rep is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off