Powersupplies with least amount of AC ripple - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Powersupplies with least amount of AC ripple

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Свет
 
XLifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,216
Rep: 37 (Unique: 36)
Powersupplies with least amount of AC ripple

Can someone share with me a list of power supplies with LEAST amount of AC ripple and greatest resistance to such things.


I went through 10 motherboards, and had severe VRM noise near mosfets, I have EVGA 1000w PQ, which I read great reviews of, but now people are saying it's a bad power supply and cause of my vrm noise and coil whine in GPU

Though I didn't have issues with previous z97 motherboard. It was dead silent.

Can someone suggest which Power Supplies have greatest resistance to AC ripple, and supply the most balanced ac current to my components

Because this VRM issue is horrible, I already have a powerconditioner from Furman, and it was not mitigating much of vrm noise on 97% of motherboards. So I guess it is pointed into my PSU...even though I had multiple systems with it, and no issues.

What also drew me to EVGA 1000w PQ was massive watt amount (just in case I do double CPU set ups), and silent fan, that stays off, until you reach 50 Celsius on psu components, and fan kicks on. My pc is silent with Noctua fans running a silent profile, until I game or use PC for anything heavy

Last edited by XLifted; 04-27-2019 at 01:57 PM.
XLifted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 02:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Depends what you want to spend. I recently changed my Corsair HX1000 for a Corsair AX850 Titanium which is best sub 1000W PSU, but it is expensive!
That_1_Hz_Extra is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 02:41 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,159
Rep: 2748 (Unique: 1629)
Its not bad its mediocre as for lowest ripple the Seasonic Prime Ultra or its Corsair AX / Asus Thor rebrands are options
Or there is the EVGA G3 but that one has a design flaw that make it jump up and down in fan speed when used in its eco mode

You dont need to buy another 1000 watt unit by the way its a waste of your money if your system is not even drawing half that
The Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium is very quiet even during high loads

Cybenetics has a database with noise of all the units they have tested
https://www.cybenetics.com/

Edit: which reviews did you read by the way unless it was from a professional review site done by a professional reviewer its not a review its just a useless opinion by someone that is not a professional reviewer and almost every review on Amazon Newegg and other sites are such useless information

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 04-27-2019 at 02:55 PM.
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 04:20 PM
Broken
 
nanotm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 423
Rep: 31 (Unique: 19)
if ripple is the problem shouldn't you be going for a UPS in the circuit between the wall outlet and the psu ?

its rare that a psu will add ripple to a stable input but quite common for them to have problems when your supply is constantly changing (the UPS once fully charged supply's a fixed output) in the UK for instance the power grid swings between 210 and 250v on a fairly regular basis (some areas might not have such a wide swing) and thats likely to get worse rather than better in the years ahead..

if I could get one that covered the whole house I would since replacing white goods when they burn out every few years is annoying and expensive (especially now most of them only have a 2 year guarantee) but there way to expensive a proposition for a guy on disability... so I just have a UPS that keeps the essentials covered (pc, router, phone, charger, nas box) and its got a 10 year guarantee... it also lets me save money when buying the psu
nanotm is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 05:21 PM
Eastern Bloc Electronics
 
Pawelr98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Poland, Bydgoszcz
Posts: 1,538
Rep: 55 (Unique: 45)
Or just do extra LC filtering.
(L for inductance C for Capacitance)

Any switching type PSU will produce a lot of high-frequency ripple.
The amount depends on output filters.
Cheap PSU will come only with basic capacitor filter, better ones have it followed by extra LC stage.

Decent LC filter will cut down the high-frequency stuff a lot.
Series inductor followed by a parallel capacitor.

EVGA 1000w PQ does seem to have extra space inside for bigger output inductors.
Or you may try external filters by soldering them closely to the input of components.

Even the fastest pc in the world cannot beat imagination.
Spoiler!
CPU
i7 [email protected]@1.325V 2.05V input
Motherboard
Asrock X99 Extreme 4
GPU
Sapphire R9 290X [Uber Mode]
GPU
Nvidia Geforce GT240 GDDR5 512MB [PhysX + analog output]
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 2400mhz 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
RAM
Crucial [email protected] 4GB 1.3V
Hard Drive
Seagate 4TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB[OS]
Hard Drive
WD Red 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840EVO 120GB[Arma 3]
Power Supply
Cooler Master Real Power 850w
Cooling
Koolance 380A [modded for LGA2011v3]
Cooling
MCP655 with Alphacool HF acetal top [5th gear]
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm rad [antec tri-speed]
Cooling
Black Water Ultimate 123 [3x Corsair AF120 Performance Edition]
Cooling
Feser 10/13 UV Tubing
Cooling
Alphacool CKC clear
Cooling
Cooltek 120mm Rad [Corsair SP120 High Performance Edition]
Cooling
Alphacool GPX-A 290 [290X waterblock]
Case
Cooler Master Haf 932 Amd Edition
Operating System
Windows 7 Ulitimate 64 bit
Monitor
LG 29EA93 [2560x1080]
Monitor
Samsung SMB2030N [1600x900]
Monitor
LG L1715S [1280x1024]
Monitor
DIY display on V59 controller[[email protected]]
Keyboard
4Tech X7 G800
Mouse
Microsoft Mobile Mouse 4000
Audio
Superlux hd681
Audio
FiiO E07K
Audio
SoundMax Superbeam [bundled with P5B DLX]
Other
Scythe Kaze Master Pro 6 chanell
Other
2x Sharkoon 30cm red cold cathodes
Other
2x Revoltec 10cm UV cold cathodes
CPU
Athlon II X2 250 @2GHZ @1core
Motherboard
Gigabyte 870A-USB3
GPU
Ati X600 128MB
RAM
GoodRam 4gb 1333mhz
Hard Drive
Hitachi Ultrastar 1TB
Hard Drive
6x Hitachi 2TB (RAID 6)
Hard Drive
Samsung 40gb[OS]
Hard Drive
2x160GB RAID 1
Power Supply
Pentagram Silent Force 460W
Operating System
Debian 8.2.0 x64
Other
Ever Eco Pro 700 CDS [UPS]
Other
Edimax EW-7318USg [Access Point]
▲ hide details ▲
Pawelr98 is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
Свет
 
XLifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,216
Rep: 37 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by nanotm View Post
if ripple is the problem shouldn't you be going for a UPS in the circuit between the wall outlet and the psu ?

its rare that a psu will add ripple to a stable input but quite common for them to have problems when your supply is constantly changing (the UPS once fully charged supply's a fixed output) in the UK for instance the power grid swings between 210 and 250v on a fairly regular basis (some areas might not have such a wide swing) and thats likely to get worse rather than better in the years ahead..

if I could get one that covered the whole house I would since replacing white goods when they burn out every few years is annoying and expensive (especially now most of them only have a 2 year guarantee) but there way to expensive a proposition for a guy on disability... so I just have a UPS that keeps the essentials covered (pc, router, phone, charger, nas box) and its got a 10 year guarantee... it also lets me save money when buying the psu

UPS, you mean a power conditioner? I am using Furman Power Conditioner SS6B
https://www.amazon.com/Furman-SS6B-P.../dp/B0002D017M

EDIT: Something like this?
https://www.amazon.com/CyberPower-EC...ronics&sr=1-14

If not, please explain

Can you point me to one? If you mean something else, let me know, I have been looking.

Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Its not bad its mediocre as for lowest ripple the Seasonic Prime Ultra or its Corsair AX / Asus Thor rebrands are options
Or there is the EVGA G3 but that one has a design flaw that make it jump up and down in fan speed when used in its eco mode

You dont need to buy another 1000 watt unit by the way its a waste of your money if your system is not even drawing half that
The Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium is very quiet even during high loads

Cybenetics has a database with noise of all the units they have tested
https://www.cybenetics.com/

Edit: which reviews did you read by the way unless it was from a professional review site done by a professional reviewer its not a review its just a useless opinion by someone that is not a professional reviewer and almost every review on Amazon Newegg and other sites are such useless information
I can't remember it was so long ago, seemed like legit reviews, but johny guru didn't even review this PSU, so hard to tell who was right, I can only say this after people stated it, and my ac ripple issues, at least in my house.


Problem with Seasonics is the sound the motor on the fan makes, is not good.
Or on Focus plus (same thing)
Churning sound...
I actually cancelled my purchase couple of hours ago, because of this, before I even read your response


Quote: Originally Posted by Pawelr98 View Post
Or just do extra LC filtering.
(L for inductance C for Capacitance)

Any switching type PSU will produce a lot of high-frequency ripple.
The amount depends on output filters.
Cheap PSU will come only with basic capacitor filter, better ones have it followed by extra LC stage.

Decent LC filter will cut down the high-frequency stuff a lot.
Series inductor followed by a parallel capacitor.

EVGA 1000w PQ does seem to have extra space inside for bigger output inductors.
Or you may try external filters by soldering them closely to the input of components.

No soldering for me, I will void warranty, and also I have zero skills soldering. A no-no for personal work
Can you point me to a video maybe where I can watch the process?

Last edited by XLifted; 04-27-2019 at 10:00 PM.
XLifted is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter
Свет
 
XLifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,216
Rep: 37 (Unique: 36)
I would like to spend less than $200 on PSU, preferably under $150
Somewhere in 850w range

Corsair sounds not bad at all based on Johny Gurus reviews, but it's not silent, how loud it is, I am not sure.
My previous Corsair 650w was not good, it would produce hum, and fan was kind of loud compared to Noctua NF-F12s
XLifted is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 01:15 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,159
Rep: 2748 (Unique: 1629)
The Corsair RMx is one of the most quiet series on the market but it comes at the cost of it running pretty hot

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 02:13 AM - Thread Starter
Свет
 
XLifted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,216
Rep: 37 (Unique: 36)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
The Corsair RMx is one of the most quiet series on the market but it comes at the cost of it running pretty hot
Oh MAN! The constant caveat! I was about to buy it

Why is it running hot? How hot?

I have 2nd chamber for PSU (Corsair Air 540), but too hot could be a deal breaker.
I have EVGA PQ 1000w in there currently, and it's slightly warmer than my room.
XLifted is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 04-28-2019, 02:17 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,159
Rep: 2748 (Unique: 1629)
Quote: Originally Posted by XLifted View Post
Oh MAN! The constant caveat! I was about to buy it

Why is it running hot? How hot?

I have 2nd chamber for PSU (Corsair Air 540), but too hot could be a deal breaker.
I have EVGA PQ 1000w in there currently, and it's slightly warmer than my room.
I dont own one myself but the reason why its so quiet is because fan speed is so low and the result is it gets hotter than other units with higher fan speeds
Reports from others say its hot to the touch whatever that means

You could turn the hybrid fan mode off so the fan runs all the time that would fix the temperature problem but at the cost of noise

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off