2 PSUs 1 Mobo? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2 PSUs 1 Mobo?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
I Can Change This???
 
tmontney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 730
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
2 PSUs 1 Mobo?

Bit of a crosspost, I'm building a folding rig. Since I want to be as efficient as possible, I figured I'd build it like a mining rig: https://www.amazon.com/Hydra-Server-.../dp/B07B4QHDPJ

It has support for 2 PSUs, but I'm not sure how that works. A quick Google search shows advice against it. I assume you'd use a splitter or a board that supports 2? Personally, my setup would do fine with a 1500w PSU. However, I already have a PSU and it'd be nice to just add on to it.

Looking to sell your GPU? I'm always looking to add more to my folding collection. PM me.


tmontney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 08:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sok0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 84
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
If you want to use 2 PSUs, one PSU would be plugged into the motherboard , the PSU that is not plugged into the motherboard has to have a jumper connector that will start the PSU without a motherboard installed. The extra PSU will power only the GPU's that cant be put on the main PSU .


https://www.amazon.com/PSU-Supply-24...0ff748639ac80b

sok0 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 08:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,132
Rep: 540 (Unique: 306)
Add2PSU

I had to do this back while running X79 & 3x vanilla titans, volt unlocked.

I had the GPUs on a 1500W, and everything else on an 850W, worked gloriously with the Add2PSU.

Do NOT just use a jumper. Spend the extra $5 on the board. The onboard hardware makes it an actually safe product & concept.
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=add2psu&ref=nb_sb_noss_2

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.

Last edited by skupples; 06-07-2019 at 08:29 AM.
skupples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
I Can Change This???
 
tmontney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 730
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by sok0 View Post
If you want to use 2 PSUs, one PSU would be plugged into the motherboard , the PSU that is not plugged into the motherboard has to have a jumper connector that will start the PSU without a motherboard installed. The extra PSU will power only the GPU's that cant be put on the main PSU .


https://www.amazon.com/PSU-Supply-24...0ff748639ac80b
Yeah, that makes a lot of sense. It only needs to be tied in to be turned on and off by the switch. The power itself would just be to the GPUs.

Looking to sell your GPU? I'm always looking to add more to my folding collection. PM me.


tmontney is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
I Can Change This???
 
tmontney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 730
Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
Add2PSU

I had to do this back while running X79 & 3x vanilla titans, volt unlocked.

I had the GPUs on a 1500W, and everything else on an 850W, worked gloriously with the Add2PSU.

Do NOT just use a jumper. Spend the extra $5 on the board. The onboard hardware makes it an actually safe product & concept.
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=add2psu&ref=nb_sb_noss_2
Yeah, I agree. $5 is nothing in compared to the eventual thousands I'll be spending on this.

Looking to sell your GPU? I'm always looking to add more to my folding collection. PM me.


tmontney is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,132
Rep: 540 (Unique: 306)
specially when that $5 will save you from potentially frying thousands of dollars of GPUs.

I believe the ones with SATA even daisy chain.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 03:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crackatoea
Posts: 789
Rep: 21 (Unique: 14)
Yep I can testify the Add2PSU works beautifully. I've been using one in my media server for years.

My Baby
(24 items)
CPU
Delidded Direct Die I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Apex
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 card
Hard Drive
2 x Intel 660P 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTR
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
2x Noctua NA-A15 PWM
Cooling
24x EK Vadar F4120ER
Case
Case Labs Magnum M8 with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG28Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Mr. Speakers Aeon Closed
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NewUser16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,067
Rep: 38 (Unique: 24)
If you haven't figure out yet, this might help:

Last edited by NewUser16; 06-10-2019 at 07:28 PM.
NewUser16 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off