Can changing modes be due to my PS? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Can changing modes be due to my PS?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-23-2020, 12:45 AM - Thread Starter
Overdrive
 
hdtvnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Cocoa, FL
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Can changing modes be due to my PS?

I have a Seasonic Prime Titanium 850w PS I have used with two Asus MB's, M10 Hero and M11 Apex, with different CPU's, 8700K and 9900KS. In both setups, the system mode will switch from "hi Performance" or "Balanced" to "Power Saver" after 30 to 100 minutes of on time. Then after a few more minutes from "Sleep: never" to "Sleep: after 1 minute". The systems are at idle, and no warning in HWM or HWMonitor when it's going to happen. ????

Z390: CPU 9900KS; MB Asus Maximus XI Apex; GPU Asus RTX2080ti OC; RAM Tridentz 2x8 4266 C19;
Drive Sam 970 EVO 500GB; PS Sea 850w Titanium; Cooling Opt Sig V2, EK 100/D5, EK PE 360

X299: CPU 7980XE; MB Asrock OC Formula; GPU EVGA GTX1080ti FTW3; RAM LPX 4x16 3200 C16;
Drives Sam 970 EVO 500GB, WD 4TB; PS Sea 1kw Platinum; Cooling Wc HK IV, EK 140/D5, HL 360GTX
hdtvnut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-23-2020, 01:49 AM
Meep
 
Gilles3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5,495
Rep: 330 (Unique: 234)
Sounds more like a wacky windows 10 issue to me.

Not sure this could be the issue, but are you logged into windows with an account, or just local?
Gilles3000 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter
Overdrive
 
hdtvnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Cocoa, FL
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Gilles3000 View Post
Sounds more like a wacky windows 10 issue to me.

Not sure this could be the issue, but are you logged into windows with an account, or just local?
On an account with automatic updates.

Z390: CPU 9900KS; MB Asus Maximus XI Apex; GPU Asus RTX2080ti OC; RAM Tridentz 2x8 4266 C19;
Drive Sam 970 EVO 500GB; PS Sea 850w Titanium; Cooling Opt Sig V2, EK 100/D5, EK PE 360

X299: CPU 7980XE; MB Asrock OC Formula; GPU EVGA GTX1080ti FTW3; RAM LPX 4x16 3200 C16;
Drives Sam 970 EVO 500GB, WD 4TB; PS Sea 1kw Platinum; Cooling Wc HK IV, EK 140/D5, HL 360GTX
hdtvnut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 05:20 AM
Meep
 
Gilles3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5,495
Rep: 330 (Unique: 234)
Quote: Originally Posted by hdtvnut View Post
On an account with automatic updates.
Its possible that there's an issue with a setting tied to your account, I'd try installing W10 again, but with internet disconnected and select a local account instead.

Updates should be fine tho, you can just connect to the internet after the install is finished, and do all the updates required.
Gilles3000 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-24-2020, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Overdrive
 
hdtvnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Cocoa, FL
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Gilles3000 View Post
Its possible that there's an issue with a setting tied to your account, I'd try installing W10 again, but with internet disconnected and select a local account instead.

Updates should be fine tho, you can just connect to the internet after the install is finished, and do all the updates required.
How about I disconnect from the internet and see if the down-mode still occurs? If it doesn't, then it would have to be an account problem.

Z390: CPU 9900KS; MB Asus Maximus XI Apex; GPU Asus RTX2080ti OC; RAM Tridentz 2x8 4266 C19;
Drive Sam 970 EVO 500GB; PS Sea 850w Titanium; Cooling Opt Sig V2, EK 100/D5, EK PE 360

X299: CPU 7980XE; MB Asrock OC Formula; GPU EVGA GTX1080ti FTW3; RAM LPX 4x16 3200 C16;
Drives Sam 970 EVO 500GB, WD 4TB; PS Sea 1kw Platinum; Cooling Wc HK IV, EK 140/D5, HL 360GTX
hdtvnut is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-25-2020, 08:07 AM
Meep
 
Gilles3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 5,495
Rep: 330 (Unique: 234)
Quote: Originally Posted by hdtvnut View Post
How about I disconnect from the internet and see if the down-mode still occurs? If it doesn't, then it would have to be an account problem.
wouldn't change a thing, as its the configuration done by logging into your account that the issue. Disconnecting from the internet does nut undo any settings.

A clean windows install with a local account and as much of the telemetry tuff denied is the best way to install it anyway.
Gilles3000 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 04:02 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,847
Rep: 358 (Unique: 255)
Use local accounts. Remove infections. This is not a PSU issue XD

PSU can't magically start changing your OS settings.

You should be using ultimate performance plan anyway.
JackCY is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 04:33 PM
Food Editor
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 24,591
Rep: 720 (Unique: 378)
this is software, if you're referring to windows power settings.

is it an OEM install?

sounds like a synced windows account pulling policies from somewhere. did you log into your work office 365 recently, and mistakenly click yes on the management screen?

re-install with Win10s Enterprise LTSC or server grade

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
skupples is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-01-2020, 02:41 AM - Thread Starter
Overdrive
 
hdtvnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Cocoa, FL
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Thanks guys - I'll re-install with local when I get a chance. Don't remember where this install is from. Don't know much about Win10; what does "ultimate performance" mean?

Z390: CPU 9900KS; MB Asus Maximus XI Apex; GPU Asus RTX2080ti OC; RAM Tridentz 2x8 4266 C19;
Drive Sam 970 EVO 500GB; PS Sea 850w Titanium; Cooling Opt Sig V2, EK 100/D5, EK PE 360

X299: CPU 7980XE; MB Asrock OC Formula; GPU EVGA GTX1080ti FTW3; RAM LPX 4x16 3200 C16;
Drives Sam 970 EVO 500GB, WD 4TB; PS Sea 1kw Platinum; Cooling Wc HK IV, EK 140/D5, HL 360GTX

Last edited by hdtvnut; 04-01-2020 at 02:51 AM.
hdtvnut is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off