UPS battery compatible with PSU - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

UPS battery compatible with PSU

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-03-2020, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
I took this profile pic
 
Thready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 3,943
Rep: 136 (Unique: 107)
UPS battery compatible with PSU

I just got my 3rd power outage in a month. It's a split second power outage but it still cut power to my PC when I was in the middle of some important Photoshop work and luckily I recovered my work but I need a solution for this. I need a UPS backup battery that will let me save and power down. I heard there are some that automatically power down your PC.

I use an Antec Earthwatts 650W PSU. My budget for each UPS is $100. If I need a new PSU then any suggestions for a ~650W or 700W? My budget for that is $80

I also play PS4 and I heard the PS4 needs a pure sine wave UPS. I don't know what that is.

I need to buy 3 of them. 2 for 2 entertainment centers and cable boxes and 1 for PC. The PC one needs to have the features of shutting down my PC. The entertainment center ones can be cheaper if that's possible.

I'm looking online and the descriptions don't tell me which ones are pure sine wave. Any help on how I can tell which ones are this?

Instagram @patrickmcguirkphotos & @mcguirk.patrick @patrickmcguirkportraits
Psychology grad student, computer hobbyist, self taught photographer
I'm really funny but I don't know when to stop.
I took my profile pic.
Zen
(17 items)
CPU
i5-6600k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
GPU
RX Vega 56
RAM
24 GB DDR4 2133MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 evo NVME 256 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX 500 256GB
Hard Drive
WD Black 3 TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 3 TB
Power Supply
Antec Earthwatts 650
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus mx27a
Monitor
hp 2009 m
Keyboard
Corsair MR Brown
Mouse
Razer Naga
Audio
Soundblaster Omni
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Thready; 05-03-2020 at 01:37 PM.
Thready is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-04-2020, 08:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
delerious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 379
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
True sine-wave is going to cost you more than a simulated/stepped sine wave. Cyberpower lists their waveform. Here's a list of some https://www.cyberpowersystems.com/pr.../pfc-sinewave/ . APC has a few too, the Back UPS PRO BR 1500VA here: https://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/produ...ace/P-BR1500MS .

delerious is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-04-2020, 08:32 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,089
Rep: 176 (Unique: 106)
Hi,
If you get an APC get in store warranty chances are it won't make it past 2 years micro center.

I have the CP1350PFCLCD it's not too bad but all these things are really just to safely save and shut down and use for radio and fan until power comes back up.
The on and off... stuff really does mess up electronics so no need for a really large watt one.

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus Foundation copper-plexi and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Other
5.0/https://valid.x86.fr/ez2ifr
CPU
10900k batch # X016E724
Motherboard
z490 ASUS Maximus XII Apex
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3
RAM
Trident-Z 3600c16 4x8gb kit 16-16-16-36 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Case
Corsair 450D
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 01:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
larymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,100
Rep: 102 (Unique: 84)
If the specifications don't explicitly say whether the supply puts out a stepped square wave or a true sine wave, they still sometimes list the Total Harmonic Distortion, or THD. A pure sine wave will have 10% or less THD, while a stepped sine wave will measure roughly 35% to 50%.

Some of the first PC power supplies equipped with automatic power factor correction (APFC), probably 10-15 years ago, didn't like stepped square waves because they caused high current spikes in the APFC circuit that cause it to burn out. It wasn't just cheapo power supplies that had that problem but even Seasonic. Otherwise backup power supply compatibility depends on the total power consumption and amps (Volt-Amps) of the computer, not on the particular PC power supply.

I wouldn't trust any backup battery to last more than 3 years, and the automatic test built into most backup units will indicate that batteries are good even if they can't run a computer for 10 seconds.
larymoencurly is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off