PSU causing power outage when in CASE - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

PSU causing power outage when in CASE

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-05-2020, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 311
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
PSU causing power outage when in CASE

My friend bought a Corsair RM650x, problem is the whole house is going off, only if the psu is in the case tho. Leaving the psu outside works without any issues.

I've built the system for him with an older psu, now I can't help him coz of the virus so I don't know if he's doing something wrong.

What could it be?

System:
ITEK Case Origin (was like 30 euro)
FX-8320
4x4Gb 1333Mhz
XFX RX580 GTR

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.8125 LLC1)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05 LLC1)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1400/2010
RAM
Vengeance LPX 3466 c16
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-05-2020, 02:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,593
Rep: 30 (Unique: 21)
How would this be possible? Wouldn't there be a single circuit breaker that would be specific to the circuit on which the PSU is being connected to the mains? Even in the bad old days of fuses it would still only affect one circuit of the home and not the entire house?
8051 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-05-2020, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 311
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
How would this be possible? Wouldn't there be a single circuit breaker that would be specific to the circuit on which the PSU is being connected to the mains? Even in the bad old days of fuses it would still only affect one circuit of the home and not the entire house?
Maybe he's just referring to the rooms part idk, but he told me he connected both the molex and the 3 pin of the fans, could be the psu going safe coz of that?

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.8125 LLC1)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05 LLC1)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1400/2010
RAM
Vengeance LPX 3466 c16
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-07-2020, 02:14 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,954
Rep: 361 (Unique: 258)
Maybe some ground issue, if a PSU is tripping breakers well then some AC high voltage is being shorted into ground be it casing of the PSU (putting it into a metal case should make zero difference) or the short is inside the PSU in some component such as the transformer.
Putting the PSU into a another metal box is more of a joke if that makes any difference, unless he's using some damn long screw to attach it and manages to create a short inside the PSU when he mounts it into the case. Or he's connecting some different components to the PSU which are causing a short and a high peak load on PSU start up.
JackCY is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-08-2020, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 311
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
We figured it out, was the molex and the 3 pin connected at the same time, but somehow he killed the 24pin coz the mobo doesn't turn on. The old PSU still works.

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.8125 LLC1)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05 LLC1)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1400/2010
RAM
Vengeance LPX 3466 c16
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
larymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,100
Rep: 102 (Unique: 84)
Is this one of those power supplies that keeps the Earth ground and computer ground separate? So when it's operated outside the case, those grounds aren't connected together, but when bolted to the case, those grounds connect to each other through the metal case and several of the standoffs connected to the motherboard's ground.

Separate DC and Earth grounds isn't that unusual. I have old Delta power supplies built with the grounds kept separate, and some early Antec SmartPowers had a soldered jumper to connect the grounds on their circuit board. About every AC adapter with a 3-wire power cord will have separated grounds.
larymoencurly is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 311
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by larymoencurly View Post
Is this one of those power supplies that keeps the Earth ground and computer ground separate? So when it's operated outside the case, those grounds aren't connected together, but when bolted to the case, those grounds connect to each other through the metal case and several of the standoffs connected to the motherboard's ground.

Separate DC and Earth grounds isn't that unusual. I have old Delta power supplies built with the grounds kept separate, and some early Antec SmartPowers had a soldered jumper to connect the grounds on their circuit board. About every AC adapter with a 3-wire power cord will have separated grounds.
Idk didn't bother to check it much, anyway for the molex and 3 pin causing the power loss, also the 24pin died

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.8125 LLC1)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05 LLC1)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1400/2010
RAM
Vengeance LPX 3466 c16
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
Reply

Tags
power , power loss , power outage , Psu

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off