Recently bought Corsair 550W - and low FPS problem - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Recently bought Corsair 550W - and low FPS problem

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
p11ma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 262
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I must say, It's a great power supply, it looks great and the cables are long enough to reach anywhere in my computer case.

I used to have power supply by unknown company, with only 18Amps at the +12V rail, and people around here told me that my video card doesn't get enough "juice" from the psu to my HD4850 and that's the reason I get low fps in games such as:
Call of Duty 4 : Modern Warfare: 80-140 fps
Quality: highest, 1280x1024
GTA IV: 15-25 fps
Quality: medium, 1280x1024
Crysis: 45-65 fps
Quality: medium, 1280x1024

Now, Could it be that my system didn't "update" itself from the old PSU to the new corsair 550W? if so, what could I do to update it?
Maybe my 4400+ is bottlenecking, but yet, 2.82 GHz , how bad could it bottleneck.. :S
p11ma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RefinedCausality77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 561
Rep: 57 (Unique: 53)
Try installing the latest drivers for your PSU.

If you're playing those games maxed out with AA and everything, the numbers look fine to me for a 4850. Possible CPU bottleneck, don't know much about AMD procs sorry, but a better PSU would never cause your FPS to drop.

RefinedCausality77 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 10:58 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 2,135
CPU bottleneck for sure.
eureka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
p11ma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 262
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizrdwarts View Post
Try installing the latest drivers for your PSU.

If you're playing those games maxed out with AA and everything, the numbers look fine to me for a 4850. Possible CPU bottleneck, don't know much about AMD procs sorry, but a better PSU would never cause your FPS to drop.
PSU got drivers? :O

I don't play the games with AA. and the problem was the same before the upgrade to corsair 550w...
p11ma is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
blupupher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Katy, Republic of Texas
Posts: 10,459
Rep: 830 (Unique: 654)
Who said your PSU was giving you low FPS? A poor psu will cause random bluescreen and other errors, but will not cause you to have low FPS, that is purely determined by your GPU and CPU.
Your Frames are not that bad (not real sure what they should be at though).

Why I fold:

sad-smiley-002.gifLost: Father: Liver Cancer '08, Aunt: Ovarian Cancer '96, Aunt: Brain Cancer, '13, Grandmother: Bone Cancer '99,
thumb.gifWinning; Brother-in-Law: Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma - 11 yrs; Brother-in-Law: Pancreatic Cancer - 4 yrs; Mother-in-Law: Breast cancer - 22 years, Ureter Cancer 1 year!


blupupher is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 891
Rep: 120 (Unique: 100)
gnolnats is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RefinedCausality77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 561
Rep: 57 (Unique: 53)
Quote:
Originally Posted by p11ma View Post
PSU got drivers? :O

I don't play the games with AA. and the problem was the same before the upgrade to corsair 550w...
If you're playing without AA then you're definitely not getting the FPS you should be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blupupher View Post
Who said your PSU was giving you low FPS? A poor psu will cause random bluescreen and other errors, but will not cause you to have low FPS, that is purely determined by your GPU and CPU.
Your Frames are not that bad (not real sure what they should be at though).
Though insufficient power can cause freezes under load I think.

RefinedCausality77 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xShishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland.
Posts: 872
Rep: 28 (Unique: 28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizrdwarts View Post
Try installing the latest drivers for your PSU.

If you're playing those games maxed out with AA and everything, the numbers look fine to me for a 4850. Possible CPU bottleneck, don't know much about AMD procs sorry, but a better PSU would never cause your FPS to drop.
Lol sigged.
Also, to OP, your cpu is probably bottle necking.



xShishy - Mr. Squishy | Official ATi 1Ghz Club VIP Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizrdwarts go_quote.gif
Try installing the latest drivers for your PSU. tongue.gif
xShishy is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
Posts: 6,052
Rep: 349 (Unique: 308)
Your CPU is bottlenecking your 4850.

I'm not sure how high 4400+ clock but you should be able to get 3.2 which will give you a nice boost.

~B~

Rest in peace Syr, you won't be forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TFB go_quote.gif
I'm a nerd, not a miracle worker.


BlankThis is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-15-2009, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
p11ma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 262
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlankThis View Post
Your CPU is bottlenecking your 4850.

I'm not sure how high 4400+ clock but you should be able to get 3.2 which will give you a nice boost.

~B~
Can't stabilize it at more than 2.82 GHz, 245 FSB, 11.5 multiplier. stock voltage
p11ma is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off