Modular PSU - What Does it Mean? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Modular PSU - What Does it Mean?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,241
Rep: 84 (Unique: 74)
For most modular PSU's only the motherboard power cable is connected. The rest you connect if you need to. So if you have 2 GPU's you use 2 GPU power cables. Not 15 or whatever they have. Modular means you connect the power cables that you need and the ones you don't need don't have to be plugged in. Which means less unused cables. Less mess.

I can't wait until Mafia 2 is released.

War. War. War. War. What The Hell You Keep On Killing Me For.


www.2idtactical.com Come join us for some World at War FUN
Zoki318 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:26 PM
STG3 VET
 
Juggalo23451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Centennial,CO
Posts: 13,127
Rep: 1174 (Unique: 756)
If you are satisfied with you power supply and temps then there is no reason to get one

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><p><a href="https://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/913181-water-cooling-guide-noobs.html#post11984918">Water cooling guide for noobs,parts,setup install case suggestions,etc</a></p><span></span><p><a href="https://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/962044-upgrade-time-update-2-3-18-a.html">Case labs TH10/ build log (2 gtx 590s) water cooling oh my</a></p><span></span><p><a href="https://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/528648-heatkiller-club.html">Founder of the Heatkiller Club</a></p><span></span><p><span>W</span><a href="https://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/601449-water-cooling-cases.html">ater cooling case suggestions</a></p></div></div>


Juggalo23451 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Error 404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth, usually.
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 109 (Unique: 99)
If you've got the money (only another $20 or so) go for it, otherwise you're fine as long as they aren't obstructing anything.

If you've got a case window a modular PSU looks a lot nicer...

School now...rather inactive at the time.
Error 404 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:26 PM
The Fabricat0r
 
shinji2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lancaster, Ohio
Posts: 5,933
Rep: 1036 (Unique: 678)
Modular PSUs have a price premium over non, so if you are satisfied with your cable management there isn't much of a reason to get one. If you have a bunch of cables you can't seem to hide, then modular maybe be the way for you.
shinji2k is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,241
Rep: 84 (Unique: 74)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarineRevenge View Post
Awesome... think it would be wise to purchase a modular PSU?

I don't really seem to have airflow problems in my CM690, most of the cables sit at the bottom of the case (around or below the video card) and my 8800GT still runs super-cool.

Although, it is using a non-stock cooler..

Anywho - recommended or no?
I just bought a modular PSU last week so I don't have cables all over the place. I think it's a good idea.

I can't wait until Mafia 2 is released.

War. War. War. War. What The Hell You Keep On Killing Me For.


www.2idtactical.com Come join us for some World at War FUN
Zoki318 is offline  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:30 PM
Junglist
 
Swiftes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 7,232
Rep: 403 (Unique: 305)
Yep shoot for modular, will increase and inhabit even better aiirflow, plus it looks the business!

Minotaur
(19 items)
CPU
Xeon E5-1660 v3 @ 4.4Ghz - 1.25v
Motherboard
Asrock X99 Extreme6
GPU
eVGA GTX1080 TI Black Edition
RAM
16Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX (15-17-17-36 : 3200)
Hard Drive
Corsair Force 3 [120GB] [x3 RAID 0]
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3Tb HDD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 500Gb SSHD
Hard Drive
WD Black SN700
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1Tb
Power Supply
eVGA Supernova 750W G2 [White Braided Cables]
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Antec P110 Luce
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer XB271HU
Monitor
LG 29UM68
Keyboard
Corsair G413 Silver
Mouse
Logitech G403
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 (mk1)
Audio
Yamaha HS-7 / Beyerdynamic DT880 Pro / Sennheiser HD-25
▲ hide details ▲


Swiftes is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,159
Rep: 99 (Unique: 79)
Thanks for the posts everyone.

My alias has nothing to do with the armed forces. It is in reference to revenge of the sea creatures!

I am 70% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?



iD Software Fanboy
MarineRevenge is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Palm Coast/Jacksonville
Posts: 1,384
Rep: 114 (Unique: 106)
Basically a modular power supplies do not have the cables attached directly to the power supply. The cables have plugs on both ends and one side plugs into the power supply and the other ends are like normal power supply ends. The server 2 purposes the first is you only attach the cables you need and the second because there is less cables you get better airflow. Lets say you have a 2 high graphic cards and 1 hdd and one DVD, you would only need the 20pin and 8pin motherboard, 2 connectors for the power supply and 1 for the HDD and the DVD rom. Now if you had a regular cable you would have about 3 or 4 more cables to deal with. If you had a older motherboard that only has a 4 pin and not an 8pin you only plug in the 4 pin. If you had a machine with built in video and say 6 hdds and a couple of DVD burners, you wouldnt need the 6pin cables for the video cards and you can plug more in for the Hdds and DVDs. It makes the power supply more customizable without a mess of cables to deal with that arent plugged in to anything.

With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. However, this is not necessarily a good idea. It is hard to be sure where they are going to land, and it could be dangerous sitting under them as they fly overhead.



ounderfla69 is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Slipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sitting in my chair.
Posts: 366
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
It's always a plus, why not?

Slipp is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-22-2009, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,159
Rep: 99 (Unique: 79)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slipp View Post
It's always a plus, why not?
Money of course.

My alias has nothing to do with the armed forces. It is in reference to revenge of the sea creatures!

I am 70% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?



iD Software Fanboy
MarineRevenge is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off