Do NOT buy the Corsair 1200AX PSU - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Do NOT buy the Corsair 1200AX PSU

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nitd_kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,921
Rep: 73 (Unique: 69)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skitzogreg View Post
Honestly, case stickers? You're claiming part of the reason they're dropping the ball is due to missing case stickers? Hmm...
read the post :[

I'm just a nobody passing by and throwing 2cents.gifeverywhere.

nitd_kim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:21 PM
Retired Staff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Rep: 1730 (Unique: 1138)
Quote:
Originally Posted by frickfrock99 View Post
I can understand one unit being faulty, that's bound to happen.
But two units? IN A ROW?

This isn't good at all, I hope Corsair doesn't go the way of PC Power And Cooling.
You mean spread a bunch of FUD that causes headaches for PSU experts for the next five years, then get bought by OCZ and have their staff fired one by one until it's just a brand name applied to an overpriced product line?

Naaaaah.

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
post #13 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:23 PM
Knows the Song of Time
 
greydor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 3,662
Rep: 414 (Unique: 369)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitd_kim View Post
read the post :[
I did. It's in the top line; one of the reasons not to buy this power supply.

greydor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Chunkylad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,365
Rep: 53 (Unique: 52)
First off, I would only get one of the HX, and sometimes I have noticed that companies bs their RMA's. They add something or make a minor modification to make it work then send it back. I don't think Newegg would do this, but 2 times in a row is a bit much. I have seen motherboards need multiple RMA's, but that was due to DOA's and shipping damage.

Sorry for some strange posts, that is what happens when I first wake up or stay up to late.





Chunkylad is offline  
post #15 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheLaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,529
Rep: 63 (Unique: 57)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rszanto View Post
I did an RMA for the first unit. Now the second unit has problems.

I meant Sparkle
Sparkle!?!?! C'mon now. That thing has horrible ripple and load regulation minus the fact that I think its an FSP OEM. Return that thing please.

The AX1200 is so much better.

TheLaw is offline  
post #16 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,031
Rep: 505 (Unique: 444)
Two in a row sucks indeed. Have you posted in corsairs forum and asked "ramguy" to help you out? He is a very great guy and always willing to help out. Perhaps get him to hand test a until before they send it out this time.

wish you the best of luck. And go post in corsairs forum and make the problem known.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/forumdisplay.php?f=178

"There is nothing more horrifying than stupidity in action." Jawaharlal Nehru
Sapphire is the only company that can't afford to ship a gpu back.They have to charge the end user to ship it back. Don't support Sapphire!
KILLER_K is offline  
post #17 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jpyumul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 770
Rep: 61 (Unique: 54)
jpyumul is offline  
post #18 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rszanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 425
Rep: 46 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skitzogreg View Post
I did. It's in the top line; one of the reasons not to buy this power supply.
The problem is this. You pay more then a quarter of a grand for a first teir PSU.

Your first one comes with case stickers on upside down, missing screws, missing cable ties, and missing case badges. Still wrapped and factory sealed, both inside the box and outside. People not paying attention at the factory? Hmmm wonder how the inside handles if they mess up on such simple things.

You get your second one. Now it has everything, but you get screaming caps and various high pitched noises on your brand new PSU that is hand tested supposedly. You put in your 2 year old unit and that one runs perfect.

You think this is ok? After getting two PSU's in a row with problems.

rszanto is offline  
post #19 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheLaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,529
Rep: 63 (Unique: 57)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpyumul View Post
That list is OLDDDDD......

TheLaw is offline  
post #20 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rszanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 425
Rep: 46 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER_K View Post
Two in a row sucks indeed. Have you posted in corsairs forum and asked "ramguy" to help you out? He is a very great guy and always willing to help out. Perhaps get him to hand test a until before they send it out this time.

wish you the best of luck. And go post in corsairs forum and make the problem known.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/forumdisplay.php?f=178
I did, he told my to setup an RMA for the first unit. Now I am waiting to find out the news from the second unit. At this point getting money back from Newegg sounds better then just getting some quick hot fix.

rszanto is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off