Do NOT buy the Corsair 1200AX PSU - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Do NOT buy the Corsair 1200AX PSU

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:30 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
redhat_ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,192
Rep: 241 (Unique: 199)
this is why you should deal with corsair directly dont RMA through newegg ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoko Littner go_quote.gif
i have Elpida Hyper IMC's laying around
Quote:
Originally Posted by JE Nightmare go_quote.gif
redhat wins.
redhat_ownage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rszanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 425
Rep: 46 (Unique: 45)
I even gave Corsair a chance and thought well you know 1/1000 you get a faulty PSU. Whatever, but two in a row. That is pushing it for such a premium PSU.

rszanto is offline  
post #23 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rszanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 425
Rep: 46 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by redhat_ownage View Post
this is why you should deal with corsair directly dont RMA through newegg ever
Why? I bought the PSU and then they offered to cover the shipping costs for the new one. So I ordered another PSU normally from Newegg and they adjusted the shipping costs. I still have both units. One has an RMA that needs to be sent back to Newegg and now it looks like I need to set one up tomorrow for the other unit.

Newegg has no fault in this. They simply ship the sealed product to me. Not their job to ensure things are working.

rszanto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:32 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 12,531
Rep: 773 (Unique: 598)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TestECull View Post
Yeah. couldn't be a sign of a lack of quality control now could it?


Squealing caps + misaligned/missing stickers = Cheaply hobbled together 650/750 labelled as a 1200.
Have you read reviews on it? That's not it at all.

Sounds like bad quality control/bad batch to me. Not an overrated PSU.


DSLR gear: Canon 1D Mark III | RokiBowYang 14mm f/2.8 | 24-105 f/4 L IS | 70-200 f/2.8 L | 300mm f/4L IS | Tamron 150-600mm f/5-6.3 |1.4x II | 580 EX II | AB 800


ljason8eg is offline  
post #25 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:34 PM
Radical Sanity
 
Behemoth777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 9,168
Rep: 432 (Unique: 346)
You could have just gotten very unlucky. It happens with computer parts. And usually, a manufacturer will care a lot more than a retailer. RMA with corsair and let them know how you feel. I'm sure they will happily send you a new one.

And sparkle? Are you serious? Now your really paying for overpriced junk..

The Final ROGtier: CPU - AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (3.8GHz) | Motherboard - ASUS ROG Strix B350-F | GPU - ASUS ROG Strix RX 580 8GB | RAM - GeIL RGB 4x4GB (2400MHz) | Hard Drive - SanDisk X400 512GB | Power Supply - EVGA SuperNova P2 650w | CPU Cooling - Deepcool Captain 240 RGB | Case - NZXT S340 Elite (Matte Black) | Operating System - Windows 10 Pro | Monitor - ViewSonic XG2701 | Keyboard - Turbot Mechanical Keyboard | Mouse - ASUS ROG Gladius II | Mouse Pad - Glorious PC Gaming Race | Speakers - Logitech Z623 2.1 | Headset - Cougar Immersa


Behemoth777 is offline  
post #26 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,965
Rep: 242 (Unique: 212)
Tell Corsair. Send them an email, or even bring it up on their forums. I'm sure they will be more than willing to work with you to fix this.

CPU proof.gif
CPU 2 proof.gif
BlackHoleSon is offline  
post #27 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:37 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
redhat_ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,192
Rep: 241 (Unique: 199)
RMA through Corsair and ask them to test it before it gets sent out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoko Littner go_quote.gif
i have Elpida Hyper IMC's laying around
Quote:
Originally Posted by JE Nightmare go_quote.gif
redhat wins.
redhat_ownage is offline  
post #28 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 543
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rszanto View Post
So, my first unit came with upside down decals, missing screws, missing cable ties, and missing case stickers.

I got my second unit today. Everything looked great until I hooked it up and installed Windows 7. I ran the Index score and an insanely high pitched whine appeared out of nowhere. It is a loud whine and changes from low to high tones depending on the task.

I read the FAQ and disabled all power items. Still the problem is going on. I put in my Corsair 1000 Watt PSU to make sure its not the MOBO or the GPU. 1000 Watt unit worked GREAT.

I put back in my 1200 one, and bam nothing but loud whines. Not even a quiet hum, but a screeching noise. Corsair has really dropped the ball IMO. Other people are having issues with their PSU's too ranging from stickers to missing pieces.

I ordered a Sparkle Gold Rated PSU. Hopefully they know how to put on their decals and put in proper components that don't create high pitched noises.
That's horrible!


sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gif

TheBigC is offline  
post #29 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ChickenInferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 4,608
Rep: 571 (Unique: 373)
Hmm. I've never had anything but far superior products from corsair. I wonder what. The difference between this one and the other models are in terms of production.



ChickenInferno is offline  
post #30 of 244 (permalink) Old 08-19-2010, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rszanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 425
Rep: 46 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenInferno View Post
Hmm. I've never had anything but far superior products from corsair. I wonder what. The difference between this one and the other models are in terms of production.
Me too, I was a proud Corsair supporter. I have the 850 watt PSU, the 1000 watt PSU, a 800d case, and even a 256gb SSD. No problems, but now I upgrade and bam this is what happens.

rszanto is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off