Coolmax 600w with 6950? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Coolmax 600w with 6950?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Akali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Will it work? The PSU have dual rails. 12V1=17A 12V2=18A. If it don't will HD 6870 or 6850 work instead?

Akali is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:16 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
It would be perfectly fine, and even more than enough:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#3



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #3 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:20 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,814
If this is your PSU, I'd say no...not enough. Anything with "Max" in its name, should be thrown away immediately (except Enermax). That unit claims 420w on the 12v rail, and that is PEAK power. Which means its likely somewhere around a 200-300w unit at best.

I wouldn't run anything on that unit. If you have enough for a 6950, grab a GOOD PSU, and like a 6870 instead.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 6,983
Rep: 826 (Unique: 661)
Yes but remember the PSU is more like a 450w. So I wouldn't overclock that much on it.

*Edit* Good point pioneerisloud.

"Just because you are a character doesn't mean that you have character." —The Wolf from Pulp Fiction
SimpleTech is offline  
post #5 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Akali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud View Post
If this is your PSU, I'd say no...not enough. Anything with "Max" in its name, should be thrown away immediately (except Enermax). That unit claims 420w on the 12v rail, and that is PEAK power. Which means its likely somewhere around a 200-300w unit at best.

I wouldn't run anything on that unit. If you have enough for a 6950, grab a GOOD PSU, and like a 6870 instead.
I don't have money to upgrade the psu sadly, but 6870 or 6850 should work right?

Akali is offline  
post #6 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:33 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akali View Post
I don't have money to upgrade the psu sadly, but 6870 or 6850 should work right?
If you have enough money to get a $300 6950, you have MORE than enough to get a $225 6870 and a $75 PSU.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #7 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:33 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Oh good grief. Your PSU is fine. AMD wouldn't say a 500W is all you'd need if it excluded your PSU. Do you think they would want to risk having customers complaining because they have a 600W Coolmax and it wasn't enough?

It's enough. Their site doesn't say "when we say 500W, we only mean high quality power supplies". Instead, they have to cover their butts and say 500W. This even means if you had a generic 500W, then it should still be enough. Again, AMD doesn't want to run the risk of having customers calling and saying "what the hell? I have a 500W power supply, but it's not enough! Your site says it's enough! WHY?!"

If it's not enough power, then I will eat my entire sig rig.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #8 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:36 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
Oh good grief. Your PSU is fine. AMD wouldn't say a 500W is all you'd need if it excluded your PSU. Do you think they would want to risk having customers complaining because they have a 600W Coolmax and it wasn't enough?

It's enough. Their site doesn't say "when we say 500W, we only mean high quality power supplies". Instead, they have to cover their butts and say 500W. This even means if you had a generic 500W, then it should still be enough. Again, AMD doesn't want to run the risk of having customers calling and saying "what the hell? I have a 500W power supply, but it's not enough! Your site says it's enough! WHY?!"

If it's not enough power, then I will eat my entire sig rig.
For once, I have to completely disagree with you.

Would you rather see him get a 6950, and then come back in 6 months complaining of a PSU fire? Or would you rather see him get a 6870 and a good PSU now, and that way he could upgrade to crossfire in the future if he wanted to?

I think the choice is obvious.

EDIT:
Although I would really like to see you eat your rig. Better post it up on youtube for me .

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #9 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:41 PM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Sigh. A PSU fire? For real?

Again; http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#3

500W is recommended. His PSU is rated for 600W. It's not like he has a junker.

BUT NOW IF HE HAD A 450W-500W COOLMAX, THEN YEAH, I MIGHT WORRY A LITTLE BIT!

Anyway, I'd rather not be the person who causes him to spend more money than he's obviously looking to spend, right Akali?


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #10 of 202 (permalink) Old 12-27-2010, 11:44 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
Sigh. A PSU fire? For real?

Again; http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#3

500W is recommended. His PSU is rated for 600W. It's not like he has a junker.

BUT NOW IF HE HAD A 450W-500W COOLMAX, THEN YEAH, I MIGHT WORRY A LITTLE BIT!

Anyway, I'd rather not be the person who causes him to spend more money than he's obviously looking to spend.
I'm not telling him to spend more than he's willing to. He's clearly got a roughly $300 budget if he's considering the 6950. This is why I'm recommending a 6870 and a good PSU. Would be the same price as the 6950 or cheaper.

And go look at the sticker on that CoolMax unit. It's a REALLY old design, considering it has a lot of power on the 5v and 3.3v rails. And its only rated for 420w PEAK on the 12v rails. The 6950 will easily pull 250w on its own, if not more after an overclock. If that PSU can only produce 250w continuous, it WILL pop.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off