How to adjust PSU fan speed? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

How to adjust PSU fan speed?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tito13kfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 54
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
300W power supply from unknown company and 5 years old. I'd be surprised if you got 80% efficiency on it. That would put you at 240W of peak performance. You might literally be pushing that thing to its limit.
tito13kfm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
beers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 14,046
Rep: 893 (Unique: 710)
OEM PSU's are generally the last things you want to use.
Quote:
I'd be surprised if you got 80% efficiency on it. That would put you at 240W of peak performance.
Efficiency is based off of conversion from AC to DC, it doesn't affect the rating on the sticker. 80% efficiency while using 300w DC would mean you're pulling 375w from the wall.

You're approaching it's limit and wondering why the fan is on all the time?
Really?
And then you want to manually turn the fan down?

Poof.
I'd never let you near my PC tongue.gif

beers is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
hmm, I guess you guys are right.

Overdrivex2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 02:03 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,881
You're pushing that PSU too hard then. Get an Antec Neo ECO 400w (best super budget PSU usually), and call it a day. It'll also allow you a GPU upgrade in the future.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.65GHz, 1.45v (105.68x44)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1425 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1690, 9-9-9-24-1T, 1.66v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0 (400GB)
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 520w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Insignia 40" LED 1080p / 60Hz Non Smart TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
I actually have the Antec Basiq 350w in mind. I'm not planning on using this PC for gaming or anything special so the the integrated graphics is sufficient. Plus I recently bought the Antec Basiq 350w from my local electronics store and just returned it yesterday thinking I wouldn't need it......but on the bright side they marked it down $4 cuz i returned it. So I'll go back and buy it, lmao:D

Overdrivex2 is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 02:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Philadelphia, USA
Posts: 4,146
Rep: 473 (Unique: 380)
That'll work for the system in your sig.



Shub is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 02:26 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdrivex2;12448528 
I actually have the Antec Basiq 350w in mind. I'm not planning on using this PC for gaming or anything special so the the integrated graphics is sufficient. Plus I recently bought the Antec Basiq 350w from my local electronics store and just returned it yesterday thinking I wouldn't need it......but on the bright side they marked it down $4 cuz i returned it. So I'll go back and buy it, lmao:D

It's a decent enough unit. It'll handle your build just fine, with a little wiggle room to spare wink.gif.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.65GHz, 1.45v (105.68x44)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1425 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1690, 9-9-9-24-1T, 1.66v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0 (400GB)
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 520w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Insignia 40" LED 1080p / 60Hz Non Smart TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
Yup, thank for all the help guys!

Overdrivex2 is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-22-2017, 03:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bruno3833's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I also have a problem with noisy psu. I have 1.5 year old computer. Psu is fractal design integra m 500w in fractals case - node 304, which also has fractal design coolers. Coolers on case nor on cpu arent loud. Its Psu. What to do?
bruno3833 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off