How to adjust PSU fan speed? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

How to adjust PSU fan speed?

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
Hey guys I recently built a rig and everything runs smooth, except the fan for my power supply runs full speed all the time. My mobo is a Biostar A880G+ and I'm wondering if there's any way to adjust its speed in the bios.

Overdrivex2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:42 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,907
No. If the fan is running all the time, that means your PSU is running hot usually. Or its a really cheap PSU. Either way, sounds like you need a different PSU.

What unit is it exactly?

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BayMax
(10 items)
FanzGoBrrr
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.65GHz, 1.45v (105.68x44)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1425 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1690, 9-9-9-24-1T, 1.66v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0 (400GB)
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 520w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2608L v3 x2
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DRL-I
GPU
Onboard
RAM
16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 ECC / Registered
Hard Drive
Crucial BX500 120GB
Hard Drive
40TB FreeNAS Array
Power Supply
CoolerMaster MasterWatt 750w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling 92mm Tower x2
Case
P Link USA 20 Hotswap Bay 4u Chassis
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2683 v4 16 core x2
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DRL-I
RAM
16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 ECC / Registered
Hard Drive
120GB Crucial BX500
Hard Drive
1TB Crucial BX500
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 7200RPM x2 (RAID 1)
Power Supply
CoolerMaster Masterwatt 750w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling 92mm Tower x2
Case
P Link USA EATX Locking Front 4u Chassis
Operating System
Windows 10 + VMWare
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:42 PM
Turd Burglar
 
Kratthew D. Kraids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lomira, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,144
Rep: 104 (Unique: 97)
I don't think so, I never saw any options like that in my Biostar BIOS.

ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ


Kratthew D. Kraids is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud;12448219 
No. If the fan is running all the time, that means your PSU is running hot usually. Or its a really cheap PSU. Either way, sounds like you need a different PSU.

What unit is it exactly?

Hmm, the power supply is like 5 years old, its a 300w and my setup is barely taking 250w. So i'm unsure as to why it would be running hot.

Overdrivex2 is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:47 PM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdrivex2;12448243 
Hmm, the power supply is like 5 years old, its a 300w and my setup is barely taking 250w. So i'm unsure as to why it would be running hot.

1) Power supplies age over time, and put out less power.
2) You never stated WHAT 300w unit you have. Is it junk or a good unit?
3) You also haven't listed what your GPU is.

Either its a cheap unit that doesn't have automated fan control, or it DOES have automated fan control, and it actually needs that fan at full speed. Either way, you need a new PSU.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BayMax
(10 items)
FanzGoBrrr
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.65GHz, 1.45v (105.68x44)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1425 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1690, 9-9-9-24-1T, 1.66v
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0 (400GB)
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
Seasonic M12II Evo 520w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2608L v3 x2
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DRL-I
GPU
Onboard
RAM
16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 ECC / Registered
Hard Drive
Crucial BX500 120GB
Hard Drive
40TB FreeNAS Array
Power Supply
CoolerMaster MasterWatt 750w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling 92mm Tower x2
Case
P Link USA 20 Hotswap Bay 4u Chassis
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2683 v4 16 core x2
Motherboard
SuperMicro X10DRL-I
RAM
16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 ECC / Registered
Hard Drive
120GB Crucial BX500
Hard Drive
1TB Crucial BX500
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 7200RPM x2 (RAID 1)
Power Supply
CoolerMaster Masterwatt 750w
Cooling
Arctic Cooling 92mm Tower x2
Case
P Link USA EATX Locking Front 4u Chassis
Operating System
Windows 10 + VMWare
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 885
Rep: 59 (Unique: 55)
Unless it's branded, liklihood is it wasn't a good PSU to begin with, and if it's running hot at idle (I assume it as - hence "all the time"), then you'd probably do well to get a new (and better quality, branded) one.

Also, point to note: Since the PSU only plugs into the motherboard via power leads, it shouldn't have a way to control the fan externally.

Si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes.

Korlus is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ontario canada
Posts: 1,559
Rep: 64 (Unique: 59)
most PSU speeds cant be adjusted by means of software, but there are more difficult options of opening up the psu and installing a voltage capacitor on the fan... or of course you could put in a new fan of the same size and mod the wires to connect to your psu voltage output. And fan of the same size should work fine, so if you find one that has a good mix between high air flow _ low DBA you should be gold smile.gif

Im a furry artist!

If interested PM me for my gallery

~*~*OCN FURRY FAN CLUB*~*~

AlaskaFox is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:51 PM
Retired Staff
 
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 16,520
Rep: 1730 (Unique: 1138)
Software cannot influence anything to do with the power supply. At all. Period.

Burning books is like burning bras; after the adrenaline rush of the symbolic moment wears off all you're left with is a pile of ashes and unsupported boobs.
Phaedrus2129 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:56 PM
Turd Burglar
 
Kratthew D. Kraids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lomira, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,144
Rep: 104 (Unique: 97)
Sounds like someone needs a new PSU, 5 years old, 300w, and full speed fan. It's on it's last leg, Time to upgrade biggrin.gif
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371007

ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ


Kratthew D. Kraids is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-19-2011, 01:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 82
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud;12448261 
1) Power supplies age over time, and put out less power.
2) You never stated WHAT 300w unit you have. Is it junk or a good unit?
3) You also haven't listed what your GPU is.

Either its a cheap unit that doesn't have automated fan control, or it DOES have automated fan control, and it actually needs that fan at full speed. Either way, you need a new PSU.

The power supply is from my sony vaio pcv-rs 420, before this setup it never ran full speed, I have no GPU installed, I'm using integrated.

Overdrivex2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off