LSI Megaraid 9265i (Unexpected sense: PD = --:--:3 - ) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

LSI Megaraid 9265i (Unexpected sense: PD = --:--:3 - )

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-20-2012, 12:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lost in Transition..
Posts: 648
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
Greetings my fellow HD guru's and likes, I was wondering if any of you have seen this message or have any idea what it means? I can't seem to find anything on Google regarding this.

LSI MegaRaid 9265i : WD Black 2 TB (WDCWD2002FAEX0) X4 Raid 5, These are SATA drives, not SAS..

The array passes consistency checks, so I am not sure what this is all about. Thanks Advance..

other spec:
i52500K (1.6/3.4ghz), Gigabyte Z68 UD3, 16GB Corsair Vengeance (1333mhz), Corsair AX750, Windows Server 2003 Ent SP2.
Quote:
ID = 430
SEQUENCE NUMBER = 1681
TIME = 15-04-2012 01:54:37
LOCALIZED MESSAGE = Controller ID: 0 Unexpected sense: PD = --:--:3 - Power on, reset, or bus device reset occurred, CDB = 0x2a 0x00 0x4e 0x48 0xba 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x80 0x00 , Sense = 0x70 0x00 0x06 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0b 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x29 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00

ID = 429
SEQUENCE NUMBER = 1680
TIME = 15-04-2012 01:54:37
LOCALIZED MESSAGE = Controller ID: 0 Unexpected sense: PD = --:--:3 - Power on, reset, or bus device reset occurred, CDB = 0x2a 0x00 0x4e 0x48 0x9b 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x80 0x00 , Sense = 0x70 0x00 0x06 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0a 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x29 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00

ID = 428
SEQUENCE NUMBER = 1679
TIME = 15-04-2012 01:54:33
LOCALIZED MESSAGE = Controller ID: 0 Unexpected sense: PD = --:--:3 - Power on, reset, or bus device reset occurred, CDB = 0x2a 0x00 0x4e 0x48 0x91 0x80 0x00 0x00 0x80 0x00 , Sense = 0x70 0x00 0x06 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x0a 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x29 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00 0x00

frank anderson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-04-2012, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lost in Transition..
Posts: 648
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
Anyone can help?

I am still getting this msg..
Code:
Controller ID:  0   Unexpected sense:   PD  
    =   --:--:0 - Power on, reset, or bus device reset occurred,   CDB   =    0x28  0x00  0x51  0xc7  0x66  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x80  0x00     ,   Sense   =    0x70  0x00  0x06  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x0b  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x29  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x00  0x00

It does not appear to be broken or anything, the Raid 5 (4x WD Blacks 2TB) still works and it passes integrity check, anyone seen this msg before and can I just ignore it?

frank anderson is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-09-2012, 05:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BBHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Land of OZ
Posts: 26
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Did you plug in a new drive by any chance? I get that message when I plug in a new drive. Maybe double check all your cables are plugged in properly.
BBHP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-09-2012, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lost in Transition..
Posts: 648
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
nope, no new drives.. The drives were the same drives I had since day 1 of using the LSI..

Pretty sure the cables are inserted correctly, the drives read / write properly and the RAID 5 passes consistency checks, it's just that random error msg leaves me stumped..

frank anderson is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-08-2012, 11:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sungod23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Double check your connections, especially to the physical drive referenced, and then get ready to replace that drive if it keeps generating that error - physical 3, from the look of it?
sungod23 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-08-2012, 11:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mezmenir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,377
Rep: 84 (Unique: 63)
Not an expert here by any means, but you're using WD Black FAEX drives in RAID 5. The "desktop" version of these drives lacked TLER last time I read about WD and RAID. That said, the only difference between these and the RE series is TLER, which is why they are "RE" or Raid-Enabled. WD Blacks generally hate parity RAID configurations. How long have you been getting that error? As others suggested, it might be physical too- especially if it just started.

2cents.gif


mezmenir is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-11-2012, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Irisservice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 302
Rep: 11 (Unique: 8)
any update on this problem..


Irisservice is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-16-2012, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lost in Transition..
Posts: 648
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
Lost my own subscription list, just recently found the "My Threads" button... cheers.gif

Problem still here, was working with LSI on it then went off on a hiatus for 6 months, just contacted back LSI again so picking up where I left off.. Keep Posted..

frank anderson is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-18-2012, 06:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lost in Transition..
Posts: 648
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
found the culprit, feeling kinda dumb that I didn't try this in the first place..

The culprit was the SATA Backplane, Icy Dock 4 in 3 SATA backplane to be exact.. I removed the drives from it and plugged it in directly to the raid card and PSU, ran a script that copied files a TB at a time for the past 12 hours, no error message...

doh... cheers.gif

frank anderson is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 03:25 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,056
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
FYI I get this message on my PERC 5/i (A re-badged LSI MegaRaid SAS Raid card) using SATA hard drives, everything operates normally and there's no ill effects. I think it's just the controller sending SAS commands to the hard drives and them being SATA they don't respond in a normal fashion and this weird message comes up. It doesn't seem to effect performance in any way what so ever, it's just a weird message. If performance is fine otherwise I'd disregard that for the most part, I am with mine.
kithylin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off