HowTo : Recover Intel RAID "Non-Member Disk" Error.. - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HowTo : Recover Intel RAID "Non-Member Disk" Error..

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-04-2011, 03:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZoXoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Woohoo!! It worked!!
I had a failed RAID 0 setup, because I switched my drives to different SATA ports, then afterwards I had 1 failed RAID and 1 non-raid disk.
I took a picture of the settings for my RAID, found in the Intel Matrix screen, than deleted the RAID and recreated it.
In Windows, I used TestDisk like you said (a guide can be found here: http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Step_By_Step)
And it totally worked!!! I have everything back, without having to use extra disks!

Thanks a lot!
10 minutes of worked and what a result!
Rep+
ZoXoR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-06-2011, 12:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
marchewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I am having a similar error that is listed on this thread. However, I am dealing with a RAID-5 non-bootable array. The unknown drive is showing up as an internal drive within the Intel rapid storage manager. The unknown array drive has the same serial number of the internal drive, except the unknown array drive as a :0 after the serial number. Would these same instuctions still work for my RAID-5 array, or is there another way I can restore this array? I have an extra 2TB drive (same as the four drives in the array). Could I set one up as a spare and would that allow the array to rebuild automatically?

Thanks,
Dan
marchewd is offline  
post #23 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-07-2011, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
This worked like a boss. Even on a 3TB (GPT MS file table) formatted with ext2 on Windows Server 2008 R2. Fantastic.

For those with GPT file tables (if you have a filesystem bigger than 2TB, you will), I did a Google search "TestDisk gpt" and found some git commits (dated ~2010) which corrected a couple of bugs for GPT. The TestDisk version 6.11.3 (6 May 2009) would have this bug, so I used the Beta WIP version, 6.12. I encountered no problems using the Beta.
dilbert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-08-2011, 01:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wiremaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,021
Rep: 82 (Unique: 81)
Yay! I got my RAID 0 partitions back. 70% of the way through the RAID 1.


Wiremaster is offline  
post #25 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 07:46 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida, United States
Posts: 15,199
Rep: 417 (Unique: 290)
I want to add additional information. Using ZAR (Zero Assumption Recovery) you can recover any RAID without the controller or settings it was set up with. It does this by, as it was named, assuming nothing. I'm on my second round using it after I gave up on fixing this failed RAID5 (2/3 disks read as offline without reason.) The process is roughly the same as using Testdisk. The Testdisk methode, however, is much faster. ZAR takes a lifetime to process.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie;7389203 
Thanks, I appreciate the share.

Running a RAID0 array without a back-up is akin to playing Russian Roulette with no empty chambers. wink.gif

I had a four HDD RAID0 for three years before decommissioning it for my Revodrive. Never once a problem. Gotta love single platter WD drives. (4x160GB)
Licht is offline  
post #26 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 08:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 144 (Unique: 119)
Quote:
I had a four HDD RAID0 for three years before decommissioning it for my Revodrive. Never once a problem. Gotta love single platter WD drives. (4x160GB)
Cool!

But my statement still stands. smile.gif

I can't stand phonies, liars, and thieves.

Old Hippie is offline  
post #27 of 293 (permalink) Old 04-27-2011, 09:03 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida, United States
Posts: 15,199
Rep: 417 (Unique: 290)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Hippie;13291701 
Cool!

But my statement still stands. smile.gif

Oh no doubt. I was just attesting to the outstanding quality of those little drives. Today they are operating in four separate machines... We'll see which one dies first.
Licht is offline  
post #28 of 293 (permalink) Old 05-25-2011, 01:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
defecta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
yeah well im another one who 'confidently' deleted the RAID array only to lose everything. this guide is not without its perils people. on two different PCs

fortunately we havent lost anything as we have daily backups.
defecta is offline  
post #29 of 293 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 08:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ProjektSUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Wow, what a PITA this issue is, I almost died thinking I lost all my data. I have kind of a weird setup and I had a couple extra steps that enabled me to recover all the data. I also didn't have to deal with recovery of a boot up drive as this is just a massive storage array for media. My setup is an MSI Z68MA-ED55 motherboard using Intel's newest Z68 chipset. I have an 80GB Intel SSD boot drive, a 60GB Crucial SSD cache drive (to accelerate the RAID array), and (3) 3TB disks configured in a RAID5 array. The RAID disks were configured as one, huge GPT/NTFS partion of 5.5TB's usable space in Windows 7 64bit. Here's what I did to recover all my data:

1. Go into Intel RAID BIOS using CTRL-I and delete all non-member disks. I also deleted the 60GB SSD cache drive that I was using for the Z68's special caching and removed it from the array. Basically, I removed all the disks, and deleted the array, and removed the SSD from caching... a blank canvas.

2. Recreate the RAID5 array using the exact same name and settings as the one that was lost.

3. I booted Windows 7 up and used the Intel disk manager to add my 60GB SSD to accelerate the array. Again, used the exact same settings that I did before.

4. This is what tripped me up. I couldn't get the TestDisk program to properly find my partitions, it kept thinking it was a MAC EFS partition. It knew something was there, but I couldn't figure out how to make it work right, and the user interface was bugging me. I had bought Paragon Partition Manager 11 Personal Edition back at some point and had it installed already, so I decided to give it a try. I ran the partition recovery tool and it found the lost partition right off the bat, but wanted to do a lengthy scan of all sectors on the disk, which would have taken hours probably, so I just stopped the scan, right after it found my partition (within a min). Paragon's partition recovery found the 5.5TB partition and saw that 2.5TB's were in use. Hooray I thought! But I wasn't quite there... when I tried to recover it, it claimed it had succeeded, but when I went into the Windows Disk Manager, it showed multiple partitions, which wasn't correct... for some reason it had broken up the disk into multiple partitions which were limited to 2TB. I held my breath, deleted all the partitions in Disk Manager so there was only 5.5TB's of free space. I then converted the disk to a GPT disk. I went back into Partition Manager and re-ran the partition recovery and once again recovered the partition. Voila!!! Windows Disk Manager now saw the whole 5.5TB partition. The last thing I had to do was assign it a drive letter and do a quick chkdsk, which didn't really find any problems. In any case, all my data is back, and my system is now running fine.

Thank you to the original authors of this thread, you got me started on the right track and if it weren't for you I'd be crying right now.
ProjektSUN is offline  
post #30 of 293 (permalink) Old 07-20-2011, 08:28 PM
Eh, Wha?
 
Zero4549's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,886
Rep: 719 (Unique: 531)
I really wish my search found this a couple months ago.. or that someone would have pointed it out to me in one of my threads... *sigh* oh well. Thank you. Will have to keep this for later.

Systems: Fukurou | Prodigy | Tempest | ArcaneServers: Minecraft SMP | Logs: Build Log - Arcane | Video Logs: Project Arcane
Quote:Originally Posted by Zen00 https://www.overclock.net/img/forum/go_quote.gifZero, you are a master story teller, I am sleep now. http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif
Arcane
(33 items)
Sanctum
(9 items)
Fukurou
(14 items)
CPU
Core i7 980x
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 1080TI DUKE
GPU
MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning
RAM
Kingston HyperX T1
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black FASS
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Hard Drive
WD FALS
Optical Drive
Sony DVD Burner w/ Lightscribe
Optical Drive
LG Bluray + HDDVD
Power Supply
EVGA 1000 P2
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 360
Cooling
Black Ice GTX 240
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (64)
Monitor
X-Star DP2710
Monitor
ASUS VK266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Keyboard
X-Armor U9BL (Mech)
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Cougar Control
Audio
ATH-A900X
Audio
Maudio AV-40
Audio
Polk PSW-10
Audio
Zalman Mic-1 (Clip-on Mic)
Audio
Sound Blaster X7 LE
Other
Logitech G13
Other
Wacom Intuos 3
Other
Modded PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, and Logitech PC Controllers
Other
Thrustmaster T.16000M FCS HOTAS
Other
Rocketfish 720p Webcam
Other
Scythe "3-Foot Switch"
CPU
Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard
MSI B350M Mortar Arctic
GPU
RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960
Hard Drive
Consatellation
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1050
Case
Raijintek Aeneas White Window
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Core i5-661
Motherboard
GA-H55-USB3
RAM
12GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black AALS 640GB
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Green EARS 2TB
Hard Drive
Vertex Turbo 60GB (SSD)
Optical Drive
Samsung Blu-ray, Samsung DVD Burner
Power Supply
Seasonic X750 Gold
Cooling
H50 (With push/pull nocturas)
Case
CM690 II
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional 64
Monitor
LG 47inch LED LCD
Keyboard
Saitek Eclipse Lite-touch Wireless
Audio
Passive bookshelfspeakers + amp.
▲ hide details ▲


Zero4549 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off