FIX: AHCI/SATA drives showing in "Safely Remove Hardware" - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

FIX: AHCI/SATA drives showing in "Safely Remove Hardware"

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 57 (permalink) Old 09-12-2011, 02:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
therock003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 616
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0adphr0g;14836844 
I created this fix with only the motherboard SATA stack in mind, Windows MSAHCI sees it as Controller 0. Does it see your RAID card as Controller 1? Then make a key accordingly.


1. As far as your eSata drive, if it is plugged into SATA ports 0-6, and you want it to still be treated as external, then change the value to "0".

2. My "fix" is for systems that are running AHCI. If you are not running AHCI, this fix is not for you.

Thanx man for getting back to me. As i said on my followup post i did set it up as 0 value but didnt quite work. It is plugged on ports 0-6 and i am working with AHCI enabled for these ports, so this seems odd.

BTW i havent created entries for each port. Just the one port i know the eSata drive is connected. And of course i did make a restart but still there was no sade remove option.

Could you think of any other reason this might not work for me? I'm on an AMD system, and have a gigabyte board. They seem to have issues. I also had an Intel Gigabyte and other strange things happened...

therock003 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 57 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 05:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zoik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I know this is an old thread, BUT.. Do you or anyone else know a registry fix for a Marvell controller? My Marvell RAID 0 setup is showing up in the tray as a safely remove hardware icon as well. I only noticed it today for some reason. Not sure if it was there the whole time or not.
zoik is offline  
post #13 of 57 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
t0adphr0g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maryland City, Maryland USA
Posts: 868
Rep: 63 (Unique: 57)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoik View Post

I know this is an old thread, BUT.. Do you or anyone else know a registry fix for a Marvell controller? My Marvell RAID 0 setup is showing up in the tray as a safely remove hardware icon as well. I only noticed it today for some reason. Not sure if it was there the whole time or not.

I have a ASUS Sabertooth X58 motherboard, this also has a Marvell SATA 6 controller.

You just need to go into your Device Manager to turn off the "Safely Remove" function.

here I took a picture:

453

Open Device Manager, open Storage controllers, then just right click "Marvell 91xx...", choose properties, then go to the policies tab, and uncheck the box "Enable safely remove disk."

I would then reboot, to see the change.
t0adphr0g is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 57 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zoik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
wow, thanks for the easy fix! Did not know that option existed.
zoik is offline  
post #15 of 57 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 01:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
therock003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 616
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Yes, i didn't know that as well. Maybe i need to check this in order to remove my external eSata drives. Hope this works.

therock003 is offline  
post #16 of 57 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 11:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
therock003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 616
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Is this option only for marvell controllers? Cause i cant find it anywhere on my computer...

therock003 is offline  
post #17 of 57 (permalink) Old 05-22-2012, 02:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SuperDeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 221
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
the Intel Rapid Storage Technology only works on new motherboards not old ones like mine it wont install

but the regedit by t0adphr0g Worked PERFECT!!! i'm amazed.

i didn't want to mess with the regedit but i had no choice and it worked i'm so happy that it fixed my problem smile.gif I have been looking for DAYS now to fix that issue and with your help i was able to fix it.
i'm so glad there is people like t0adphr0g who share there knowledge on fixing these kind of things i really appreciate it for reals Thanks!

my problem started on this link direct link https://www.overclock.net/t/1255982/intel-ssd-520-series-problem

i have 3 SSD and they all showed up in the remove hardware icon spot like this 274

and every time i shutdown my PC unexpected power loss and unsafe shutdown count would increase on all 3 Intel 520 Series SSD in the SMART part of the Intel Tool Box by 1 like this 458 direct link http://i45.tinypic.com/15i983k.jpg

i looked everywhere and on the Intel forums everybody is saying ignore it the smart values mean nothing its not important and that's normal i couldn't believe that its normal for the numbers to go up because in my laptop the numbers do not go up look 700 direct link http://i50.tinypic.com/2wck1ua.jpg
as you can see on my laptop the unexpected power loss and unsafe shutdown count do not go up just the power cycle count go's up every time i turn on my laptop now that's normal.

and the laptop does not show the usb remove icon so i figured that's my problem i used google and found this forum smile.gif and now its fixed the numbers no longer go up in the smart area just the power cycle count but i hope i fixed it on time that Intel wont tell me that my warranty is no longer good because of those numbers frown.gif

Thank you So much!!! t0adphr0g you are Awesome!

SuperDeo is offline  
post #18 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 09:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
This is in NO WAY resolve the Intel 520 problem.

Tested on GA-P67A-UD7-B3, no change at all.

Also, this issue have absolutely nothing to do with so called "warranty".

Gradius is offline  
post #19 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SuperDeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 221
Rep: 28 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradius View Post

This is in NO WAY resolve the Intel 520 problem.
Tested on GA-P67A-UD7-B3, no change at all.
Also, this issue have absolutely nothing to do with so called "warranty".
i can try to help you smile.gif
first check that you didn't use the Marvell Sata connectors i think its the white ones on your board and the esata not sure ?
second check that you installed windows 7 in ACHI mode under bios since that's the method i used not IDE or RAID
did you install a chipset driver (Intel Management Engine Interface) if so uninstall it and see if the stock windows drivers work for you (i'm using the stock ones there is no chipset driver for my board)
maybe try the Intel raid storage technology like others have stated here
do you have sata hot plug in your bios try disabling them all
if you have a old video card try using that one a faulty video card may cause windows to hang on shutdown
does your ssd show in safely remove hardware area ?

you can explain your problem in more detail to see what is going on

also i do not know about the warranty and Intel is aware of the unsafe shutdown count and other problems
but if it does not bother you then you can do what everybody on the Intel forums is doing and not worry about it
but it was killing me since my Notebook does not have that issue so i had to find a fix for me biggrin.gif

SuperDeo is offline  
post #20 of 57 (permalink) Old 08-31-2012, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nimzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0adphr0g View Post

Ever since I set my BIOS to AHCI, I was plagued with my SATA connected drives showing up in the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon.
I understand that eSata, and USB devices should show up there. However, my internal devices, HDDs, CD/DVD/BluRay are showing up as well.
I didn't want to have to reinstall Windows 7, and set BIOS to SATA/RAID.
I wanted a better solution.
I found it!
This is a Registry fix.
You should ALWAYS back up your registry before you make changes - it only takes a second to do it, and if anything happens to it you'll need to reinstall...
Here we go...
Regedit your way to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ SYSTEM\ CurrentControlSet\ services\ msahci
and create a new KEY called "Controller0"
inside Controller0, create a new KEY called "Channel0"
Now inside Channel0, create a new DWORD called "TreatAsInternalPort"
set this value to "1"
(this sets SATA port 0 (Drive C)to no longer show up in "Safely Remove Hardware")
Now, go back into the Controller0 folder again.
inside Controller0, create a new KEY called "Channel1"
Now inside Channel1, create a new DWORD called "TreatAsInternalPort"
set this value to "1"
(this sets SATA port 1 (Drive D)to no longer show up in "Safely Remove Hardware")
And so on, until all internal SATA ports are set to be treated as Internal.
My motherboard has 6 SATA ports, so I have set Channel0 to Channel5.
Here is an example of my registry change:
AHCIregedit.png
Your motherboard may have more or less SATA ports,
just remember to start with 0
6 Ports = 0-5 etc.
Now Reboot to allow changes.
Hooray! only external devices show up now!

if i am using WINDOW 7 64bit,under QWORD should 64 BIT VALUE?
Nimzo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off