Fixing up old subwoofer? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Fixing up old subwoofer?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 10:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GeekFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Alright, so a couple years ago, Home Depot had an awesome sale on MDF. I grabbed a couple sheets of the 3/4" stuff and built a crazily huge sealed subwoofer box. The dimensions are 45x18x15, for a total of 12.247 cubic feet. There is a brace/divider seperating the two halves of the box, making each sub's enclosure bout 6 cubic feet.

I decided to save up a little cash to finish this long lost project, and my current budget is around $200-$250. The drivers in there now are some old 12's I got from a garage sale, all for a grand total of $5. They aren't the best, so my first order of business is replacing them.

Anyone have suggestions on some decent subwoofers that would fit my budget? Right now, I'm looking at the Dayton DCS385-4 for $100 each.

GeekFreak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: zodac's silky sheets
Posts: 5,232
Rep: 294 (Unique: 245)
Do you have an amp already? It will determine impedance.
I would grab a pair of Alpine Type R 12's. Their rated at 600W a piece, Ive put 900W (RMS) a piece to mine and they loved it. They are a little out of your budeget at 140 each though

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_25518_Alpine_SWR-1243D.aspx

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_25517_Alpine_SWR-1223D.aspx


OutOfBalanceOX is offline  
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:19 AM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,816
Why are you putting 12's in such a large sealed enclosure? confused.gif

6 cuft is 15-18" area for a ported box.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
banging34hzs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,102
Rep: 42 (Unique: 39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud;14556623 
Why are you putting 12's in such a large sealed enclosure? confused.gif

6 cuft is 15-18" area for a ported box.

lmao, so true. 6 cubes is enuff for 2 BIG 12" drivers.
banging34hzs is offline  
post #5 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: zodac's silky sheets
Posts: 5,232
Rep: 294 (Unique: 245)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud;14556623 
Why are you putting 12's in such a large sealed enclosure? confused.gif

6 cuft is 15-18" area for a ported box.

this is also true, so take a saw and cut the box in thirds, 2cuft is plenty (and by that I mean generally too much) for sealed 12's


OutOfBalanceOX is offline  
post #6 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:24 AM
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 32,816
Pick your subs first, THEN build the box around the specs of the subs. wink.gif You'll get a lot better sound that way.

DisposalAreav4.0
(15 items)
BeigeBox
(16 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.4GHz, 1.33v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
GPU
Asus RX580 8GB @ 1400 / 2150
RAM
Kingston HyperX (4x4GB) @ DDR3-1600, 8-9-8-24-1T
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB + Sandisk Ultra 240GB RAID0
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB 3.5"
Power Supply
PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKIII 950w
Cooling
CoolerMaster 240mm
Case
DIY PC Cuboid Blue mATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23" 1080p / 60Hz
Keyboard
Redragon 10 keyless
Mouse
Logitech Optical Mouse USB
Mousepad
Generic Onn Black
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Core i5 3570
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2.5" RAID0 1TB (500x2)
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Philips 32" Roku TV
Keyboard
Logitech K400R
Mouse
Logitech K400R
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
TV Speakers / Monoprice Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #7 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 06:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: zodac's silky sheets
Posts: 5,232
Rep: 294 (Unique: 245)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud;14556681 
Pick your subs first, THEN build the box around the specs of the subs. wink.gif You'll get a lot better sound that way.

this is generally how it's done....


OutOfBalanceOX is offline  
post #8 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GeekFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I know, I know, I didn't really think this through when I made it, but it was built to fit perfectly in a "cubby" in the wall.

The 12s were just placeholders until I could afford to upgrade. The Dayton DCS385 is a 15, with people using sealed boxes around my size. Those Alpines look sweet, and I've got a couple of the 10" ones in my car, but I'm looking more at 15s at the moment.

Oh, and I've got an old Denon DRA-375RD in the garage, meaning 8ohms is our sweetspot. It's only 100w per channel, but I'll upgrade it once I can.

GeekFreak is offline  
post #9 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
GeekFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Anyone have ideas? I'm sure that you guys know better than me.

GeekFreak is offline  
post #10 of 38 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 01:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MightyMission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,632
Rep: 74 (Unique: 58)
Use 4 12s to drive an 18,
or liberate some 18" yellow plastic tube(the type used for running water)
and stick an 18 on one end and leave the other open,true sub effects and not a whole lot of noise...
I thank you L.S.Diezel!

MightyMission is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off