Onkyo TX-SR600 sound extremely flat vs old pioneer A331 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Onkyo TX-SR600 sound extremely flat vs old pioneer A331

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-30-2015, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
222Panther222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: QC
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
Only have 2 speakers hooked to it and It seems that the amp doesn't send the frequency below 80hz to them.
I made sure speakers are well connected, that they are set to "Large" and sub-woofer option to off.
I also reset the receiver, it's like there is no low at all, even eq with the bass at +12.
Then when i switch to my old pioneer and the lows are there.

_
Never believe the hype.
Consoles aren't about hardware, they're about good games.
_________________________________________________________
222Panther222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-01-2015, 06:31 AM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Have you tried messing around with these controls?


https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-01-2015, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
222Panther222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: QC
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
Yes there is no difference between DIRECT or STEREO mode and the AUDIO ADJUST button is for the treble/bass which even at +12 doesn't sound deep as the pioneer.

_
Never believe the hype.
Consoles aren't about hardware, they're about good games.
_________________________________________________________
222Panther222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-01-2015, 04:19 PM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 222Panther222 View Post

the AUDIO ADJUST button is for the treble/bass which even at +12 doesn't sound deep as the pioneer.
HDoes it make any change at all?

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-01-2015, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
222Panther222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: QC
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
It does sound a bit more punchy but not deep as the other one. What could cause that?

_
Never believe the hype.
Consoles aren't about hardware, they're about good games.
_________________________________________________________
222Panther222 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-01-2015, 08:01 PM
Overclock Failed...
 
billbartuska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 13,565
Rep: 1249 (Unique: 969)
I suspect you have some setting someplace set incorrectly. but, alas, I have no idea what that would be.
I use just a simple stereo amp, I have no truck with all the controls on Av receivers.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club https://www.overclock.net/images/smil...lame-small.gifMisinformation is available from a variety of other sources. Misinformation is just like real information but wrong
....and enough power to shoot the speaker cones through the walls.
billbartuska is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-03-2015, 12:51 AM
Retired Staff
 
hertz9753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND US
Posts: 11,941
Rep: 167 (Unique: 122)


Can you find that in the setup menu under speakers?

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

AVR-Onkyo TX-NR808
Front amp-Adcom GFA 555>Polk Audio LSi9's(Vr3 Castle Mods)
Center amp-Adcom GFA 5400>Polk Audio LSi9 passive bi-amped(Vr3 Castle Mod)
Surrounds-Polk Audio F/X500's
Sub-Velodyne SPL-1000R


hertz9753 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2015, 05:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DzillaXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,228
Rep: 553 (Unique: 389)
Not all Receivers are equal.

I had tested a old crappy sony 5.1 receiver once before, and it was horrid compared to the yamaha I had. Lacked in the lower end, almost sounded like a tin can.


Onkyo Receiver have been known from time to time to sound more hollow, especially the lower end models.


Really not much you can do. It is a fault with the Receiver's weak AMPs and undersized power supply. Most likely it is limited by how much power can be feed into each amp.



If you can, send it back and pickup a Yamaha. Yamaha doesn't mess around with crappy sounding receivers. Denon make some good receivers as well.


Also a Powered Sub may help, but wont fix the real problem.



Also ^ Yes make sure you don't have any active crossover active on your speakers.
DzillaXx is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-06-2015, 05:55 PM
Retired Staff
 
hertz9753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND US
Posts: 11,941
Rep: 167 (Unique: 122)
Just stop.

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

AVR-Onkyo TX-NR808
Front amp-Adcom GFA 555>Polk Audio LSi9's(Vr3 Castle Mods)
Center amp-Adcom GFA 5400>Polk Audio LSi9 passive bi-amped(Vr3 Castle Mod)
Surrounds-Polk Audio F/X500's
Sub-Velodyne SPL-1000R


hertz9753 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off