INSANELY LOUD white noise sudden headphones - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

INSANELY LOUD white noise sudden headphones

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-30-2017, 04:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 736
Rep: 17 (Unique: 17)
WHAT THE FSGKLSGJ

I have never jumped faster in my life...

I've been on my computer for about 2 or so hours, loaded up plenty of games and videos in that time, just then I loaded up a YouTube vlog that was just posted and LOUD NOISEEEEEEE you know those shocknoise videos usually playing that screaming black/white girl? IT WAS EXACTLY LIKE THAT !!! Once I threw my headphones off my head, I paused the YouTube video and it continued to happen, i then turned down Windows Volume and it still happened, all the way to 0% !!!!! A quick Google seems to say that it was an ESD? Also just before it stopped I tried to record it and as I did the noise changed from white noise to a high pitched constant loud tone seconds later completely stopped.

IIRC this has happened once or twice before.

Q.) What is happening exactly?
Q.) What can I do to prevent it in the future?

Camera Gear: Canon 1100D • Canon 50mm f/1.8 • Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 • Velbon EX-430 Tripod
Steam: BindiiNathan XFIRE: Curleyyy Origin: Curleyyy
Curleyyy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-31-2017, 08:38 PM
Retired Staff
 
hertz9753's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND US
Posts: 11,941
Rep: 167 (Unique: 122)
Do you have a link to that video, I want to be scared. biggrin.gif

Don't walk behind me; I may not lead. Don't walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

AVR-Onkyo TX-NR808
Front amp-Adcom GFA 555>Polk Audio LSi9's(Vr3 Castle Mods)
Center amp-Adcom GFA 5400>Polk Audio LSi9 passive bi-amped(Vr3 Castle Mod)
Surrounds-Polk Audio F/X500's
Sub-Velodyne SPL-1000R


hertz9753 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-21-2017, 08:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sjwpwpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere in the Desert
Posts: 232
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
From your Sig it looks like you are using your on board sound correct? If so it could be any number of things, but what I would look at first would be the sound drivers for that motherboard/sound device. Also what headphones are you using?

"If it measures good and sounds bad—it’s bad. If it measures bad and sounds good, you’ve measured the wrong thing." —Daniel R. von Recklinghausen, Chief Engineer, H.H. Scott.

Legue Of Legends Name - GetAwsome - Add me I would love to play!!

sjwpwpro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 07:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tiihokatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,383
Rep: 260 (Unique: 210)
Xonar STX and Asus mobo I presume?

Then you have witnessed the infamous banshee wail. I also had it on Xonar D1 which uses the same c-media chipset as STX.
There is no known fix for it, except for changing soundcard or mobo.

Ppl should learn to add more info to their posts when they ask for help...
OCN Anime/Manga Club
[Official] OCN Headphones and Earphones Club
Tiihokatti is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nugget toes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 506
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
I was having this problem with Youtube videos and didn't realize there was even a term for it. Have not had the problem for about a year after replacing my Xonar card with the Sennheiser GSX1000.
nugget toes is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 08:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 601
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
As stated by the previous posters yes... its the ASUS Xonar Essence STX which causes it.
I had the same card and the same issue, ended up selling it.

It has been said that if you place an infinite amount of monkies by one typewriter each, one of them will eventually write a literary masterpiece. The Internet has proven that this is not the case.
Machine
(16 items)
CPU
4690K
Motherboard
Z97 Sabertooth Mark 2
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill 8GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic P660
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Define S
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
XL2411Z
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
G203
Mousepad
Qpad
Audio
Objective 2 ODAC
Audio
Sennheiser HD600
Audio
Samson Go Mic
▲ hide details ▲
IaVoR is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nugget toes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 506
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IaVoR View Post

As stated by the previous posters yes... its the ASUS Xonar Essence STX which causes it.
I had the same card and the same issue, ended up selling it.

Its not just the Essence STX, I had the Xonar DX and had the problem.
nugget toes is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 08:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 601
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nugget toes View Post

Its not just the Essence STX, I had the Xonar DG and had the problem.

I only posted what I experienced and with what hardware, if it happens with other Xonar cards.. bad for asus and its customers. I know I wont be buying any xonars in the future.

It has been said that if you place an infinite amount of monkies by one typewriter each, one of them will eventually write a literary masterpiece. The Internet has proven that this is not the case.
Machine
(16 items)
CPU
4690K
Motherboard
Z97 Sabertooth Mark 2
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill 8GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic P660
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Define S
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
XL2411Z
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
G203
Mousepad
Qpad
Audio
Objective 2 ODAC
Audio
Sennheiser HD600
Audio
Samson Go Mic
▲ hide details ▲
IaVoR is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-27-2017, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tiihokatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,383
Rep: 260 (Unique: 210)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nugget toes View Post

Its not just the Essence STX, I had the Xonar DX and had the problem.
D1 and DX are identical cards, and they both use the same c-media chipset (CMI8788) which is the root of the problem. D1, DX, ds, dsx, st and stx cards use that chip... For example DG is free of the issue as it uses different chip.
The issue has been around for ages but ever since w10 came out it has become even more common.
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/xonar-essense-stx-random-loud-high-pitched-ringing-noise.494565/

Ppl should learn to add more info to their posts when they ask for help...
OCN Anime/Manga Club
[Official] OCN Headphones and Earphones Club
Tiihokatti is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-13-2018, 11:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
No Resolution

Only resolution is to not buy ASUS Xonar products. I Switched to an HT Omega ClaroII and no longer have the issue.
dcol is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off