So if i want to add another subwoofer, would running two Y splitters lose signial? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

So if i want to add another subwoofer, would running two Y splitters lose signial?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
222Panther222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: QC
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
Right now i have only 1 sub-woofer and, its sub output to RCA on the amp using a Y rca cable, i tried removing the L one like it would be plugged to another sub-woofer, and i lose half the output of the sub-woofer.

How could i get the same signal strength to 2 sub-woofers? Let's say that i would plug a Y splitter from receiver sub out to 2 other Y splitter sending the signal to 2 sub-woofers, would i still loose signal?

_
Never believe the hype.
Consoles aren't about hardware, they're about good games.
_________________________________________________________
222Panther222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 08:21 AM
Senioritis Member
 
Lady Fitzgerald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: AZ, SSA (Squabbling States of America)
Posts: 8,216
Rep: 521 (Unique: 328)
subbed

Jeannie
CPU
i7-3930k
Motherboard
ASUS P9X79 WS
GPU
MSI R7850 Twin Frozr 2GD5/OC Radeon HD 7850 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
GPU
Monoprice 1x2 powered HDMI Splitter
RAM
Kingston HyperX 32GB (8 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K8/32GX
Hard Drive
128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Hard Drive
4TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Hard Drive
4TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Hard Drive
4TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Hard Drive
4TB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Optical Drive
LG 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive CH12LS28
Power Supply
Corsair HX750W
Cooling
COOLER MASTER GeminII S524 120mm Long Life Sleeve CPU Cooler
Case
Antec Two Hundred v2
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate
Monitor
3 x Asus VG248QE
Monitor
Vizio VO320E 32" TV
Keyboard
Logitech G510s
Mouse
Logitech M525 with Unifying Receiving
Audio
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Speakers
Audio
ASUS Xonar Essence STX Virtual 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface 124 dB SNR / Headphone AMP Card
Other
LSI 9211-8i HBA card
Other
HooToo® HT-CR001 3.5" PCI-E to USB 3.0 Multi-in-One Front Panel Internal Card Reader (6 Memory Slots, Genesys GL3220 Chipset) & SuperSpeed USB 3.0 3-Port Hub (VIA VL800 Chipset), can read & write: M2/MS Micro, High-Speed CF(UDMA), UHS-I, SD, SDHC,...
Other
StarTech HSB220SAT25B 2 Drive 2.5in Trayless Hot Swap SATA Mobile Rack Backplane
CPU
i7-5930K Haswell-e
Motherboard
Asus X99-E WS/USB 3.1
GPU
Visiontek Radeon 7870 2GB with 6 miniDisplayports
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaws 64GB (8x8GB) DDR4 2133
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 4TB SSDs
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB m.2 SSD boot drive
Power Supply
Corsair AX760
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S Cpu cooler
Case
Scratch built. Currently under construction at https://www.overclock.net/t/1602023/preparing-for-a-scratch-built-case
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate
Mouse
Logitech M525
Mouse
El Cheapo Allsop hard plastic
▲ hide details ▲
Lady Fitzgerald is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 08:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
222Panther222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: QC
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
I know it's a pretty dumb question but if i never ask i'll never know biggrin.gif Some split it to put them in LFE, but don't think it is possible in line level to split the signal without losing output.

_
Never believe the hype.
Consoles aren't about hardware, they're about good games.
_________________________________________________________
222Panther222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 08:33 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 812
Rep: 29 (Unique: 20)
Its both yes and no depending on the driving capabilities of your source (pre-out voltage) and the amplifiers (input sensitivity) you are sending the signal to.

You shouldnt have an issue but cant say there never will be.
STEvil is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-12-2017, 10:37 PM
Missing friends
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Littleton, CO USA
Posts: 15,996
Rep: 700 (Unique: 431)
This is what the gain can be used to substitute. Not saying it is ideal, but you asked. Also not nessisarially true.

By combining both signals you "double" the "power", only when both signals are the same. If left channel plays one tune and right another then you dont "lose" anything


(I know this is not 100% accurate, not trying to be, just basics as I think that is all that is needed )

Rigbuilder and how to put it in your sig post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif budget components = budget resultsPearls before swine! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

Also rma wise, regardless of what vendor used it's always like getting a tooth pulled imo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by szeged go_quote.gif

I facepalmed when trying to explain cpu and gpu overclocking to him after he got his 4930k. It was like teaching trigonometry to a rock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsm106 go_quote.gif

That's like wrapping your car around a pole then asking for warranty service.
Dont be hard on yourself, we all break stuff sooner or later.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables go_quote.gif

I don't appreciate your judgment here. I am just stating facts. That's all I'm doing. If you are taking offense to it or something, then that's not my problem, so don't put it on me. Ok?...Good god man. You would know that if you would actually carefully read...
Mega Man is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off