7.1.4 surround from PC - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

7.1.4 surround from PC

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Wildcard124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
7.1.4 surround from PC

Hi,

Does anyone know if it would be possible to create a 7.1.4 ATMOS speaker system from a PC using a AV Receiver?

From what I am reading soundcards don't havd connectors to so this, therefor 5.1.4 would be the best you could get from the soundcard?

The other option would be a HDMI cable from the GFX card. However I am running a tripple screen setup at 144mhz. So adding a HDMI would require a 4th screen but then would reduce my screens to 60hz.

Many thanks for any help.
Wildcard124 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 07:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gandlaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 98
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
I'd opt for optical to an external DAC or AV Receiver. Its the easiest way with the least amount of hassle
Gandlaf is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 08:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tiihokatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,386
Rep: 260 (Unique: 210)
https://blog.dolby.com/upgrade-home-...m-dolby-atmos/

Dolby Atmos basic requirement is the usage of HDMI receiver (with Atmos support). Any other kind of setup is simply impossible.

And optical is of course utterly out of the picture when we are talking about Atmos.

Ppl should learn to add more info to their posts when they ask for help...
OCN Anime/Manga Club
[Official] OCN Headphones and Earphones Club

Last edited by Tiihokatti; 01-17-2019 at 08:18 AM.
Tiihokatti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Wildcard124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Thanks for the replys.


Are there any soundcards out there with HDMI.


Or is there a way to have the GFX card send an audio only signal without messing up my screen setup.
Wildcard124 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 08:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tiihokatti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,386
Rep: 260 (Unique: 210)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wildcard124 View Post
Thanks for the replys.


Are there any soundcards out there with HDMI.


Or is there a way to have the GFX card send an audio only signal without messing up my screen setup.
The only HDMI soundcard I know is the Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3 from 10 years ago. So that's obviously not an option.

So your only option would be to wiggle around with the Windows monitor settings to see if it's possible to make things work. Most likely it's going to be a huge PITA.

Ppl should learn to add more info to their posts when they ask for help...
OCN Anime/Manga Club
[Official] OCN Headphones and Earphones Club
Tiihokatti is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 12:24 PM
Dangerous
 
Doubletap1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 291
Rep: 18 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wildcard124 View Post
Thanks for the replys.


Are there any soundcards out there with HDMI.


Or is there a way to have the GFX card send an audio only signal without messing up my screen setup.
Windows does not support audio only HDMI. The receiver requires a video signal of some sort. It would be technically possible to just send it a black screen, but that possibility has not been manifest into a feature.

You either need to make a second screen or mirror your main screen. Both have minor drawbacks, but a lot of us just put up with it because HDMI surround sound is the way to go.

I think the main issue will be content. I think a couple games using the Frostbite engine may support Atmos, but I don't know what else does.

Doubletap1911 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jamesch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 75
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
For movies, you are better off getting a streaming box like Nvidia Shield TV. For gaming, well you can already play surround gaming through HDMI to a receiver.
jamesch is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:58 PM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3135 (Unique: 1869)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wildcard124 View Post
The other option would be a HDMI cable from the GFX card. However I am running a tripple screen setup at 144mhz. So adding a HDMI would require a 4th screen but then would reduce my screens to 60hz.
Add a second graphics card.

Doesn't have to be any good, all it needs to do is register the receiver so you can use it's HDMI audio.

Some twenty buck passive card should suffice. On-board video could work as well, if you have it and it's not automatically disabled on your setup.

Quote: Originally Posted by Doubletap1911 View Post
Windows does not support audio only HDMI. The receiver requires a video signal of some sort. It would be technically possible to just send it a black screen, but that possibility has not been manifest into a feature.
HDMI splitter (which the receiver may well be) and, if necessary, a dummy connector.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by Blameless; 03-21-2019 at 08:05 PM.
Blameless is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 02:25 PM
Dangerous
 
Doubletap1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 291
Rep: 18 (Unique: 15)
You can run 3 gaming monitors and a 4th accessory monitor for HDMI audio on a single card. As long as you're not running Youtube or something on the accessory display when you're gaming, it won't force your 144Hz screens to 60Hz

I ran 3x Dell S2417DG 144Hz 1440P gaming monitors and a 1080P BenQ off a single GTX1080Ti. It worked great.

Doubletap1911 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 07:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sok0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 88
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Buying a Nvidia Shield for my home theater was one of my best purchases. Just load your PC folder on the network, and the shield can stream anything off of it to the receiver. Dont have to worry about HDR swapping or anything, it just does it automatically.

sok0 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off