Speaker "loses power"? have to crank up volume for it to work again - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Speaker "loses power"? have to crank up volume for it to work again

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zAdrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Speaker "loses power"? have to crank up volume for it to work again

I got my hands on kind of a "vintage" stereo tuner (Philips FT 885) and a pair of 60w speakers (Sony SS-A 300). Audio quality is great but when playing stuff at a lower/normal volume, sometimes one of the speakers or both stop outputting audio and I have to crank up volume and for it to work again.

I've used the set a couple times at parties and worked perfectly at max volume but using it at home watching youtube/movies at low volume this happens and it's been bugging me for a long time.

I'm guessing it's the stereo's fault but I don't wanna mess with it since I have no experience with this kind of stuff and don't wanna waste money on it if I can fix it myself.

Any ideas what could cause the issue and what could be done about it?
zAdrenaline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 12:41 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,302
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
Probably just need more power.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zAdrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
Probably just need more power.
The power outlet it's connected to only has my pc and router drawing from it, and the tuner is designed to handle up to 4 or even more speakers so I don't think power is an issue. How would I even make it direct more power to speakers?
zAdrenaline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 08:00 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,746
Rep: 1099 (Unique: 636)
He doesn't mean you don't have enough power coming from your outlet, lol. There's more to an amp than how many speaker outputs it has. Find a spec sheet for your amp and look at the specs, it'll tell you how many watts it can drive at 2/4/6/8-ohms.

the only information I can find on Google for "Philips FT 885" is for an electric toothbrush and a fog light bulb and the only two websites with specs for "Sony SSA 300" need you to sign up for an account and/or pay to view the manual so no idea if that's actually your issue or not.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zAdrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
He doesn't mean you don't have enough power coming from your outlet, lol. There's more to an amp than how many speaker outputs it has. Find a spec sheet for your amp and look at the specs, it'll tell you how many watts it can drive at 2/4/6/8-ohms.

the only information I can find on Google for "Philips FT 885" is for an electric toothbrush and a fog light bulb and the only two websites with specs for "Sony SSA 300" need you to sign up for an account and/or pay to view the manual so no idea if that's actually your issue or not.
Yeah I have no idea when it comes to power related to audio stuff. On back of the speakers it's written that max output is 60w and impedance rating is 6. The stickers attached to the amp's back with serial number or any info were scratched off and I can't find any info on it either since it's vintage stuff. I sent an email to Philips support asking about a spec sheet for it and hopefully they'll be able to help.

Btw the stereo is basically a 3-piece in 1 thing apparently, FT 885(digital stereo with fm/am etc.) FA 885 (amplifier) FC 885 (Cassette deck)
zAdrenaline is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 04:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Could be the volume pot needs to be cleaned or the caps are bad and you're losing voltage or something. You'd really have to take it to an electronics repair place to get a good answer.

Kanna
(13 items)
Dark X299
(7 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i9-9900X
Motherboard
EVGA X299 Dark
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 4x8GB C14 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Pro 840 250 GB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G3 1300
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off