Ohm's Question. Please help. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ohm's Question. Please help.

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2010, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
Willhemmens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,359
Rep: 217 (Unique: 191)
Hi, Im currently designing a sub woofer.

My problem is that the speaker i want to use is 4 Ohm's and My amp is 6 to 16 Ohm's. Is there a way i could add more resistance? Like by adding a resistor between the amp and subwoofer?


Willhemmens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-16-2010, 09:31 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willhemmens View Post
Hi, Im currently designing a sub woofer.

My problem is that the speaker i want to use is 4 Ohm's and My amp is 6 to 16 Ohm's. Is there a way i could add more resistance? Like by adding a resistor between the amp and subwoofer?
im not sure myself how to but


hope this bump helped you somehow.
coreyL is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-18-2010, 05:50 AM
Retired Staff
 
soloz2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western New York
Posts: 10,653
Rep: 593 (Unique: 376)
if you want to use that sub and that amp you need to get a second sub and wire them together in series so the amp will see an 8ohm load. That, or rethink your sub or amp. You could try using the amp and sub together, but don't be surprised if the amp goes into protect mode or frys.

Current Sound: ODAC > SA Reference IC > Musical Paradise MP-301 6v6 tube amp> Tekton Designs 4.1 loudspeakers

Feedback: Heatware Ebay
soloz2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-18-2010, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
Willhemmens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,359
Rep: 217 (Unique: 191)
Quote:
Originally Posted by soloz2 View Post
if you want to use that sub and that amp you need to get a second sub and wire them together in series so the amp will see an 8ohm load. That, or rethink your sub or amp. You could try using the amp and sub together, but don't be surprised if the amp goes into protect mode or frys.
Thanks for your advice.


Willhemmens is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-18-2010, 08:00 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by soloz2 View Post
if you want to use that sub and that amp you need to get a second sub and wire them together in series so the amp will see an 8ohm load. That, or rethink your sub or amp. You could try using the amp and sub together, but don't be surprised if the amp goes into protect mode or frys.
i didnt wire my subs but i have two 4 ohm 12inch 400 watt rms rockford fosgate subs in a pro bend bandpass competition enclosure hooked p as 4 ohms on my car amp that has 75 wattsx2 which is powered by one of my old xbox 360 PSUs as an inverter. im guessing you have to wire two subs together like that video? the only difference would be that the two different voice coils are in different speakers??
coreyL is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-18-2010, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
Willhemmens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,359
Rep: 217 (Unique: 191)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coreyL View Post
i didnt wire my subs but i have two 4 ohm 12inch 400 watt rms rockford fosgate subs in a pro bend bandpass competition enclosure hooked p as 4 ohms on my car amp that has 75 wattsx2 which is powered by one of my old xbox 360 PSUs as an inverter. im guessing you have to wire two subs together like that video? the only difference would be that the two different voice coils are in different speakers??
Well the sub is dual voice coil so its 2Ohm + 2Ohm = 4Ohm. Shame the speakers are too expensive for me to afford two of them.


Willhemmens is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-20-2010, 02:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Lombax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,000
Rep: 43 (Unique: 39)
How loud will these subwoofers get? will they just be like less then 75% watt power? Because if you stay a good bit below its max rated watts then Ohms don't matter really, but if you plan on rockin these things loud then the sub will blow.

I'd hook it up, turn it to the max volume you'll ever touch, and feel if it gets hot.

Lombax is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-21-2010, 02:26 AM - Thread Starter
Not new to Overclock.net
 
Willhemmens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,359
Rep: 217 (Unique: 191)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lombax View Post
How loud will these subwoofers get? will they just be like less then 75% watt power? Because if you stay a good bit below its max rated watts then Ohms don't matter really, but if you plan on rockin these things loud then the sub will blow.

I'd hook it up, turn it to the max volume you'll ever touch, and feel if it gets hot.
Bassically Iv'e bought a different sub, one thats 8Ohms. Thanks anyway.


Willhemmens is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off