Can i enable AHCI without format? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can i enable AHCI without format?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2011, 03:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
unseen0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,214
Rep: 33 (Unique: 26)
Can i enable AHCI without having to reinstall windows again.
Currently my bios is set to IDE, but whenever i choose AHCI i get a BSOD on boot frown.gif

unseen0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2011, 03:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
grayfox99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 857
Rep: 102 (Unique: 94)
Yes you can, before you reboot and change to AHCI in the BIOS, go into the registry and find this key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Msahci

and change the value of "Start" (REG_DWORD) to 0.

Then reboot and change to AHCI in the BIOS. Then after boot Windows will install the new drivers.

Source: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976

Best of luck smile.gif

grayfox99 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2011, 03:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,823
Rep: 848 (Unique: 620)
yes, you can.

do this . . .

Run regedit (as Administrator).
- Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/System/CurrentControlSet/Services/Msahci
- right-click Start in the Name column, and then click Modify.
- In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
- exit the registry editor.

Then, go to BIOS and enable AHCI.
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2011, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
unseen0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,214
Rep: 33 (Unique: 26)
I thank you both! you just saved my day!

unseen0 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2011, 03:50 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,055
Rep: 576 (Unique: 455)
There is also a Microsoft Hotfix you can download and install which will do it for you if you don't want to mess with the registry yourself.
http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9741862

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-14-2011, 09:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jcoffin1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 350
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
If your board has another SATA controller there is another method...

-in BIOS set the JMicron or Marvel controller to IDE mode
-power off and switch the OS drive to the other controller (JMicron or Marvel, etc.)
- in BIOS change the original controller to AHCI mode and then boot from the OS drive.
-install the AHCI software or drivers
- power off and move the OS drive back to the original controller

AHCI should work now without any problems.



Aumotocnic"An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"

Fractal Design Case Club


Jcoffin1981 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off